We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Spending a weekend in Sudamala was a wonderful choice. The resort is new, the staff is friendly and extremely efficient. With its own art gallery, unique architecture, beautiful garden and sofisticated design of the rooms Sudamala is more than a hotel, it is an experience in itself. Small details, like the library with internet access (the rooms and area have a fast wifi connection for free) and a good selection of international books (nicely covered with plastic) are a sign of customer orientation and vision.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Mr. Kai S.,

It is always lovely to know that our orientation and vision do not go unnoticed. Thank you for choosing Sudamala Suites and Villas for your weekend in Bali. I’ll be sure to pass on your wonderful feedback to our ladies and gentlemen.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    211
    48
    9
    3
See reviews for
108
484
29
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I went to Sudamala on october 2012 during a trip around Bali. Even if the place is not directly on the beach, they have so amazing gardens, spa, yoga class and so on that you won't want to leave this beautiful piece of paradise. The staff is very helpful and smiling. Breakfast is delicious and on some morning there were some gamelans musicians. Imagine a yoga class in the morning, spices and flower bath or a jetlag massage at the spa in the afternoon, a drink at the pool followed by an evening with a dinner under the stars, then you will have an idea of the quiet resourcing place that Sudamala is.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying at Sudamala Suites & Villas during your trip around Bali, and for delighting in the serene and spacious feeling we strive to provide our guests.

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

It usually takes three days for me to completely unwind, but that was before I spent 6 days at the glorious Sudamala. One day was all it took. With a swim, massage , facial and lunch and the the friendliness of the staff, not only was I completely relaxed but I felt as if I had been there for days.
Nothing is too much trouble at the Sudamala and the attention to detail in the buildings and the service is second to none even down to the offer of fresh fruit by the pool every afternoon.
The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered and the constant presence of the management meant that every question was answered and every need met. They made you feel as if you were one of the family, and being a boutique hotel you got to meet other guests and to share shopping and adventure experiences.
With it's interesting Architecture, it's Art Gallery, Antiques, creative spaces and artistic functions promoting Balinese culture, the Sudamala has an understated elegance that has great appeal.
My courtyard room with it's own Bale and open plan stone bathroom was an absolute joy.The attention to detail in the quality of the bed, pillows, bed linen and twice daily service made my stay an unforgettable experience.
The Sudamala has become my only Bali destination. I can't wait for their new resort in Lombok.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the courtyard rooms have a lovely daybed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverleygai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Beverleygai,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Sudamala Suites & Villas and for appreciating our many features. We are pleased to hear that you were able to relax and unwind quickly with our help. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas – in Bali as well as in Lombok!

Best regards,


General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227
Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

After 30 hours of travel we were beyond happy to land here. While tucked away in quiet Sanur, Sudamala was an excellent and affordable spot to begin our honeymoon. The service was excellent and staff very kind. The level of detail that they put into the resort is impeccable. Take a peek at the floating flower bowls and see a new design in the morning and afternoon. The breakfast options are delicious and impressive compared to other hotels in Bali/Gili. We found our driver through the Sudamala and were very happy with Nyoman. The hotel is in a good location to go on a day trip to Ubud or Kuta/Seminyak. I would stay here again upon arrival or departure. If you enjoy busy streets and restaurants, Sanur is not an ideal location. If you love a good night sleep and don't mind paying for a $10 USD taxi ride, this place is for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownGirlMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

We’re happy that Sudamala Suites & Villas was able to give you a good start to your honeymoon and to know you appreciated even the smallest details. We hope to welcome you back at Sudamala in the future, perhaps to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jl. Sudamala No.20, Sanur, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The plus points with this hotel are the smart grounds, the well appointed rooms with high ceilings, comfortable beds and the attention to detail in keeping the place looking smart. However there are one or two things that need a bit more attention. It's nice that the pool attendant spent ages aligning all the towels on the sun beds so that they were all facing the same way - but perhaps his time would be better spent cleaning the algie from the inside of the pool! yes, there is a not-inconsiderable amount of mould growing in the pool which really shouldn't be there. perhaps it's because the pool was so warm - i'm not sure if they heat the pool (they really shouldn't), but it was like getting into a bath and I'm not convinced that it was this warm simply from the sun.
We didn't have a particular problem with mosquitos, and as others have said, they put burners in your bathroom (which is partially outdoors) to keep them at bay.
There is a small area of beach reserved by the hotel with 5 or 6 sun beds on. It's nice enough, but has no facilities such as drinks (albeit one of the nearby bars were happy to attend).
The breakfast was nice enough - limited choices, but tasty. The cocktails in the bar during the evening are seriously small - and they're not cheap. I recommend going elsewhere.
If you are looking for an alternative to the big hotels such as Hyatt, then this could well be for you. however I wouldn't stay there again - mostly because it is too quiet and the pool was a big turn off, both because of its temperature (too warm) and the mould.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your comments about your stay in Sudamala Suites & Villas. It is always good to receive feedback on where we need to improve and I will pass on your comment to our team. I can assure you that our swimming pool is not artificially heated. The warmth is the natural effect of the sun in Bali.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jl. Sudamala No.20, Sanur, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We used Trip Advisor for the first time to select accomodation to stay in whilst we were in Bali. We were not disappointed! This is truly a very pleasant place to stay and you can't feel but relaxed once greeted by the always friendly, ever smiling, attentive staff.

Not a mega resort - much nicer. Not right on the beach - only a short stroll there. The warm welcome, cool drinks and towels on arrival, the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, the chocolates at turn down each night, the fantastic king size beds and great pillows, the fabulous airconditioned rooms, the delicious a la carte breakfasts, the subtle Balinese music played pool side, the Balinese gentlemen playing their instruments at breakfast, the complimentary bicycles and 10 minute complimentary massages and yoga if so inclined, the free wi fi, the huge showerheads, We could go on and on but if you are looking for a very comfortable, not a pretentious place to stay close to transport, shopping, restaurants and the beach - this is it (and no we are not affiliated in any way shape or form with Sudamala just very happy clientele).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Susan C,

Thank you for sharing about your wonderful stay in Sudamala Suites & Villas. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jl. Sudamala No.20, Sanur, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

First time to Sanur, hotel was great, and the beds ARE the most comfy ever. Staff were so helpful and friendly, Utari and Putra brought a smile to our face everyday. The general manager Ria helped us out with booking day trips and golf day for the guys. The hotel is situated in a great location with so many fantastic places to eat close at hand. The service was top class and we will certainly be back to stay.. Thank you for making our holiday a great memory to keep...

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Julie C,

It was our pleasure making your holiday in Sanur a memorable one. Ria, Utari, Putra and all of the team thank you for making Sudamala Suites & Villas a part of it.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jl. Sudamala No.20, Sanur, Bali 80227, Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing