We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity at Sudamala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

What a fantastic small Boutique hotel in a quiet location, wonderful facilities and exemplary customer service. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the bed linen and towels just sublime, lovely soft towels (not the over bleached stiff towels of some resorts), wonderful large and fluffy pillows that you just melt into, soft bed linen and Crabtree and Evelyn shampoos etc. (The mattress was slightly firmer than I like but that's just personal taste). The huge bathroom had an outdoor feel to it, with a divine rainhead shower. The only slight downside to the room was that the internet connection was not that stable although this was easily overcome by using the wireless network in the public areas.

The pool was large and quiet and set in lovely leafy surrounds with piped music, quality wicker beds with textile mattress pads for the ultimate in comfort. There was reconstruction of one of the pergolas going on during our stay; but as this was mainly laying roofing tiles it could barely be heard and did not detract from our relaxation.

Breakfast was a superb waiter served feast, I particularly enjoyed the fresh squeezed juices and premium cofees/teas on offer along with the plentiful breakfast choices (all included in the price). All the staff were highly attentive and the Operations Manager Ria went out of her way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We had a late night flight we had a complimentary late check out and about 9 o clock in the evening we lay by the pool which was closed and two staff members appeared with the mattress pads and towels to ensure that we could rest comfortably whilst waiting for our departure.

As with all hotels, it was more expensive to eat in house, but Sudamala is located within 100m of 2 of the top 5 Trip Advisor ranked restaurants in Sanur and there is a multitude of restaurants within a few hundred meters.

We booked 'return' transport with the hotel (costs the same as a Taxi) which was a air conditioned SUV, on arrival the driver came with proper name boards and cold flannels and water.

Overall a truly wonderful relaxing upmarket place to stay. We will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: All the upstairs rooms have a private spacious balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PiersColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

I come to Bali often as i have an office here.Normally stay at top of the range hotels like the Komaneka Bisma in Ubud or hire a villa.

My office staff found this resort and booked it for me. What a great find. The staff here are fantastic.Its upmarket and price wise i got a great deal.One can see that alot of thought has gone into the planning of this hotel. My room was large and extremely comfortable. It has every amenity on associates with an up market hotel. I really like the spaciousness of the room, with the separate large walk in dresser and bathroom.

Turn down service every night with Chocolates was great.

The hotel staff here aim to please. Breakfast every morning was nice and food well presented.

Will i be back. Most definitely.



Sanur is a relatively quite area.Facilities are great

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 04-03-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Sudamala is located at the bottom area of Sanur near to the Marriot hotel, whilst the Marriot is on the beach the Sudamala is not. This is not a bad thing for those of you who have seen the beach. What Sudamala does is have excellent rooms and wonderful beds. The live in artist and owner seem to be on hand to provide useful tips for the area. The pool was completely empty when we were there and the staff did everything they possibly could to make the holiday wonderful. Sure the prices of the food are extreme as are the massage but this is a little bit of luxury. The bathroom takes a little getting used to as it is open to the air but not outside, hard to explain but quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Overlook the garden if possible as pool side and others are not so nice to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littledinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We had a great time, the rooms were great and the staff were fabulous. We booked direct through the hotel and they never mentioned the building happening poolside. What was also strange is that what they were building already appeared to be built in the pictures on the Internet! The chocolates left at the nightly turn down was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The rooms are exquisite and the hotel is very nice. The only problem is that there were a few works next to the pool so a little bit of noise when resting near the pool.
The breakfast is great and the staff is very helpful.
We had flowers and cake as it was our honeymoon (this is always very nice to have!!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie_paris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have just returned after staying at the resort for a week, we booked the hotel based on the reviews of other trip advisor reviewers. we cannot fault the staff, they are so friendly and the welcome we received was very warm. However, we were under the impression that this was a single storey resort, we were put into an upstairs room, after the first night we had been kept awake by a barking dog, plus instead of the king size bed we were told we would have we had two singles put together, we were not happy. We told reception that we were not happy with the bed and also the lack of sleep. we requested a downstairs room as well, we were charged another $15 per night to be moved into another room. we went out to the swimming pool - this is not like the pictures, one of the gazebo's is still under construction, the resort sounded like a Sunday morning in suburbia where are the people are doing their handy man thing, the power tools and hammering was a little too much to take. We went to have a massage, so expensive and nothing out of the ordinary, we have been over charged for this and we are waiting for a response as to why we have been charged so much. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of food, however, on the couple of occasions that we ate at the resort we found it to be cold and over priced. we spent the majoity of our time away from the hotel, it was a very expensive experience just for a bed for the night. I dont think that this resort will hold its 5 star status for very long, they still have lots to do there, and even during our time we noticed that they were having to make repairs already. room service is quite slow, we even had to ring up to remind them to do the room.Would we stay there again? I very much doubt it.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PerthTravelmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Best bits:
1) Great food at reasonable prices served at the hotel's restaurant;
2) Great service with the staff being very friendly and offering advice as to places to go and see;
3) Free yoga every Tuesday and Thursday;
4) Located in a quiet area of Bali so not too many tourists or people trying to sell you things;
5) Rooms are very clean, large and I love the semi-outdoor shower room;
6) Fresh fruits and chocolate provided for free daily;
7) You can arrange for pick-up service from the airport. The staff was so friendly when they greeted you at the airport and provided cold towels and water!
8) Crabtree and Evelyn shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and cream provided daily.

Not so good bits (wouldn't say bad):
1) Teething problems with a new hotel - the electricity switched completely off in the room because the fuses kept jumping;
2) lack of control over the temperature of the water in the shower;
3) private beach is not great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cecely H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#22 of 82 in Sanur
2,357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 82 in Sanur
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#28 of 82 in Sanur
2,411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#18 of 82 in Sanur
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £76 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing