We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done”
Review of Art Cafe Sanur

Art Cafe Sanur
Ranked #18 of 436 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Art Cafe Sanur, formerly Art Cafe Warung & Spa. For two and one half years, we were located directly in front of the Mercure Hotel Sanur, in one of the peaceful and quiet neighbourhoods for which Sanur is well known. Unfortunately, at the end of July this year, we lost out lease, and were forced to relocate to a more uptown location on Jl. Danau Tamblingan, No. 82, in front of the Besakih Hotel and Jamu Traditional Spa. As With Art Cafe Warung & Spa, Art Cafe Sanur is open every day, serving all day breakfast from 7AM to 5PM, together with lunch from noon onwards, and dinner from 5 PM to 11PM. Happy Hours are from 4 to 6 PM. We also provide free Internet connections and Wi-fi. For visitors who have sampled the beauty and ambiance of Sanur over the years, and for all our friends who have known us as Art Cafe Warung & Spa we look forward to welcoming you to the new Art Cafe Sanur. Our Leha Leha Spa will be opening at a separate location on Jl. Sudamala, later in the year.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well Done”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A lovely small restaurant with a great menu and good wine list. Great cocktails too!

Our first night choice, not having stayed on this side of the island, was a good one. Beef rendang for my partner was a fantastic choice and my very french style tarragon chicken was delightful. Always love the vegetables in Bali for flavour and these didn't disappoint, not overcooked, delicious.

A little bit more breeze from the fans and this place would be perfect.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mlh1760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    211
    43
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Finally found it!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Had to search through every review to find a landmark as telling people that it's moved and the name of the road doesn't help much. As the address is still showing the old venue. My husband was adamant that that is where it's located on maps! Hence a wasted walk. Be great when mentioning a restaurant or cafe to also pop in a land mark to look out for. Thankfully it was in the owners reply to a review that mentioned it was opposite the Besakih beach hotel!! I have been trying to find this cafe and was almost in despair. As the reviews sound amazing. So now I have a land mark awesome will come check you guys out!! Well we did get there and loved the setting, food a bit spicy but my salad was amazing. Recognised a waiter who used to work in Bali Hyatt so that' was a lovely surprise. Service very good. Would definitely come back. And I think your new position is much better

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlburnet, Investor/Mentor at Art Cafe Sanur, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We were very pleased to read your recent review of our new facility, Art Cafe Sanur, but concerned that finding us was such a problem. We have been working with both Trip Advisor and our WebSite designer to update our website, so that we can change the contact details on Trip Advisor to make it easier for both friends and new guests to find us.
We hope that within the next week or two all the modifications will be complete and Trip Advisor searches will display our new pictures and location accurately to make it easier to find us.

Wayan Suadhi has been with us since we opened the new restaurant in July and is a delight to many of our guests, both from the old venue and our new guests on Jl. Tamblingan.

Our head chef, I Komang Edi asked if you could share with us the dishes you tried on your visit, as we are concerned that you thought them a bit spicy. If we understand what you ordered it will help the chef to adjust spicing and taste in future.

We look forward to seeing you again at Art Cafe and thank you for your efforts in tracking us down, and sharing the difficulties so we can make it easier in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good meals”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Tried for the first time for dinner. Nice atmosphere. Meals were tasty. They were a bit ob the smaller soze. Overall was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlburnet, Investor/Mentor at Art Cafe Sanur, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We appreciate your assessment of Art Cafe Sanur and our new location, and would like to understand what dishes you ordered from our dinner menu, so that our Restaurant Managers and the Executive Chef can address your concern that the portions were a bit on the small side.

We pride ourselves in balancing quality and taste with portion size and price, in a very competitive market in Bali in general and Sanur in particular. If you have an opportunity we would really appreciate your more detailed thoughts on what you ordered and what you might like to see changed so that we can evaluate those particular menu items.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again when you are in Sanur, and look forward to seeing you at Art Cafe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from Bali. Art Café is on the top of our list as the best place to eat in Sanur. The food and service is top rate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lozharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Based on previous reviews on trip advisor we decided to give this restaurant a try. 2 adults and 2 children (9,11) We were so impressed we returned for our last night as well.
Firstly the service was amazing, they were prompt, helpful and so friendly. A special mention to Nova... he was great.
The food was sensational, so well priced and as mentioned before it is fresh and delicious. Definitely must try the Risjtaffel which was huge and at $22 for 2 people including dessert insane. My husband and I could barely move afterwards.
Highly recommend and will be coming back on our next trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flaggytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Art Cafe Sanur also viewed

 

Been to Art Cafe Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing