We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Splendid place to stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Sudamala is a hotel that actually is as attractive as its website shows with decently sized rooms, beautiful presentation and lovely amenities. It is well priced for what it delivers and markedly below the price of any nearby hotel of comparable standard. I was a solo traveller and from the moment I was collected at the airport I was well cared for. Their meals are nicely put together, the Spa is a real treat for frazzled nerves and the staff are friendly. Everything is beautifully clean and having the beachfront so close is another plus. I was told that this hotel has only been open about 8 months so relatively quiet as it is not yet included in the tourist packages – so very peaceful for Bali at this time of year. Unique to Sudamala and one of the attractions for me is that they offer Kandaluni yoga. I had never done it before and found it to be such a positive experience I hope to continue.
One observation however is that they need an onsite operational manager to supervise all the areas working together and to ensure its smooth running, especially in busy times. There are some rough corners to its operation such as the beach and misunderstandings caused by language/cultural differences (for example a tour is really a driver arrangement only).
I also recommend Sanur if you want peace and to really relax. It is an older tourist part of Bali. Although it has the modern hotels and restaurants it does not have the same loud noise, late night action or number of tourists. It’s emphasis is more on water sports and Balinese spirituality with reasonably priced shopping, bars, restaurants, spas, tours there as well. However, Bali urgently needs to put back some of the considerable profit it has taken from the tourist industry into related infrastructure with the most obvious being the airport. Geographically close areas are becoming preferred destinations due to this and cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    204
    46
    9
    3
See reviews for
104
471
28
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is a brand new hotel, located in the center of Sanur, yet very quiet once you go inside. I like quiet places, so I was a little hesitant when my wife proposed that we spend a couple of nights in this hotel, but fortunately turned out to be a great decision. The only loud thing in the room was the fan, so we didnt use it at all. The Balinese music played quietly in every corridor of the hotel was a bit annoying for me, but it was switched off in the evening. Thats the only mini complain that I have about the hotel. Everything else was great!

The rooms are big and the furniture is the best we have seen in any Balinese hotel. We loved the outdoor shower.

The pool is not big, but its enough to have a nice swim.

The breakfasts are nice, but if you get bored you can go to tens of places that are literally on your doorstep! We have tried couple of restaurants in Sanur and we recommend the authentic italian place called Massimo, the restaurant and spa at http://www.kamuelavillas.com/ and CharMing restaurant.

Sanur is a good base for scuba diving. I have been diving with http://www.diving-indo.com/, a polish dive centre. They speak English and Russian and have very good equipment so I was very happy with them.

The hotel provides bicycles, free of charge for up to two hours. If you want you can rent scooters in many places outside the hotel. They also have yoga classes in the mornings, two or three times a week.

The staff are all very nice and always helpful.

All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W00ki3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I have nothing to add to all the excellent comments already made on Tripadvisor re this hotel. Its beautiful, relaxing, calming, elegant with customer service beyond belief. Absolutely loved the hotel and the happy, smiling staff.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden suites are good as they have a small garden wher you can sit and relax after you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GinaNamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I've been to Bali many times and stayed in some wonderful accommodation but Sudamala Suites and Villas is a real stand out. It has features you would expect - great bed, courtyard garden, large rooms, beautiful indoor/outdoor bathroom, pool, spa, fabulous breakfasts, close to bars and restaurants, etc, etc....... but what makes this special is the unbelievable service. Monica the Operations Manager has worked in 5 star hotels in Melbourne, and it shows. She has trained the staff to understand, predict and meet all expectations with good humour and charm. By far one of the best luxury accommodation experiences in Sanur.
Donna & Penny

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonMayPenMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We went to Sudamala for our honeymoon along with 2 other couples and we absolutely loved it, and here are the reasons why:

- our room was gorgeous, the bathroom was very modern, we even had a chocolate cake waiting for us for our honeymoon.

- The service is impeccable, you can really tell that this resort prides itself on their service and you can feel that it is important for them to please their customers. Every time we woudl pass by a member of the staff they would great us politely, everytime we asked for anything it was done right away.

ex: we checked out at 5am in order to catch our flight in time, and they had prepared a doggy bag with our breakfast as the kitchen didn't open until later.

- the breakfast was amazing: first they start you off with fresh fruit and a freshly squeezed fruit juice, then coffee (cappuccino, latte or expresso), then came some croissants and other pastries (all you can eat), only then came the main course which was a choice of bacon and eggs, rice porridge and soup and I forget the last one.

- The resort has a great traditional balinese feel to it, from the live balinese music played in the morning, to the traditional art and statues all around the resort, great touch.

If you are looking to have a very relaxing time in Bali, away from all the hustle and bustle, this is the place to be, the resort is not too big which made our stay just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sylvain411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I had a few days to get away without the kids and found this beautiful hotel via trip advisor. Following the mostly favourable reviews, we booked a few nights in one of the upstairs suites through wotif.com. I'd been to Bali years ago and remembered the chaos at DPS airport, so I emailed the hotel prior to our arrival and they organised return airport transfers for us. It was very reasonably priced and comparable to local taxi fares...... the difference was a very polite driver met us with a clearly marked sign, bottles of spring water, and refreshing face towels...a great start to our few days away. When we arrived at the hotel, we were promptly checked in and taken to our room. The room had the most comfortable king bed with amazing linen and pillows. We had a large balcony with outdoor setting, and the bathroom was enormous. Our room had what was referred to as a closed in bathroom, but still had the open air feel...the shower was huge and inviting. We had breakfast included in our rate which we could have at the lovely street side restaurant, or could be delivered to our room. During our breakfast each morning we were entertained by some traditional musicians. Although located on the street, this part of Sanur was very quiet, with only a little bit of traffic passing by. We utilised the free 2 hour bike hire, and rode around the streets and down to the beach. There is a lovely library area with a range of books, and two computers with free internet access also. The pool area is beautiful and quiet. The streets adjacent to the hotel have a great choice of clean restaurants with good food, and much cheaper than the beachside restaurants and larger hotels. If the beachside restaurants are your preference, they are an easy walking distance away, but we preferred to eat more locally. The highlight of our stay was definitely the staff. They are so attentive and would always greet us by name as we'd come and go. On our last day reception called us to let us know there was going to be some minor work done to the airconditioning in the hotel, and as a result they extended our check-out until 6pm which was extremely convenient with a 10pm flight home. I have always stayed at larger hotels and resorts in the past, and this was my first time trying a smaller establishment. I really can't fault anything, and it really was a relaxing and enjoyable few days.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott01Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This was just the Bali experience I was hoping for...after a great, but remote (and pretty expensive) villa stay in Uluwatu a couple years ago and staying at a really bad hotel in Seminyak over New Year's Eve, I really wanted to find a conveniently located hotel with that perfect Bali ambience for a reasonable price. And I finally did!! Some of the highlights:
- The staff are wonderful. There are welcoming gals who check you in, grounds and restaurant staff who are efficient and friendly; management who seem to know about every guest and check in on you at the most convenient times and appropriate frequency.
- They have knowledgeable drivers for your sightseeing. The hotel car with driver definitely costs much more than the taxis across the street you can hire for the day, but a very reasonable price when you consider it's a van that is much more comfortable than taxi with good a/c, quality personal service, cold bottled water provided, and a cold towel when you return to the car after a sweaty tour of a temple. Plus, one of the 2 drivers speaks very good English and was even sort of a semi-tour guide vs. just driver for us. His name is Loka Loka (that's his nickname, don't remember his real name) and he knew the best spots to take us to vs. run-of-the-mill tourist stops when we wanted to do some shopping or needed a restaurant/bar suggestion. We used them all 3 days and to/from the airport.
- Beautiful resort: Every day, I delighted in this thoughtful design. Fresh fragrant flowers everywhere (including next to your daily chocolates at turn-down service), high wooden ceilings in the rooms, great pool (whether you're adults for some swim and sunbathing or kids wanting to play), spacious layout (both rooms inside and the property in general) yet cozy feeling. We even loved their little store (beautiful, reasonably priced jewelry, lovely little soaps, etc), huge a/c library with 2 desktops, books to borrow, etc. Perfect place to just relax and enjoy.
- Tasty and very filling breakfast at their "Ares" restaurant: Choice of eggs, rice w/ fried egg, or local "congee" with chicken for main entree. Plus all choices come with fresh fruit with yogurt, fresh juice, toast or croissants (warm chocolate pasty every morning - yum!), and tea, coffee, or hot chocolate. We were happy and stuffed every morning and didn't need to have lunch until 3pm.
- It's conveniently located in Sanur - 10m from a main intersection to other parts of Bali (longer during peak traffic). Within a couple minutes walking you have restaurants with both local & int'l cuisine at good prices, a couple local spas (not as nice as Sudamala's, but very good value), and a small convenience store.

No real downsides to report...keep in mind this is more like a 4-star vs. 5-star...but that also means it has more charm than a 5-star.

Hope to return to Bali and stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExplorerGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.6 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#6 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing