We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I had my time again in Bali I would not have left here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Bali Hotel
Ranked #1 of 140 Sanur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

So peaceful, tranquil and incredible value for money. My room was huge and clean and I felt like royalty. Right out of the hustle and bustle of Sanur. Super friendly staff. The highlight of Bali for me.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bourboncatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

I looked at reviews before I booked and I was sold on the place, and it didn't disappoint. The rooms are great, large, clean & very comfortable. There are 2 blocks with 4 rooms in each centred around a pool. They are very private due to mature shrubs. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is about a 45 minute walk into sanur (10 mins by taxi 25000). I didn't mind this at all as it made the stay very calm & relaxing. There is little close to the hotel but they have takeaway menus, the food is very nice & reasonable & they deliver it to your balcony. Taxi is 100000 from airport. They also arrange day trips if you want to see the island. Would definately come again & recommend to you.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heberlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Had a great great stay at the Tropical Bali! We had a room looking onto the pool and it was a great setting with lots of folliage and nice open double doors. Incredibly quiet, the pool was excellent and clean. Beds were clean, rooms were clean, air con no complaints and the owners were an incredibly friendly French couple who really did bend over backward to help you with any questions, give advice and just generally around when you needed them. Good value as well, location is a little bit out of Sanur so don't be put off by the approach to it down a back alley of a side road in the outskirts of Sanur: it is a haven. You can catch a taxi in for cheap and it takes about 10 mins to get there (the owners will order one for you). You can order food from local restaurants too and it is delivered to you (tasty cheap choices available). We loved it so much we returned after having travelled the island before heading to the airport (and looked forward to it!). Perhaps only negative from our perspective is the water pressure in the showers isn't great, although it's hot. Took a long time to wash my hair each day. Still, highly recommended.

Room Tip: It has to be a pool room, all are good from the looks of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frothychocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I have just returned from this wonderful hotel and one can only say what a true pleasure it was to spend time with the staff and managment Mathuas and Flo aka Michelle Phiefer could not do enough for both myself and my wife they where fantastic.
I have stayed at beachside hotels in sanur which i thought excellent (Griya) and wanted to try something differant and wow is this place differant.

It is located aways out of Sanur but is easy and cheap to get to by taxi 15,000 - 25,000 depending where it drops you off in sanur.

The walk down to and along the beach is an experance and even I with my walking problems (above knee amputee) didnt find it that bad it was hard but i enjoyed it, My wife really enjoyed it and didnt find it to bad.
You do have a little resturant near by which is cheap and very good and a supermarket near.
The rooms are clean and airy and the bathrooms large one of the nices rooms we have stayed in on our travels, the pool is small but just right for this size hotel.

We met some really nice people from all over the world and it was really enjoyable to sit around the pool just relaxing and chilling with some really intresting people.

I didnt think its was an hotel for the kids but a little girl seemed to enjoy herself so depends on the parents i suppose.

If you want an holiday or even just a rest from the hussle and madness that sometimes can be bali this place would suit you fine its relaxing, charming, clean, inexpensive.

Room Tip: One facing the pool we had room two very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbarlow1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Earlier reviews have it right. This is a very quiet boutique hotel. 8 of the rooms are the same style - large square with tiled floor and a great queen bed. It's minimalist with nice touches of Balinese wall-hangings and the occasional orchid.
The bathroom is also very large with plenty of hot water in the walk-in shower.
Every effort has been made to preserve the natural tropical beauty, but with practical consideration for the humidity in the rooms where simple furnishings and airconditioning combat the effects of the damp. So the rooms look totally fresh and clean - and are maintained that way by a very diligent small staff.
The owners, Mathias and Flo, come from Cannes and have been in hospitality before, so they know what European visitors expect and are on hand to make sure it all happens faultlessly.
As the hotel is out of town, there is a choice of room service items from local restaurants which are both cheap, fast, and re-plated in house so that it's exactly like an excellent hotel room service but with much more choice.
Breakfast is continental (fruit), English (eggs), or local (Nasi Goreng) with accompanying juice, coffee, and toast. It's served on the large patio/balcony in front of the room as there is no formal restaurant.
Sanur town is a pleasant 30 minute walk away along the shorefront cycle path.
This is a magical hotel for couples wanting to relax. Families with children might find it a little too laid back and off the beaten track.
I can only say, if you want to just chill out in a tropical setting, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for an airconditioned room (2 of the 10 are not)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This hotel is rather off the beaten track. It's a small, quiet place just outside Sanur town, near the beach. It's only got 10 rooms, 2 of which don't have air-conditioning, so check before you book which one you're getting. The new owners, Mattias and Flo, are very friendly and helpful and they will gladly call taxis or arrange for tours for you. Breakfast is a simple affair, coffee/tea/hot chocolate with fruit juice, toast and a choice of either fruit salad, eggs or fried rice. The best thing is that your breakfast is served right on your balcony overlooking the pool. They don't have a restaurant but they will also gladly order any food for you from nearby restaurants and have it delivered to your room, all served nicely on their plates and cutlery. There is also a Waroeng nearby (about 10 minutes walk) that serves decent food.

The rooms are also clean and comfy, while the pool is small but well-kept and it certainly is large enough for a place this size. Overall, this place is so much nicer than many other large resorts, and it's definitely a place I would go back to again. The road to the hotel is pitch dark at night so if you're going walking after dark, bring a torch light with you.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool, but if air-conditioning is important to you, check which rooms you are gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enochho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed here with 13 other friends, so we basically booked the whole place. The rooms are lovely and very Balinese. Love how the rooms all face the courtyard, which has a beautiful garden and a swimming pool. The staff are warm and friendly, and they serve your breakfast at the balcony of your room... so you get breakfast in bed ^-^ Definitely value for money.

Location-wise, Sanur is a quiet place.... quite different from Kuta. Much prefer it here though, for relaxation. For food, try Lotus restaurant, which is a short taxi ride away. (Only use Bluebird taxi, as the rest of the taxis tend to overcharge.)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe_N_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
2.2 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#4 of 79 in Sanur
421 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 79 in Sanur
550 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 79 in Sanur
523 reviews
3.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#18 of 79 in Sanur
2,319 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Bali Hotel

Address: Jl. Pantai Padang Galak, Gang Penyu Dewata 3/2, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: £40 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located at 30 mn from kuta, seminiak, ubud and only 5 mn from sanur, tropical bali hotel is a quiet place in tropical garden. the rooms are full equiped (TV sat, AC, WI FI, mini bar, hot water) an d the breakfast is served in your private terrace around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tropical Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Bali Hotel Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing