We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort in Average Location”
Review of Karma Royal Sanur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karma Royal Sanur
Ranked #50 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed at the Royal Bali Beach Club in January 2013. We booked it via our membership in the RCI group so it was quite cheap and therefore, really good value for money. The resort is great however, it is close to the "by-pass" road at Sanur and therefore, a bit noisy (traffic noise) and you need to be careful crossing that road.

Having said that, the noise was not much of an issue - only noticed it if we sat on the balcony. There was no noise once inside the rooms. In addition, after crossing the road, it was a quick walk (10 mins) to the beach or to the main shopping/restaurant road in Sanur. If you prefer a taxi, it cost around $2-$3 AUS each way.

The staff at the resort were awesome and really pride themselves on providing great service, which they always did. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well appointed. The pool area was really nice and totally adequate for the size of the resort. We ate at the resort a few times and the food was good. Overall, the prices were reasonable and what you would normally pay for food and drink at a hotel/resort. We thought the spa was over-priced - about 6 times what you pay in the smaller shops in Sanur. It is part of the "K" Spa group (Karma resorts) which are 5 star. But this is only a 3-4 star hotel so not sure how much business the spa gets.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor provide a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

hi FirieBenno,

we would like to thank you for your review. we figured out that our location is our big debility. but that wont hold us to provide an exceptional service. we use everything we have to make sure that the guest satisfaction is primarily concerned.
please do not hesitate to visit us for your next holiday.
thank you and looking forward to serving you again.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

A group of 5 of us stayed here in January and thought it was great! We changed our room to the back away from the main road. The staff were lovely and spoke very good English, the food was of great quality and at a good price. The pool was perfect temperature and had a swim up bar, will definitely come back here next time we are in Bali!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Steve,

thank you for your great review. it gives us motivation to build a better team. if you do have any suggestion please let us know. you will greatly appreciated.
and again thank you and look forward to serving you on your next holiday.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The resort facilities are fine. The pool is nice and warm and the restaurant is open what seems like all the time. The food was good, though I did not dine in that often, kids liked it alot. The coffee machine was broken during our visit so no cappuchino. The wireless internet works okay except in the room furthest away from the reception.
There are no washing machines or driers. You need to get used to using the laundry service that worked out about $15 per week for 4 people.
The service is excellent. The staff really makes an effort to make you feel welcome. The reception was open when we arrived after 1am. Everybody was really helpful.
The resort organised a Christmas function with a great local band providing the entertainment until late.
The location of the resort is not near the beach, it is about 15 minute walk to the seaside or a short/cheap taxi ride. There is a bakery just down the road (opens after 8.30am) and also a little shop that sells basics like milk and Guinness.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2013

Hi KTH99,

we would like to thank you for your review. we figured out that our location is our big debility. but that wont hold us to provide an exceptional service. we use everything we have to make sure that the guest satisfaction is primarily concerned.
please do not hesitate to visit us for your next holiday.
thank you and looking forward to serving you again.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I joined 8 other extended family members for a 2 week stay at RBBC Sanur over the Christmas/New Year period. Our flight was a cheap red eye and I was delighted to be met by a bell hop and receptionist upon our early hours arrival. The staff then, and for the duration of the stay without exception, were so helpful, friendly, welcoming, efficient, courteous and could not do enough to make our stay a memorable one.

The only minor downfall is the "beach club" isn't really by the beach and is a little bit out of the main part of Sanure. That said for 20,000rupiah (AUD$2) a driver from the hotel will run you into town/the beach/Hardy's supermarket so its not that much of an issue.

The resort is friendly, but not overly so if you don't wish it to be. You can make new friends...or not if you are more the private type.

Food from the restaurant was excellent quality, always fresh and good value for money. Service in this area was also excellent.

The pool is on the small side but in keeping with the intimate feel of the resort.

When I return to Bali the Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur will be my go to place for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

PS: the spa (K Spa) is INCREDIBLE and not to be missed!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsgidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

dear mrsgidds,

tons of thanks to you for your great review. it motivates us to build a stronger and better team to maintain a good service. there are more things being built this year and we certainly hope that will be done at your next visit.
once again thank you and looking forward to serving you again.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

A good place to stay if you want peace and quiet. Rooms are spacious. Pool is small but the water temp is just right. And as mentioned by others, the steps to the 1st and 2nd floor are quite steep.

The only drawback was the horrendous traffic you need to go through coming and going, but this is probably due to all the roadworks going on which is temporary.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ariesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

dear ariesha,

we would like to thank you for your kind of attention to write down this review.
best service is our best mainstay to make our guest's stay truly satisfying.
may we receive a wonderful news of your returning to our resort,
and again thank you for your review.


best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Royal Bali Sanur. Firstly our transfer that had been arranged did not meet us at the airport. Negatives:- The traffic noise on a major by pass meant you could not sit on the balcony for fumes and noise. The door of the balcony jammed on the tiles so with difficulty you could get the door opened. There are no restaurants or shopping close by. There is no pressure with the showers and you have to run the hotwater for at least 5 mins until the water is hot. Filthy shower curtain and soap scum on old tiles with the bath having a black scum. The rooms are badly in need of completley refurbishing. The top of the dressing tables varnish is all worn and shabby. There is a foul smell of sewerage in the bathroom coming up from the drains and also evident when you were in reception.
Positives:- The staff are fantastic. Angie, Amie, Di Di. Lovely friendly obliging people. The restaurant food is very good value for money and excellent food.
When we bought our membership we were promised 5 star, but sadly, we like a lot of other people staying at the Royal Bali Sanur have been delivered 2 star. Ripped Off !!!

Room Tip: Don't go, but if you do ask for a room down the back away from the main highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Susan M,

thank you very much for your reviews and staff and management of RBBC Sanur deeply apologize for all the inconvenience that you have got on your precious holiday. your reviews become our motivation and reason to improve our self and do the best to fix our weaknesses. please do not hesitate to visit us for your next holiday and we guarantee that you will not be disappointed again. and again thank you very much, looking forward to serving you again in a very near future.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Many thanks to Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur for an excellent stay, the staff as per other reviews did not disappoint with their friendliness and williness to please. Not once during our stay could I say I found fault, I wish the two grand children we took had half their ethics and eagerness to please and placed us on edge. The staff took it in their stride, Mr Wayun (Manager) can be proud on his selection of people. A very big thanks to all, Didi, Widi, Angetta and Putu just to name a few.
Rooms were excellent and cleaned proficiently everyday, Restaurant gave a very good spread of meals at very reasonable rates and the pool was kept in a very high standard. The thing that set Royal Bali Sanur apart from the rest - being a reasonably small hotel with only twenty rooms made this a small knit community and we made quite a few friends and socialising was very much a part of the experience - that's the good.
Bad point was the Bypass road outside that traffic noise filtered through, after the first day I hardly noticed and room was very sound proof, the management are aware of the issue and have been developing a strategy to negate and revamp the entry area. I did walk the fifteen minute walk into Sanur main shopping areas although the wife favoured the Taxi system at a cost of $1.50 - $2.00. The hotel does offer a shuttle service at a set time every day, we operated on Bali time so seemed to miss everyday. A bit far for more senior to walk with the traffic and pitfalls of uneven ground and drains to negoiate.

Return again - certainly will go again...

Alex

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karma_Royal_Group, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

hi alex,

it is nice to hear from you. we are glad that you and family had a wonderful time with us. it was a correct decision to pick Sanur as your holiday destination as Sanur has local ambiance more than any other tourist destinations in Bali, comfortable and save walking space. however, our staffs had a fantastic experience to serve you, big hug from dede, widi and wayan, hope to see you again in a very near future.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
10.9 mi away
Karma Mayura
Karma Mayura
#80 of 199 in Ubud
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 79 in Sanur
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Ari Putri Hotel
Ari Putri Hotel
#41 of 79 in Sanur
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Royal Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Royal Sanur

Address: Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £38 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Karma Royal Sanur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sanur, Bali’s biggest traditional village and one of the most established tourist areas, this newly refurbished property offers access to everything you could hope for. From fine restaurants and modern entertainment, traditional village drama and dance to the Bali Safari Marine Park or the Bali Zoo Park all within a half hour drive there is something for everybody. It is also a great starting point for those of you looking to get out and about to see the island with tours to areas including Kintamani, Lake Batur, Puri Tirta Empul, Bedugul, Botanical Garden and Tanah lot. Relax by the pool in beautifully landscaped surrounds or take a wander along the paved beach side path running the full length of Sanur where you can check out a multitude of shops & restaurants. The Royal Bali Beach Club at Sanur is only 20 minutes drive from Denpasar Airport & Waterbom Park. Ubud, Bali’s cultural centre featured in the famous book and movie "Eat Pray Love" is only a short drive away. With a range of Studio, One-Bedroom Combination and Two-Bedroom apartments, a number of which have their own private balconies and or full kitchen facilities, this resort offers something for everybody giving you the opportunity to not only enjoy the delights of staying on a tropical island but also to gain a real appreciation of Balinese culture and local life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur Hotel Sanur
Karma Royal Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing