We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apparently brand new hotel, spotlessly clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa
Ranked #60 of 137 Sanur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Firstly, please note that this – apparently brand new - hotel is NOT at number 28, but at number 7. We stayed four nights in early July in an upstairs room. The rooms were spotlessly clean; the kitchenette had a refrigerator, a microwave oven and two gas hobs; the staff even washed up the cups and plates for us in the morning. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, we just cooked for ourselves. There is air conditioning, the bed is very comfortable (great bed linen) and the bathroom is large with a great shower, but no bath.

There are a couple of drawbacks, however: while the pool is long, it is less than three metres across, so I fear that when the hotel gets busy, swimming along the length of the pool will not be possible. Due to the orientation of the buildings and the movement of the sun, one side of the pool is always in the shade, while the other side is always in the sunshine. When you walk along the side of the pool, you are VERY close to the patios of the downstairs rooms.

It is possible to walk to the beach from the hotel in ten minutes, but the nicer beach (which starts at the Hotel Mercure) is about a twenty minute walk. There are bicycles at the hotel, but these can be hired only by the hour. The free shuttle into town is only available if there are sufficient staff at the front desk, so that one can act as driver. In practice, we had no problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs on the sunny side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trimsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was my parents first trip to Bali and we were very excited to find this 5star motel for 2star rates. Vey comfortable rooms, plush bedding and helpful staff, this place is very secluded and proved to be a gem in gently introducing my parents to Bali.. Very accessible for my mum's mobility wheelie walker they would definitely choose to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank BronwynClee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed 7 nights at this hotel, it is very modern, beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was OK nothing special but adequate.
The only downside was that it is a bit far from Sanur's main shopping street, but a cheap taxi ride will get you there. If you want a very quiet time, its a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunlopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The room is very spacious with refreshing white and ocean blue tone. I love its comfy coach and big bath room. No bathtub but clean. I got a room with direct access to a very nice swimming pool.
I also had a small kitchenette and a mini dvd & mp3 player inside the room.
I'm very impressed - and definitely a YES for another stay. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohanesChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We just stayed a night here but it was really easy and enjoyable.
The beds are really comfortable, I had a terrific sleep.
No mosquitoes here either.
The lounge is also really comfortable.
My only gripe is paying for wi-fi. Thats old news and hotels should have free wi-fi now.
I would stay again as it was ideal for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinggrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The staff here are superb. They are friendly and really serviceminded. We got a superb deal with Ourdeal, so look out for that, if you are australian!

The place is clean and brand new. Nice pool and not to many using it.

Perfect place for a family, that wanst to avoid the noice from Kuta!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyclingPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Our family is a frequent traveller to Bali and this time we want to stay in Sanur. We stayed at astana Pengembak for 4D/3N, 6 of us, 2 connecting bedrooms + 1 bedroom for our parent. The hotel is brand new, clean and we love the bedroom so much. The bed is so comfortable which we get the best sleep during our stay. The kitchen is also enough for us to cook quick instant meals. The staffs are friendly, with smiling faces and always be there when needed. Nice pool, unfotunate our rooms located on 1st floor. Location wise is bit stricky. If you want to find fancy shops, it's not on walking distance. But taxi are cheap, also motorcyle is recommended for near by shopping area. My family loves the morning activities, watch sunrise at Sanur beach (10min walking to beach). My sons (age 12 and 13) enjoyed the clean and beach sport activities. We walked for 2hours every morning along the beach till we find coconut drinks and restaurant for breakfast. If you want to avoid the husle and busle and find the most relax place in Bali, I recommend Sanur. We had a great time during our stay in Astana Pengembak and certainly we plan to come back to this hotel sometime very soon.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank Parani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Prime Plaza Hotel Sanur - Bali
1.2 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#40 of 82 in Sanur
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
0.4 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#14 of 82 in Sanur
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa

Address: Jl. Pengembak No. 28, Sanur, Denpasar 80238, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: £23 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astana Pengembak Suite Apartment & Villa Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing