We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant place to eat and relax”
Review of The Glass House

The Glass House
Ranked #25 of 468 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Glass House is that quaint building on Jl.Tamblingan down the northern end of Sanur that you may have seen with the white plantation shutters at the front and misters cooling the passersby. It is renowned for its fabulous cappuccino , espresso and all types of coffee and home made cakes. Full breakfast for $15 includes an array of house baked pastries, muffins and breads. Cooked items include full offering of American and Australian breakfasts. Our speciality is a Benedict Bagel with a delicious sauce. A great place to have a fresh salad or baguette for lunch and the tastiest homemade hamburgers in Bali. Many popular seafood and other dishes including vegetarian and the popular local Indonesian favorites are served with love to the customer Funky tunes play, whilst you watch the world go by. Free wi-fi for doing business or just catching up on emails. Friendly staff, fresh organic ingredients, vegetables washed in bottled water for extra safety. Frosty juices, ice cold smoothies and milkshakes are a winner here. Fine quality Australian, Californian and Indonesian wine are available by the glass and the bottle at very competitive prices. You may also bring your own if you wish. The famous fresh Kelapa Muda , (young coconut) is available here for enormous health benefits.The Glass House is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the friendly atmosphere and delicious food. A place where you actually get what you ordered!! Oh and remember IDR50,000 cocktails every afternoon between 4 - 7pm Very trendy hang out.
Reviewed 6 July 2014

During our recent stay in Sanur we ate at The Glasshouse twice. Lunch on our first day pleased everyone, especially our teenage nephew who loved the Timtam milkshake. The meals were all well prepared, some were Western and some Indonesian. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was wheelchair accessible and they were happy to shuffle chairs etc to accommodate the wheelchair. Breakfast a few days later was also very good. Staff were again terrific despite there being an influx from the attached hotel. There was a good range of food but our choices were simple because that was what we felt like - soft boiled egg, fruit toast, Timtam milkshake, poached egg. The building is modern, airy and comfortable with a good selection of alcohol - Absolu Disco!!! - my God. Worth a visit? Certainly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shutter51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review We are now trying to get our ratings up on Trip Advisor and The Glass House staff are very proud of the progress so far. It is people like you who recognise their work and make them feel very special who make a difference to our business. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals with us and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 793 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We met another family from Australia holidaying in Sanur at the same time and this was the perfect place. The new menu provided plenty of choice and there was the option of air conditioned or outdoor dining. We chose to catchup inside while our teenage children enjoyed the lounge area near the outside dining. Very clean with friendly staff. Well worth a visit to enjoy the modern renovations.

Thank Matthew169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

It was great to have you and your family here at The Glass House and the teenagers really loved checking in on the social media with the wifi outside on the lounges. I believe your friends have returned to Sanur for a few more days so I am sure they will return to the Glass House also to have a few more of the favourites you enjoyed here. Many thanks for your review, it really helps us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Dropped in for what turned out to be a very nice lunch, unfortunately did not return as the vegetarian options were very limited.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. Its a shame about your choice of vegetarian options because at last count there were at least 12 on the menu. We can also cook up whatever you want by just asking the staff to get the chef to do this for you.. Remember next time we can cook up something to suit your needs so don't hesitate to ask.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had dinner here last night and found the food to be amongst the best we have had whilst in Bali. The waiter Astika was able to recommend and explain the meals in very good English.
All the staff were helpful and his recommendation of the prawns was what we were looking for.
Food a very good standard. Good wine at a reasonable price. Service and friendliness of staff excellent. Coffee great. Waiter Astika introduced himself, made excellent recommendations and then quietly monitored customers to ensure needs were met. Remarkable service and attention for such a small place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ahalvors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

What a wonderful review of the Glass House, thank you so much. Yes our Astika is wonderful and very helpful. Our prawns are bought fresh every day from the fishermen and we ask for king king prawns, so they are delicious and fresh. Our staff have recently been to a training school so we are working with them to increase the customer service and standard of our dining....Glad you love it...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On recommendation from my brother finally got to taste Liz's Apple Pie yummo. Nice decor, great service. Wish I had gone sooner as what a great menu, will go back next time in Sanur

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SnoopPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solmate30, Owner at The Glass House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for the compliment on the apple pie. Our chefs make them every day and they are full of fresh apples with a hint of cinnamon...Delicious....Closely rivalled by our lemon meringue pie. We have recently also added a mango trifle so you will have to try that on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Glass House also viewed

 

Been to The Glass House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing