We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I've always wanted to Bali and so, my husband and I did in Dec 2012. Being unfamiliar with the region, we opted to pick a good hotel. However, there are a lot of hotels in Bali (understatement of the year, I think).

Luckily for us, there was a Groupon offer for Sudamala Suites and Villas. A quick check on TripAdvisor assured us that it would be good so we took the chance. Our package included two way airport transfers, a 30 minute massage for two, daily breakfast and stay in a Deluxe Suite.

Our friendly driver met us at the Airport and we were offered a lovely chilled towel and complimentary water. Without our driver, I think we would have been a bit overwhelmed by the various touts and taxis at the airport. Bali traffic is quite bad so it was nice to be in an air-conditioned, luxury car.

The hotel's "reception" is something unique to Bali, I believe. Instead of the usual front desk, they have an open pavilion. Check-in was easy and we were led to our room on the first floor. Oh, what a lovely surprise it was! Much better than the pictures - double height ceiling, a lovely king sized bed, balcony overlooking the courtyard, sliding doors partitioning the bedroom from the well-appointed bathroom with an open concept wardrobe. A large LED TV, a great selection of international TV channels, air-conditioning with the option of a ceiling fan, toiletries from Crabtree & Evelyn, slippers and bathrobes provided for. The shower area is huge, no bath but who needs it when there's a good sized pool outside?

Some reviewers have complained about the smoke from the mosquito coils. Staff come around in the evenings to light them. The smoke can get very cloying and if you can decline having the coils lit but given the size and number of mosquitoes we saw, it's probably for the best.

There was meant to be free wifi in the room but it was not working during our stay. Instead, we had use of their LAN. We had our laptop so that was OK. But if not, wireless access is limited to certain areas like the reception and breakfast area.

There were lots of choices for breakfast catering to all tastes. Lots of local fruits with some local breakfast options, which makes a nice touch. One can enjoy breakfast to traditional music performed live.

Their in-house spa was very nice, private, clean and decorated; very similar to upmarket spas one gets in the UK or Singapore. It was very pricey though, compared to what was being peddled mere meters away down the street. That being said, I did not try any of the local massage parlours.

The hotel also provides in-house day tours (driver, transport and parking fees included in the price) and bookings for what guests want to do. We did not take them up on any of their tours. Bizarrely, our spa and tours menu was removed from our room towards the end of our stay. I was intending to make a reservation but didn't as I did not have the information to hand.

Also, somewhat strangely, we had no hot water for an evening. I think it was just one off as a call to the front desk sorted this out by morning.

The hotel location is a bit removed from the more popular spots. It takes about 30 minutes to travel to the west side where Seminyak, Kuta and other hot spots are. That being said, we were happy trundling up and down the local thoroughfare. Lots of food to be had that caters to the foreign tourist including an Irish restaurant pub. Also lots of opportunity to try local cuisine. Try walking to the right of the hotel (seemingly a dead end) that leds the way to the hotel's "private" beach. A few shops and eateries that way - we tried a local dish, Babi Guling at a little restaurant/bar there. Was pretty good!

Speaking of the beach, it was a bit of a trek to find their beach. The first time we tried to find it, we completely missed it! If you chance upon the local "market" selling food and such, you have traveled too far. Look for the purple banners (see photos). Think it's about a 10-15 min slow walk from the hotel. They provide towels there. Because of the distance of the hotel from the sea, if you're after a total beach holiday, I think that this is not the place for you.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend Sudamala Suites and Villas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maisvenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

I booked this property via the Sudamala website and was amazed when I arrived at how much better the place was ' in the flesh'. Usually it's the other way around when you book from glossy website pics & it's horrible when you get there.
The staff were great, rooms gorgeous with thoughtful design & inclusions.
One note of caution; if you book an airport pick-up make sure someone responds to your email or you may be left to your own devices when you arrive.
All in all an excellent hotel within easy walking distance of a variety of eateries.

We're making time to go back again before the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your keen observation that our Sudamala Suites & villas looks better ‘in the flesh’. It’s always nice to know the staff are taking good care of the property. And, again, thank you for sharing your insight about making sure to book an airport pick-up. Our hotel provides airport transfer and we are more than happy to serve our guests in this matter.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at the Sudamala Suites & Villas in February for 5 nights, enjoyed every minute of our stay, the deluxe room we had was a good size room and very clean, extremely comfortable, the decore was soothing. The grounds were immaculately neat and tidy and very tranquil, it gave us a chance to just relax and enjoy our holiday. We even enjoyed the complimentary Yoga classes they have, and also enjoyed a flower arranging class with staff members Dayu and Nina, thank you. The staff are very professional and attentive, we truly appreciated their kind and generous hospitality, nothing was too much trouble.
Ares restaurant was fantastic, with the best coffee and delicious food they serve, the staff Gustiau, Ari, Utari, Hendra and the rest of the team do a great job, very friendly and kind.
Ria the operations manager does a fantastic job, always around to make sure everythings ok.
The Sudamala is a very happy and tranquil hotel, which was a pleasure to return to each day after our busy outings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c1deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your lovely review,

I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us, and am very proud of the genuine warmth of our staff. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team, who, I’m sure, will be pleased to hear from you.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Bali, and will be very honoured to be able to show you around our new sister resort Sudamala Suites & Villas, Senggigi in Lombok very soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My self and my wife recently stayed at Sudamala Suites for 6 nights in early February 2013 to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and what a wonderful time we had.

When planning our holiday I was looking for somewhere special to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to perhaps give my wife a little pampering. Well, our holiday exceeded all of our expectations. From the time we got there to the time we left we were so very well taken care of by the wonderful Manager Ria and her lovely staff.

Ria is so very kind and efficient and could not do enough for us. She worked so hard in trying to make this a special holiday for us both and her attention to detail and organisation is amazing. Ria always has a happy smiling face every day and was always willing to help us and provide advice wherever she could to make our holiday more enjoyable.

On our anniversary evening Ria organised a lovely dinner for us in the Hotel courtyard where we dined on our own. It was a lovely intimate evening with fine food, wine and friendly waiters. The staff couldn’t do enough for us and made it such a night to remember.

So many other small touches were provided on our anniversary day to make it such a special day, such as providing us with a wonderful flower arrangement and anniversary cake in our room and also a wonderful breakfast in our room on our anniversary morning.

I can’t say enough about how wonderful all the staff at the resort were and how they went about making our whole stay there a memorable one. They did everything for us with such genuine excitement, almost as though we were friend’s or family, such was the care they provided. Everything is always done with a happy smiling face and always to make you feel you are the most important person in the resort. Sudamala should be very proud to have such quality staff working for them.

Whether it was the staff at reception, restaurant service, waiters, chefs, room staff, gardeners, cleaners, bar staff and spa staff or anyone else we came in contact with, we found them all to provide service of the highest order in a very relaxed and friendly manner.

We had some wonderful conversations with the staff about Bali life, culture and lifestyle and also about the various ways the resort has been specifically built and structured to enhance relaxation and spirituality. This is not a very big resort which allows it to maintain a very relaxed, intimate atmosphere, something you do not find at the larger resorts. At one point during our stay, we were told that the resort was nearly full, but it was so quiet and relaxing that you would never have known this.

All of this led to making our anniversary and holiday very special and one we will always hold dear in our memory and our hearts.

We had a deluxe garden suite on the ground floor which was very big and spacious and had its own courtyard. The food in the restaurant was always of the highest quality. The included breakfast was good with lots of options and great coffee. The lunch and evening were also very good. Yes there are a lot of restaurants in the area where you can eat slightly cheaper but the food served in the restaurant is of the highest quality and still very reasonably priced.

The pool is nice and so is the Spa which my wife visited a couple of times. My wife also did the included yoga lessons, Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

The resort is one street back from the beach, which is an easy walk, although it’s probably best to ask for directions the first time as the street set-up can be slightly confusing. While the resort fronts a reasonably busy intersection at the southern end of Sanur, once inside the resort you don’t hear any noise or traffic sounds at all.

The resort is about 30 minutes by taxi from the airport and Kuta and from both of these places cost us about 80,000 Rp (8 Australian dollars) one way. Sanur is so much quieter than Kuta and many of the other places in Bali and we would highly recommend it.

I can’t say enough about how lovely this resort is. It is such a wonderful, quiet and friendly place where you can really relax and rejuvenate yourself. We were there for a relaxing, rejuvenating holiday and this was perfect for us. I recommend it for anyone who wants a quiet relaxing holiday. We hope to return to Sudamala on our next visit to Bali and can’t see ourselves staying anywhere else.

Thanks again to Ria and staff for a memorable and enjoyable stay at Sudamala.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PCBrooksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy 25th anniversary again to you and your wife! Many congratulations and best wishes from all of us at Sudamala Suites & Villas. It was such an honour and pleasure to be of service to you and your wife on such a special occasion. I am so happy that you were able to truly relax and enjoy each other’s company during your stay with us. Ria is a wonderful asset to Sudamala, and I will surely pass on your lovely comments to her and the rest of our staff members.

The staff and I look forward to your return to your new home in Bali. We certainly hope to be able to welcome you to our sister resort in Senggigi, Lombok too!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Sudamala for our baby-moon and very much enjoyed it.
The professional impression we got organizing airport pick-ups continued upon check-in and throughout our stay. Staff are very attentive, service is delivered efficiently and promptly no matter the request.
The design of all facilities is both modern and traditional at the same time and as other reviewers have mentioned, garden and pool-area are a tranquil oasis in what can be a busy part of town. The art gallery and the ate work displayed in the hallways and in particular the bathroom design (open air showers) provide a unique touch.
Their Ares restaurant provides a satisfactory breakfast (expensive if not included), on the flip side you have many options within 5min walking distance. The diner menu was more in line with our high expectations driven by the otherwise impeccable service experience.
While late check-out could not be provided, they immediately offered us the option to take a shower and change cloth in their Spa facilities.
The only point of criticism we had was that sleeping longer could prove a bit difficult as staff start cleaning empty rooms etc. rather early.

Overall highly recommended hotel with a nice, unique touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayT_UK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

What a wonderful opportunity for us to be able to look after you during your baby-moon. We strive to maintain a high level of service standard at all times, so I’m glad to hear that our staff provided an impeccable service during your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs.

Thank you for your review, and for sharing on areas we can improve. We certainly hope to be able to welcome you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur when the new addition has arrived! Our best wishes for the marvelous journey of parenthood that you are about to embark on.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

we stayed at sudamala for two nights and were impressed with the professionalism of the staff, and the beautiful room. the bed was lovely, and well appointed bathroom with modern facilities. we found the breakfast excellent, so we are surprised to hear negative reviews. the coffee was one of the best i had in Bali, so go figure. not on the beach, but its literally two minutes walk, so who cares. the pool was private and quiet. this is perfect for couples or families wanting a quiet retreat from the usual busy bali. the manager was highly professional and helpful

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevex74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Stevex74,

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure having you with us. I’m flattered that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and blend of coffee.

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our manager and facilities. I will be sure to pass on your compliments. We hope to welcome you back to the Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed at sudamala for the second time with husband, my sister and her husband in January. Again I found the uniqueness of Sudamala, the green courtyard on the way to our room at the garden studio,the nice gallery and apparently no mosquito at all at that time. The yoga class in the morning is an excellent part as well....Thanks Sudamala.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loekiputera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted that we were able to welcome you and your family back to Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur. It’s wonderful to be able to be of service to you again. I’m pleased to hear that your visit was mosquito-free, and that you enjoyed our grounds and the yoga classes. Thank you for taking the time for writing us another positive review; I really do appreciate it. We hope to see you soon at our sister resort, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Senggigi in Lombok!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#19 of 79 in Sanur
2,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#17 of 79 in Sanur
1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#9 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £74 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing