We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find for bargain hunters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhouse Guest House
Ranked #14 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in this lovely guesthouse for 7 nights. Though at first we were very put out in finding the room we were booked in was given to someone else. The room we were given was ok, it is a bit tired and needs updating and there is very little natural light in the bedroom, but it is clean and the bed is comfortable and the fridge works efficiently to keep my husband's bintang cold. The courtyard is great and we got to meet other guest who gave us plenty of advice as it was our first time in Bali. There is a small kitchen to cook meals and tea and coffee making facilities. It is about 10 to 15 minutes walk to the beach and restaurants. We did try Mama Putu around the corner the food quality is a bit of a hit and miss. Going to Kuta or Nusa Dua was easy, we did what the locals do and used the local bus "bemo", it only cost Rp3,500 per person to Kuta or Nusa Dua. You can catch the bemo at the "halta"the bust stop about 10 minutes from Sunhouse.
We had the opportunity to see some of the other rooms and personally think the Lotus room is the pick for the superior room. The standard rooms are very good a bit smaller and no fridge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

This lovely little guesthouse is an island of calm in a hectic tourist town. We spent three blissful nights here in a superior room. However, all the rooms seemed equally beautiful opening onto a gorgeous courtyard and swimming pool. Everything was clean and fresh, the little outdoor kitchen allowed for some basic meals and the dvd collection and in room dvd player was a treat! The hosts are both friendly and helpfull as are their efficient and kind hearted team of staff. We thoroughly enjoyed are time here and plan another visit before leaving Bali. The perfect place to relax!

Room Tip: Use their website for detailed info on each room and pick one that suites your taste. Book early as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A value on the edge of Sanur. Clean rooms and a helpful staff make this a perfect place to get away from larger hotels. No breakfast, but there are lots of places to eat close by. No transport from the airport, but a taxi is easy to navigate.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pwiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We just had 2 nights here, the place was lovely - it had a charm about it. The rooms were very clean, the garden courtyard was great to chill out in and the pool was small but fab for cooling off! We enjoyed our stay and were made to feel welcome.
This place is on the outskirts of sanur... we didnt find the centre of sanur until our second night!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magicalreindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First off, this place averages at $30 per room, so the rating ive given is in that context (ie you cant compare this place to a five star). The staff are very friendly and helpful (although not all speak english). The rooms are spacious and quite clean, although the ACs can be a bit weak. There is not restaurant/bfast, so you have to sort that yourself. Good wifi and great selection of dvds. The location is a bit of a downer as you have to walk at least 10 minutes to get anywhere significant. That said, for the amount you're paying its a real bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prast8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Sun House was the perfect bargain choice for us...clean, charming, and quiet with a lovely small pool in the courtyard. The owners are on-site, and they did everything to ensure our stay was comfortable--excellent local tips and help with transportation and forward booking arrangements. (Their son Marcel was even able to help us learn to navigate our new MAC!).

The location is on the quiet end of Sanur, but a short walk to the shops and restaurants. Great value, great experience!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

perfect, clean nice staff old Bali style everything new and clean, pool is perfect
we stay whole day in resort while Napy Day but was perfect, super kitchen with fridge and nice lady for help
make reservation in advance!!

Room Tip: Orchid :) room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.2 mi away
Maison Aurelia Sanur, Bali - by Preference
0.9 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
3.6 mi away
Tropical Bali Hotel
Tropical Bali Hotel
#1 of 136 in Sanur
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sanur Guest House
Sanur Guest House
#8 of 136 in Sanur
268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kirana Homestay
Kirana Homestay
#10 of 136 in Sanur
80 reviews
4 mi away
Manzelejepun Luxury Villa & Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: £16 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing