We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found it!”
Review of Art Cafe Sanur

Art Cafe Sanur
Ranked #20 of 461 Restaurants in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Art Cafe Sanur, formerly Art Cafe Warung & Spa. For two and one half years, we were located directly in front of the Mercure Hotel Sanur, in one of the peaceful and quiet neighbourhoods for which Sanur is well known. Unfortunately, at the end of July this year, we lost out lease, and were forced to relocate to a more uptown location on Jl. Danau Tamblingan, No. 82, in front of the Besakih Hotel and Jamu Traditional Spa. As With Art Cafe Warung & Spa, Art Cafe Sanur is open every day, serving all day breakfast from 7AM to 5PM, together with lunch from noon onwards, and dinner from 5 PM to 11PM. Happy Hours are from 4 to 6 PM. We also provide free Internet connections and Wi-fi. For visitors who have sampled the beauty and ambiance of Sanur over the years, and for all our friends who have known us as Art Cafe Warung & Spa we look forward to welcoming you to the new Art Cafe Sanur. Our Leha Leha Spa will be opening at a separate location on Jl. Sudamala, later in the year.
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Tried to find this earlier based on TA reviews but the map still shows the old location but happened to stumble onto it on the way home from Kayu Manis, from where it's about 400m south on Jalan Tamblingan (no 82). Excellent service, great food, well priced and modern decor, definitely worth a visit. The duck confit was superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spackers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 617 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Unfortunately the owner and his staff is changed...I did not eat at the new place. So you can give it a try!

Thank anneeyefilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlburnet, Mentor/Investor at Art Cafe Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We received your review regarding the move of our restaurant with concern. We have advertised our new location locally, and also have posted comments on our Art Cafe Page on trip advisor and facebook, but Trip Advisor requires that our website be updated to reflect the new location and it has been a bit difficult to make those changes quickly.

We were saddened to not be able to renew our lease at Jl. Mertasari, but the landowner did not want to extend at a price affordable for the business, so we had little choice but to find other locations in Sanur.

We hope on your next visit you will be able to give us the opportunity to show you how consistent our new location on Jl. Tamblingan is with the reputation we developed at Jl. Mertasari over our two and one-half years there.

We are currently located at Jl. Danau Tamblingan No. 82, in front of the Besaki Hotel, and plan to be here for another ten years, so we look forward to seeing you in the future.

The Management Team
Art Cafe Sanur (formerly Art Cafe Warung)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A lovely small restaurant with a great menu and good wine list. Great cocktails too!

Our first night choice, not having stayed on this side of the island, was a good one. Beef rendang for my partner was a fantastic choice and my very french style tarragon chicken was delightful. Always love the vegetables in Bali for flavour and these didn't disappoint, not overcooked, delicious.

A little bit more breeze from the fans and this place would be perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mlh1760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Had to search through every review to find a landmark as telling people that it's moved and the name of the road doesn't help much. As the address is still showing the old venue. My husband was adamant that that is where it's located on maps! Hence a wasted walk. Be great when mentioning a restaurant or cafe to also pop in a land mark to look out for. Thankfully it was in the owners reply to a review that mentioned it was opposite the Besakih beach hotel!! I have been trying to find this cafe and was almost in despair. As the reviews sound amazing. So now I have a land mark awesome will come check you guys out!! Well we did get there and loved the setting, food a bit spicy but my salad was amazing. Recognised a waiter who used to work in Bali Hyatt so that' was a lovely surprise. Service very good. Would definitely come back. And I think your new position is much better

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlburnet, Investor/Mentor at Art Cafe Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

We were very pleased to read your recent review of our new facility, Art Cafe Sanur, but concerned that finding us was such a problem. We have been working with both Trip Advisor and our WebSite designer to update our website, so that we can change the contact details on Trip Advisor to make it easier for both friends and new guests to find us.
We hope that within the next week or two all the modifications will be complete and Trip Advisor searches will display our new pictures and location accurately to make it easier to find us.

Wayan Suadhi has been with us since we opened the new restaurant in July and is a delight to many of our guests, both from the old venue and our new guests on Jl. Tamblingan.

Our head chef, I Komang Edi asked if you could share with us the dishes you tried on your visit, as we are concerned that you thought them a bit spicy. If we understand what you ordered it will help the chef to adjust spicing and taste in future.

We look forward to seeing you again at Art Cafe and thank you for your efforts in tracking us down, and sharing the difficulties so we can make it easier in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Tried for the first time for dinner. Nice atmosphere. Meals were tasty. They were a bit ob the smaller soze. Overall was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CJinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlburnet, Investor/Mentor at Art Cafe Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

We appreciate your assessment of Art Cafe Sanur and our new location, and would like to understand what dishes you ordered from our dinner menu, so that our Restaurant Managers and the Executive Chef can address your concern that the portions were a bit on the small side.

We pride ourselves in balancing quality and taste with portion size and price, in a very competitive market in Bali in general and Sanur in particular. If you have an opportunity we would really appreciate your more detailed thoughts on what you ordered and what you might like to see changed so that we can evaluate those particular menu items.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again when you are in Sanur, and look forward to seeing you at Art Cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Art Cafe Sanur also viewed

 

Been to Art Cafe Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing