We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!”
Review of Karma Royal Sanur

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Karma Royal Sanur
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay Away!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The location of hotel is not convenient. It is far from the beach & other attractions. It is better to stay in Kuta or Legian. No restaurants/eateries nearby. No convenience stores/groceries too. You need to have a car to stay here. Weak wifi that sometimes doesn't work. What kind of hotel is this? No elevator! Even 2-star hotels have elevator. Aircon was leaking & we had to call to have it fixed. Arrogant staff. Doesn't know how to handle guests. Toiletries like soap & toilet paper sometimes are not provided. Small unimpressive pool with little garden. Hotel lobby is ordinary, has limited seats, small & has no aircon & ambience. 2 small bottles 330ml water provided free on the 1st day of stay only. No free water provided on the rest of the stay. No smoke detector inside the room. No camera in the hallway. No slippers provided in the room. Incomplete toiletries with no toothpaste provided. The only positive is the nice manager.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Dom Y thank you very much for your review, and we do apologies for the inconvenience.
Restaurant and beach that only 5 minutes drive by taxi and approximately 20 minutes walk otherwise we provide free shuttle service twice a day.
The WIFI connection, it depends on how many guest are using it, if a lot of guest who use it will be a little slow. We will add more bandwidth to have better connection .
Regarding the elevator, we are trying to propose the capsule elevator to management on next year budget .
We have checked AC regularly to minimize AC problem, and we have respond very fast to all problem issue . a complimentary water is upon arrival, the rest of the day will be charge , this service has been mentioned on guest directory . We put camera CCTV at restaurant, lobby and parking area.
We did the same set up toiletries include soap, shampoo and tissue for all RBBC property in Bali without slipper as we would like to minimize the maintenance fee for the member.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback so that we may improve our services for all guests and ensure the highest level of comfort.
We look forward to welcome you back to Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur again in the future.

Best regards,
Staff and Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    83
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
82
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here for 4D/3N. Because I am a solo traveller I kind of expected that they'll be giving me a small room. Lo and behold, the room I got was really big. The bed was so comfy with lots of pillows. They did not have a safety deposit box inside the room, but they have it at the reception. They will be assigning you one box whose key you have to keep. The staff were very courteous and accommodating of my requests and inquiries. Whenever I went out, they would call BlueBird Taxi for me. I tried eating at their restaurant and it was ok, though not the type that I'd be craving for. I also tried their Balinese massage and it was good. I felt so relaxed after my session. I even got the chance to talk to their membership manager who turns out to have lived in the Philippines as well. I availed of their tour packages and was even given a discount. I was able to go on a tour to Tanah Lot and some parts of Uluwatu for only 480,000 IDR. They also assisted me with my transfer to another hotel for a fee almost similar to that of a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Drex O,thank you very much for share your feedback of your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us, we are very happy to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us,
Thank you again for sharing your feedback so that we may improve our services for all guests and ensure the highest level of comfort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur again in the future.

Best regards,
Staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I loved this little resort once inside and away from the busy road. Well maintained with attention to detail, the staff were wonderful, friendly and genuine. The rooms are adequate and certainly VERY clean. One downside was the fact that the airconditioners are positioned at the back where the second bedroom is, making the night ambient noise shocking (earplugs helped....but didn't solve the problem).

Room Tip: If you are a pool dweller ask for a pool side ground floor room. You MAY pay more but its really wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Dear Toni035, thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay at Royal Bali Beach club Sanur, it was a pleasure to have you with us, we are very happy to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us,
Thank you again for sharing your feedback so that we may improve our services for all guests and ensure the highest level of comfort.
We look forward to welcome you back to Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur again in the future.

Best regards,
Staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place won't knock your socks off but everything hit the mark. All staff were courteous and attentive, rooms large and spotless, and most of all quiet contrary to previous reviews. Whilst it is adjacent to a busy expressway, it was not intrusive and relatively quiet. Thoroughly enjoyed relaxing by the pool and would happily return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Jayne512013, thank you very much for your review , we are happy to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us.Our staff take great proud to offer you a great service,therefore your feedback is very important for us.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again.
We hope to have the pleasure of serving you at the Royal Beach Club Sanur in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I was here with friends, but we didn't know Sanur was associated with older people, but that doesn't affected my mood staying here as it was perfect! Very calm, quiet and no many people in the pool. Its like my private villa.

The only thing if you are looking for Wi-fi during your holiday, kindly note that the signal is best at lobby area only. There is free shuttle to the beach but you need to book one day earlier.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ammarlutfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear ammarlutfi, thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us.Our staff take great proud to offer you a great service,therefore your feedback is very important for us.

On behalf of the whole team I would like to thank you again.
We hope to have the pleasure of serving you at the Royal Beach Club Sanur in the near future.

Best regards,
Staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After a week at the RRBC Jimbaran (see reviews), we were looking for something similar, albeit in a different location.
The entrance isn’t as bad as we thought, reading reviews on TA. Yes, there is a Korean emporium but it is closed, the entrance is U-shaped and has its own security checkpoint/guard and parking.
The resort, like the RBBC Jimbaran, isn’t near the beach. That’s a 20 minute walk starting with crossing the very busy Jl Bypass. But the lights down the road change allowing some easing of the traffic.
We were there during Nyepi (or Silence Day) where no one is allowed out on the streets, conversations are kept to a minimum, the resort restaurant closes early and the only lighting is by candlelight. Even the airport is closed on this day and the television service is turned off.
The complex consist a three-storey apartment style complex with a separate restaurant area over one storey.
We had a room down the back with a balcony. We requested and received this as a) the noise on the Bypass can be quite loud and b) The Minister for Nicotine Inhalants (the wife) enjoys an early morning coffin-nail while reading her book.
The room is a lot smaller than the one at RBBC Jimbaran, it is not intended for more than two people and there is no separrate sitting area.
We had snacks from the menu a couple of times beside the pool and they served their purpose – tasty, filled the hole and were reasonably priced. We had room service a couple of time for dinner and were also content with the size, flavour and cost of the meals as well as the prompt service.
The Director of Ambulatory and Perusal Projects and I went walking every day, sometimes for as long as five-six hours, just taking in the quieter and more traditional lifestyles of the area. The lead up to (and after) Nyepi had a couple of traditional ceremonies – it wasn’t for tourists so although we were keen to see “real” ceremonies, we gave them their privacy - at the southern end of the beach. However, there are various market stalls set up along the southern end of Sanur Beach and we sampled some of the on-the-spot cooked satays and grilled, butter-slathered corn cobs. Various warungs are dotted between there and the higher-end resorts on the beach at the northern end. They provided both a quiet place to look out over the far-breaking surf while enjoying a Bintang and some peanuts and opportunities to haggle for hand-carved gods to add to our collection (in 2014 we concentrated on Genesha carvings).
Restaurants abound in Sanur itself with the standard touting for business from taxi services to “water-sport” providers – albeit a bit more laid back than other areas of SE Asia – and we sampled a few restaurants in the area. See Reviews.
The pool at Sanur – at its deepest – is about 1.7m deep. With a pool bar. The cocktails, at 65k were okay with just enough kick to make them worthwhile. However, on one occasion we were served two warm bottles of beer which was pretty poor.
There was a shortage of loungers a couple of times – one day was Nyepi so that was fair - but three times saw us sitting at a restaurant tables.
Bottom line: Ideal for a base of operations if you’re up to walking 15 minutes to get into the centre of the Sanur business district. The walking is all flat, not hills to be seen so it’s not too much of a drama with anyone with a modicum of fitness. The staff are fairly amenable but nothing to right home about and the rooms and facilities are on a par with an above-average hotel. Four star at best. The meals are okay.
There is nothing that would get us back there to stay but, comparing prices or if you’re a member of Odyssey or the RBBC, give it a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a room out the back if road noise affects you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOracleofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear TheOracleofOz, thank you very much for your time to write down this valuable review for us. yes from resort to get the beach approximately 20 minutes walk, therefore we do free shuttle service twice a day.

On nyepi day we were shortage of loungers because almost all of the guests who staying used it and spend the day at the pool area.
Thank you again for sharing your feedback so that we may improve our services for all guests and ensure the highest level of comfort.
We look forward to welcome you back to Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur again in the future.

Best regards,
Staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I thoruoughly enjoyed staying in RBBC Sanur, during early april 14. The rooms are fresh, and recently upgraded. The service was beautiful, as was the food from the restaurant. I didnt dine in there, but had several evening meals in-room, and breakfasts. They were all awesome.
The resort is in a nice area, and only a short walk from the main body of Sanur's shops and the beach itself. No probs getting to many good restqaurants, bars, laundry service places and the beach.
The staff at the resort are excellent, friendly, helpful and knowdledgeable.
The only one thing I noticed that was not excellent was the internet facility at the resort. I could pick it up on my mobile phone, but not my laptop. I needed, very importantly, a few times to go on my computer, but couldnt. The reception for wireless internet was very lacking..
Given that that was my only negative though, i would still rate the resort highly. One point though, if you can not walk up stairs, you'd best ask for a bottom floor, as the main body of the rooms are all up several sets of stairs, on two floors. I will be back though. Cheers.

Room Tip: room furtherst away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dalken35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Sanur, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Dalken35, thank you very much for share your feedback of your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you with us, we are very happy to hear that you have a wonderful stay with us,
Thank you again for sharing your feedback so that we may improve our services for all guests and ensure the highest level of comfort.

With regards to internet problem, we have report this issue to our IT and its fixed.

We look forward to welcome you back to Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur again in the future.

Best regards,
Staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
10.9 mi away
Karma Mayura
Karma Mayura
#79 of 198 in Ubud
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#11 of 78 in Sanur
609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sanur House
Sanur House
#33 of 78 in Sanur
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.8 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Royal Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Royal Sanur

Property: Karma Royal Sanur
Address: Jl. By Pass Ngurah Rai, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Sanur: Royal Bali Beach Club)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sanur, Bali’s biggest traditional village and one of the most established tourist areas, this newly refurbished property offers access to everything you could hope for. From fine restaurants and modern entertainment, traditional village drama and dance to the Bali Safari Marine Park or the Bali Zoo Park all within a half hour drive there is something for everybody. It is also a great starting point for those of you looking to get out and about to see the island with tours to areas including Kintamani, Lake Batur, Puri Tirta Empul, Bedugul, Botanical Garden and Tanah lot. Relax by the pool in beautifully landscaped surrounds or take a wander along the paved beach side path running the full length of Sanur where you can check out a multitude of shops & restaurants. The Royal Bali Beach Club at Sanur is only 20 minutes drive from Denpasar Airport & Waterbom Park. Ubud, Bali’s cultural centre featured in the famous book and movie "Eat Pray Love" is only a short drive away. With a range of Studio, One-Bedroom Combination and Two-Bedroom apartments, a number of which have their own private balconies and or full kitchen facilities, this resort offers something for everybody giving you the opportunity to not only enjoy the delights of staying on a tropical island but also to gain a real appreciation of Balinese culture and local life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Bali Beach Club Sanur Hotel Sanur
Karma Royal Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing