We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanur Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #47 of 137 Sanur B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked for one night after coming back from Gili and before going to Lovina.
At first our driver wasn't able to find this homestay and it took us some minutes.
The first impression was disappointing.
They don't even have a sign or something like this.
The name is only painted to the door. Not really classy for the money you have to pay.
Anyway we went in and where directly welcomed by the owners 3 little dogs.
The garden is really beautiful and we wondered how our room will look.
We got a bungalow directly in the garden with our own small terrace faceing the garden and a little backyard where our private pool and the bath was.
The bath contained a dirty and old toilet, a washbasin which was not working, but dirty.
Outside of this small building was the shower. You are not able to change the temperature of the water or hide yourself from other people in your room during showering.
In the pool was no water, but a lot of dead animals.
The owner told us he put no water in it because we only booked one day before.
Back to the room.
Our room had no aircon but a fan. He told us that it might be possible to fix the fan to one position but he doesn't know how to do this.
The room was nice equipped but everything looked old and dusty.
On a table was a magazine and some mosquito repellent. The magazine was almost one year old and the mosquito repellent had probably the same age. It was almost empty.
The whole room looked like it took a long time since they cared about its shape.
The bed was surrounded by a mosquito net and a a lot of dead animals on top of it.
When we were asking for the fastest way to the beach the owner told us to take his bikes.
Seems like a nice offer but the bikes were in no good shape and we had to pump it up by ourself in a nearby coffee to use it.
The breakfast next morning was really good and you get definitely enough food to start your day.
At the end our host turned a little bit more friendly and let us use his phone to call a driver.

All in all it was not a bad stay.
There was nothing you can't handle (especially if you are young ;-) ). It's only disappointing that you could have get something much better for this money or cheaper for this quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ichichich3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
12
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

If you are looking for a cosy homestay, the Sanur B&B, its a nice choice. Kelvin, the owner, was very helpful and we felt very well taken care of. Within a short 5 minute walk there are good restaurants nearby as well as the beach is not too far away. The property's garden is very relaxing, breakfast was huge and rather a brunch...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reisema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

There are some good things about this place. The studio we stayed in on the top floor was spacious with a big bed and sofa. It was very clean too. The breakfast was also delicious and plentiful. The owner took us down to the beach to show us the way.

Unfortunately the plunge pool was very green and grimey- definitely not suitable for swimming in. The location is a good 10 minute walk down lots of back alleys to get to the beach (which isn't that nice). So it is not 3 mins to the beach as advertised. For us the studio did not have a separate bathroom- it is open so not suitable if you are a group sharing and wanting to go to the loo in privacy. Also it lacked a balcony adjoining the room (preferable if you have kids) or any nice seating area in the garden, just a bench.

Also we had a problem of no water supply to our room. When we mentioned this the owner said "ah yes, we are at the end of the line so every day in the busy hours (ie approx 630-830 am and 5-7pm) there is not enough pressure from the main water system to supply us with any water". I appreciate that they may not be able to change that, but they could at least provide buckets and dippers in the bathroom so that you can fill them up in anticipation and then use to flush the toilet when there is no water. Its just a matter of communicating with your guests and being thoughtful to their basic needs.

Could do better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2012. Kelvin was the perfect host. Gave great recommendations and organized whatever we asked for.
The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood, only 5 bike-minutes away from the beach and the busy food-and-shopping-main road. The rooms are typical Balinese-style, the garden is beautiful and the breakfast is delicious. Breakfast was either served in our room or the terrace with fresh coffee, fruit, bread and jam, rice and nudels. Thanks to Kelvin and his wife we had a terrific stay in Sanur!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Germanfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Whilst I haven't stayed with Kelvin and Tammy recently, I have spent many enjoyable times staying with them in the past and can assure any guests that they'll have a warm welcome and relaxed time in this traditional Sanur home. The location is good, not far from the beach, warungs and restaurants. They also have an interesting rustic property on a coffee plantation in central Bali - a good base for hiking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A real pleasure staying at this B&B, the owners were absolutely fantastic, they were really helpful advising us on the best places to go and made our stay a truly memorable. I will certainly be coming back next time I am in Bali.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Travelling to Bali was a magical experience and staying here made it even more special. We were welcomed warmly and led to discover beautiful none touristy corners. Everything was exceptional from our stay and I couldnt have asked for a better time. Cant wait to go back someday! and will definitely stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annabeth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.6 mi away
Di Kubu Home
Di Kubu Home
#46 of 137 in Sanur
35 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jukung Guest House
Jukung Guest House
#8 of 137 in Sanur
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taman Bali
Taman Bali
#19 of 137 in Sanur
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sanur Guest House
Sanur Guest House
#9 of 137 in Sanur
256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oxy House Bali
Oxy House Bali
#50 of 137 in Sanur
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Touring Homestay
Touring Homestay
#66 of 137 in Sanur
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanur Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanur Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sanur Bed & Breakfast
Address: Jl Danau Poso | Gg Wana Sari 10, Sanur, Denpasar N/A, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanur bed & breakfast is a private home stay in harmony with the Balinese environment. Located in a quiet exclusive neighborhood in the Sanur Blanjong area within 3 minutes to a white sandy beach, markets, beach side cafes and spa's.Sanur bed & breakfast is fully equipped with free internet access, Salite-TV, DVD on demand, hot&cold water, kitchen facilities, plunge pool, garden area and air conditioned room. Continental or Asian breakfast on request is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sanur Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanur Bed & Breakfast Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing