We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and lovely place to stay in Sanur!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

After weeks, even months of searching for the perfect place to stay in Sanur, I found it!!! Sudamala Suites & Villas is just that, perfect in every way! My husband and I travel extensively all over the world. We recently hit our 80th country, we can honestly say that the Sudamala, exceeded all our expectations. A place were elegance and good taste surrounds you. Our suite was large, very comfortable and with every ammenity that you would need or desire. The bathroom was large with an open air shower that led to an enclosed patio, with lots of greenery. Lovely Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries. Our private patio was luscious and inviting.
We loved the tile details on the floor as well as the old sepia photographs behind the bed. The turn down service, with chocolates and a short written folktale, was a very nice touch.

The breakfast was excellent with both Indonesian and Western food, local live music and great location for people watching. Every afternoon, during our stay, we looked forward to a refreshing dip at the beautiful pool. The staff go out of their way to serve you. Everyone has a pleasant smile.

In our opinion, Sanur is not the place to lie on the beach. Sudamala is located in a great area for walking, shopping and dining. If we return to Sanur, we would definitely stay here again.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, which was great and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear trvbufElmhurst,

Congratulations on hitting your 80th country visited! We are happy you chose Sudamala Suites & Villas as part of this amazing milestone. And even more so, that you enjoyed our hotel and the details it has to offer.

We look forward to your next visit to Sanur and to welcoming you back at Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience during our four days at Sudamala Suites and Villas. As you leave the front desk and enter the hotel grounds, you are entering another world. The hotel is beautiful and well kept, with lovely landscaping throughout. We particularly liked the artwork found throughout the grounds. The rooms were relatively large and clean, with sufficient storage space. Since we had a deluxe balcony suite, our bathroom was completely enclosed, so we did not encounter problems with mosquitoes and other insects we found occasionally in open-air bathrooms in Indonesia.

The breakfasts were tasty and plentiful with an assortment of western and Balinese choices. The traditional music played by live musicians during breakfast was a nice touch. Similarly, the turn-down service where a small wicker basket was left in the room containing some chocolate, tomorrow’s events, and a short story was appreciated.

The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Most of them spoke English so there was little difficulty in communicating with them.

The only negative I had with Sudamala centered around their “private beach.” Advertised as a private beach or a beach club, this was a great disappointment. Their patch of sand (and I am not exaggerating) is a relatively short walk from the hotel, but is quite difficult to find. We met several other guests who never did find the private beach. We persisted, found it, and wished we didn’t. It was about 10-15 meters wide, looked abandoned, and didn’t have any staff to provide towels or any other assistance. I must admit, Sudamala staff handled my complaint professionally and the next day drove us around to other local beaches that, for a small charge, provided us with lounge chairs and umbrellas.

In spite of the one limitation regarding the beach, Sudamala Suites and Villas is a lovely place to spend a few days and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you go to sleep early, make certain you do not get a room above the restaurant since they have li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjlv07b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear pjlv07b,

I’m happy to read you and your wife had a wonderful stay at Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Thank you for your comments about our beach area. To clarify, it is not actually a private beach, but a stretch of public beach we have reserved for the use by our guests. I regret to hear that you and other guests had difficulties finding it. We have taken steps that will hopefully make the beach easier to locate. Towels are available at the hotel reception and refreshments can be ordered and deliver to the beach.

Thank you also for recommending Sudamala Suites & Villa. We hope to welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is such a special place. The suite that we stayed in had beautiful high ceilings, traditional balinese features with modern comforts; so clean, just impeccable. The outdoor shower and private court yard was my favourite. The turn down service with the next day activity letter, chocolates, flowers and bed time story in a traditional basket was a personalised touch. The pillows were like clouds!
The staff are lovely and so helpful. Food was amazing and could not believe how cheap - real coffee at breakfast was the best start to the day. During our stay I utilised the spa and was pampered for over 3 hours that came to about a little over $100 AUD!!!! We used the pool every day! The art gallery was a lovely surprise and I loved that every suite & villa had its own individual artworks that were the front doors to the rooms!
We didn't want to leave and we will be back again we loved it so much.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 211, ground floor so had private courtyard to use instead of front door to go to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMedcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Cmedcalf,

We are very pleased to read that you loved staying in Sudamala Suites & Villas and enjoyed all its facilities and services. Its great to know that you noticed and appreciated the details and the little touches as well. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and strive to continue to live up to your expectations.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is great, even if the word "suites" might be a bit misleading. We had a lovely room, away from the front of the hotel which might be noisy from nearby bars. Spent a lot of time by the pool, walked to the beach and had massages in the town. Not a great beach spot but a nice hotel to relax in. The staff were all very helpful, but their contract drivers not always great. A mosquito coil was placed in the bathroom area every evening but we moved it as far away from the bedroom as possible; don't need to breathe these fumes overnight.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Geoff W,

Many thanks for choosing to stay in Sudamala Suites & Villa. I’m glad to read you liked our hotel. Your feedback regarding the contract driver and mosquito coil is very much appreciated. We will certainly look at alternatives on how we can improve and provide our guests with a better experience.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Hubby and I spent the most glorious 8 days at this awesome resort, from our pick up to the return transfer to the airport. We were greeted at the airport by Yayan who was so friendly, once in the car he gave us some much welcomed cold cloths and bottled water. The drive from the airport to the resort took around 45mins. (was early evening and loads of traffic) On arrival at the resort we were greeted by Yuli who made us feel very welcomed. We were given another cold cloth and a welcome drink. Check in was very quick and informative. We were given Rm315. Will agree with other reviewer's once you head from reception into the resort proper it's another world, absolute serenity! On the way to our room Yuli pointed out where everything was in the resort. Our room was situated on the ground floor, a deluxe garden room. For me....I had the biggest smile on my dial as the access to the pool was only a few steps away! The resort has WiFi and in the room itself has it's own network connection, which put a smile on hubby's and my dial...instant contact with family!
The room itself was fabulous....very spacious, huge ceilings, nice king size bed, lovely bathroom with garden shower, vanity, seperate area for clothes with some draws and safe, two seater lounge with coffee table, desk, sideboard that housed the mini bar with extra draws, huge tv, lovely private courtyard with two chairs and table that you could access the garden area, ceiling fan and air con that didn't miss a beat...oh and the doors to the room are special....you have a REAL key to enter! (Pet hate of mine are those plastic swipe cards)
After settling ourselves in headed off to the hotels restaurant for dinner (Ares) was yummo! After dinner sat at the front lounges and watched the world go by with a few beverages. Staff were very attentive, keen to have a chat but not over bearing...just making sure everything was satisfactory...if anything we kept them talking! On walking back to our room we walk through the art gallery....amazing paintings by local artists....our one regret not taking photo's during our stay...we thought the other one did! Breakfast ....we had no complaints...but could be varied a tad. Certainly gave us a great start to the day.
As for outside the hotel, there are plenty of restaurant/bars to choose from and within easy walking distance. Also there are a variety of nick-knack shops/stalls to pick up bits and pieces! You have the choice of atm's or money changers....we got great deals with the money changers just have to check out who's offering the most!!! Ate at a few restaurant/bars...in the street across from the hotel...Paon good value for a seafood platter for two $45AUS get starters of soup which can be changed for any appitiser...platter and selection of desserts! You won't go hungry. Cat & Fiddle good wholesome english style food/balinese plus on certain nights they have a 4 man combo belting out some great tunes and taking requests...they were really good! They restaurant/bar across from the hotel...think it's called the Werung Sea Breeze? is great value for lunch/dinner, the food is yummo and big servings....only have beer and wine on offer but cheap as chips.
If you aren't into battering...I'm not...you can catch a taxi to Matahri's or Robinson's. There is also another place called Hardy's which is closer...supermaket and all clothes and other sundries that you'd want to puchase for your family/friends at home....and woo hoo air-con!!! Also the mini market in the street opposite the hotel is good for those bits and pieces.
Hubby had a massage at the hotel's spa...said it was worth the money, found the spot that had been giving him trouble....also had outside massages and they were good also....so you can take your pick.
We stayed from the 13th to 22nd March...apparently low season....don't know why as the weather was absolutely brilliant... humid...but only one arvo and evening of heavy rain.
Cannot praise this resort or their staff enough....did have one employee that shone through...Gustiayu (hope I spelt her name right...we shortened it to Gusti)...taking nothing away from the other staff members....take a bow ALL of you!
Thank you Sudama for making our holiday an awesome experience...stayed in Tuban on our previous holiday and was not overly keen on returning to Bali...but you have changed our minds...when we return...we hope to be able to stay with you again. Don't know how to write it in Balinese/Inodesian...but here goes in Aussie english...Terrimucussy....Thank you
P.S.: The bed and PILLOWS where heaven....and...the POOL
P.S.S.: Thank you for organising our breakfast boxes on our very early check out!
P.S.S.S: Thank you to Ayu (hope I spelt that right) for your friendliness/concern and supplying us with the lemongrass oil to ward off the mozzies.

Room Tip: Rm315....perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerthDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear PerthDaydreamer,

Thank you very much for your in-depth review of Sudamala Suites & Villas and its surroundings. We’re glad to know you had a glorious stay and were able to enjoy all our facilities and services. As we strive to improve and maintain our standard of service it is heartwarming to know what a good job our staff are doing and how well they are taking care of our guests. I will certainly share with all staff how much you appreciated their attentiveness, particularly with Yuli, Gusti Ayu and Ayu.

Terima kasih banyak for staying in Sudamala Suites & Villas. We all hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I stayed here recently with a large group and had a fabulous time. The staff members were wonderfully courteous from check-in on. They took great care with everything from laundry service to the cappucinos and freshly prepared breakfast items on request. We truly enjoyed the convenience to restaurants and the beach as well as the on-site amenities including the morning yoga sessions, the spa, and the picturesque pool. I'd love to go back and next time bring the husband; this would be the perfect spot for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: The upstairs suites offered great views of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSHMBAroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Regina L,

It is great to know you felt like finding a slice of heaven and had a wonderful time staying in Sudamala Suites & Villas.
I have passed on to our staff how much you enjoyed the service they provided.

We all look forward to welcoming you back and to meeting your husband when you bring him to stay in Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I came here for 5 nights in February with my wife. I had room on the second floor, overlooking the garden.
The location is great, close to all things Sanur.
Staff were incredibly friendly and helfpul.
It has basement car parking, if you rent a car.
Very new. Th only complaint was a mark on the side of the toilet seat that was not cleaned the whole time we were there. The "sitting surface" of the toilet seat was cleaned though, and I the rest of the apartment was cleaned well.
The room had a very soft bed, and a nice little balcony. The hotel pool is small, but warm.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saryusaryu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Saryusaryu,

I’m glad to read that you liked Sudamala Suites & Villas and that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for sharing your comments on the room cleaning, which I made sure were immediately followed up on. The feedback you provide is priceless in our continuous quest to improve and maintain our level of services.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#18 of 79 in Sanur
2,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
437 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#9 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £72 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing