We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunhouse Guest House
Ranked #13 of 134 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice budget place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very pretty guesthouse located at the far end of the strip in Sanur. Easy, 5-7 minute walk to the beach. Rooms are very nice and clean. Excellent bed, modern bathroom, hot water. Water pressure is a bit uneven and the tv had lousy reception and no English channels. Also no breakfast but there are a few places about 5 minutes away. The owner and staff are extremely nice and helpful. If you want to be away from the crowd this is a nice option. Some rooms a bit noisy as the house is on the corner of an intersection. Ask for inside room.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn_USA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    65
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
88
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

A very pleasant stay with some of the best people we've met. The rooms are clean, comfy and functional. The bathroom was good and clean. There's a free drinking water supply which can be truly convenient. The shared area is nice and pleasant. There's a kitchen available for use and an efficient laundry service. The staff are nothing short of amazing. Always with a smile and willing to help. A prime example of how awesome the Balinese are. The location is convenient, close to the beach and way cheaper than beach-side accommodations. The walk to the town center is about 15 mins. Honestly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard (like 'Tulip') are quiet. The ones facing the street get some tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bojan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Price is amazing for what they offer and give.. Sooo clean, small pool, kitchen and close to the beach.
We had 7 nights of perfect relaxation and the staff are so friendly, lovely and helpful!!! For sure we will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeAMR49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Sun house is really very charming, the rooms are clean and bright, and the pool is good to cool off in. The only issue we had is that it is right on. Busy corner, and the traffic can get really loud, with motorcycles ripping by at all hours of the night. Other than that, we enjoyed our two nights here, but if you're a get sleeper, I would suggest looking around.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room which isn't facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmmeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We liked this place so much! The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. There was a kitchen for common use, as well as a mineral water pump to refill your bottles. The outside area was really nice and quiet and the pool was good. Moreover, the staff was very helpful and kind. We stayed here the first nights of our holiday, and then came back the last night again. The owners were so kind to arrange a late check-out, so we could stay in the room until we had to leave for our evening flight. They also brought us to the airport with their car for a small fee. Location was also good, only a short walk away from the beach and center.

We have some minor suggestions (but nothing really important!). The lock at the gate is a bit noisy, it sometimes woke us up at night. Would be good to grease it. Also, we did not really see a difference between the standard room in which we stayed first (Jasmine) and the superior room in which we stayed later (Orchid). If anything, we actually preferred the Jasmine room, since it felt larger and there was more room in Jasmine to put your suitcase. It would be good if you could create more room in Orchid to put the luggage (maybe instead of one chair).

These are only suggestions though, no real drawbacks! We would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the rooms next to the pool, but they seemed really nice and spacious. Our room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karlijn90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Sunhouse and really enjoyed it. The owners were extremely hospitable and lovely. The room had everything we needed: comfy bed, fridge, safe, aircon, fan, hot water, adapters and a great pool. Only a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Would certainly come back here next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Sunhouse Guest House for 4 nights. The price is unbeatable, and the owner and staff were totally accommodating and helpful. The location is very convenient for the south end of Sanur Beach - just a short walk through the Mercure Hotel (as mentioned by previous reviewers). Sanur is very quiet, not a party town at all, but walking to the beach every AM for sunrise is spectacular! Restaurants and shopping are a short walk away, and though many of the highly rated places are the north end of Sanur it is an inexpensive taxi ride or you can take one of the available bicycles and ride the beach path.

Our first night in Lotus room was very comfortable, but we moved to Plumeria for the remaining stay - it is larger. They started remodeling Lotus when we moved out, so there may be improvements. Both rooms had good A/C, large king sized bed, and clean bathrooms. The water pressure and temp in the shower in Plumeria were a bit variable, but not too bothersome. WiFi was very reliable. The in-room fridges keep everything COLD.

The pool was the perfect temperature for cooling off, though the courtyard around it is mostly shady so not set up for tanning. All in all you really can't ask for a better place for the price!

Room Tip: Lotus is a little small but had a better shower. It has large windows all around it with curtains fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidih88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.9 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunhouse Guest House

Property: Sunhouse Guest House
Address: Jalan Mertasari 36, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Sunhouse Guest House is located in Sanur, only a short walk to the beach. We have 7 lovely rooms, a kitchen you can use any time and a delightful swimming pool. You can sit on the patio and enjoy the magical evenings. Sanur is a peaceful and a safe place to spend your holidays. With its calm waters, Sanur beaches are perfect for swimming. It is also a centre for water sports such as windsurfing, diving or canoeing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunhouse Guest House Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing