We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Its been 16 years since we travelled to Bali, what a change. We stayed at Sudamala Suites whilst attending a conference and I have to say it was a pleasure. It felt like coming home after work and relaxing in the swimming pool.

The rooms were huge, plenty of room to move about, there was a very generous bathroom with the toilet and shower in a private outdoor area well protected from view.

The surroundings were very pleasant and restful and the restaurant was great. ATMs, laundry and other facilities were very nearby with heaps of restaruants and bars to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Jim D,

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay, and felt very much at home, in Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Indeed, many guests have described the hotel as a welcoming big house to come home to after a day exploring the surrounding areas and visiting Bali’s many cultural and artistic destinations.

Now that you have Sudamala Suites & Villas to come home to, we hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    216
    50
    10
    5
See reviews for
116
495
29
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We are currently staying at Sudamala with colleagues from Canada, Australia and New Zealand. We were extremely impressed with the standard of this resort on arrival, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are modern and well appointed, and tastefully decorated. The outside showers are great, the air-con and ceiling fans keep the rooms comfortable during the day and night. The pool area is great and restaurant food is of good quality and prepared in a timely fashion. The only complaint so-far from our group is that the neighbor (a local rooster) can be a bit of a nuisance in the early morning... however there is nothing the hotel can do about this!!! Staying at Sudamala has proved to be a great decision for ourselves and the rest of our group. Many thanks to the great staff and management for your hospitality and service this week ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear BobbMeister,

It’s great to know that you and your entire group enjoyed all our facilities and services. On behalf of all of us here, thank you for staying at Sudamala Suites & Villas. It was a pleasure being at your service.

We hope to welcome you all back soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at Sudamala for my husband's 50th birthday and if you want a quiet place to stay this is it. Reception even organised a cake on my husband's birthday which was very thoughtful. The staff are very attentive and helpful and everything is kept immaculate. While it was difficult to fault this place we found it a little like something you would stay in at the Gold Coast. This is fine if you want this type of accommodation however we prefer more traditional accommodation. The rooms are spacious and always very clean but a tip is if you want ground floor room with courtyard this will cost extra. Overall we enjoyed our stay but probably would not come back as we can stay in something like this at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Tanya T,

Many thanks for celebrating your husband’s 50th birthday at Sudamala Suites & Villas. Eventhough you were looking for more traditional accommodation, I do hope the many art pieces around the hotel, the decor of the rooms and the service extended by our staff did provide you with a glimpse and feel of Balinese culture and craftsmanship.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Just been and stayed at Sudamala for the 2nd time , and just to stay this is an excellent place to stay in Sanur , we cannot fault it all , from the airport pick up to the return home you are made to feel so welcome by all the staff there , from the reception on arrival and to all the staff that work there many thanks , we hope to return in the near future .

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear GrahamPerthAustralia,

All of us look forward to welcoming you home to Sudamala Suites & Villas whenever you are in Bali.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We have just returned from Sanur, Bali and we can highly recommend the Sudamala Suites and Vilas in Sanur. The staff were fantastic, friendly and welcoming, the restaurant was lovely with breakfast included each day and the service amazing, the room was quite, exceptionally clean and the bed and pillows sooooooo comfortable. We can highly recommend Sudamal Suites and Villas.

Room Tip: No fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Trina S,

Thank you for recommending Sudamala Suites & Villas. I’m happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us from the service provided by our staff to the comfortable beds.

For exercise, guests can partake in yoga classes, which are complimentary every Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Our expert instructor is adapt at guiding novice to advance participants alike.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the beginning of April, two adults and one 4-year old. We had a ordinary room, the child slept on the sofa.

Pros:
Quiet and visually soothing atmosphere, like another world.
Large rooms and bathroom. Nice touch with the almost-outside shower.
Beautiful doors, garden, details, pool, art...
Welcoming and service minded staff, helped us with everything from finding our daughters pet pony to arrange boat trip to Lembongan. Thank you!
We had a late flight out, and they let us stay by the pool and even use the shower facilities in the spa.
Nice extra with the goodnight story and the chocolate.
No extra charge for child, not even for breakfast, but then we only asked for a sheet to the sofa and fixed the rest ourselves.

Cons:
The beach-facilities. The hotel's beach area was difficult to find and as we were told by one of the staff there would be towels we were very disappointed when we found a small patch with some scruffy sun beds. No towels and the umbrellas were even destroyed. We walked quite a while to find a beach where we could rent beds and towels.
The pool gets very warm, since it's only 1,10 m deep (can also be on the pro-list, I guess)
The rooms get quite humid, but that seems to be the standard in many hotels in Bali.
Mosquitoes, which also isn't the hotel's fault, but they get inside the room fairly easy because of the open bathroom.
The food was OK, but quite pricey for the quality.

Room Tip: Our room, Baris, was nice. Not noisy, but still central. We also had wifi-access in our room, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilde K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear HildeKj,

Thank you for your thorough review of our hotel. We’re happy to have been at your service and that you enjoyed many things about our hotel.

You’ll be happy to know that we have taken steps to make our reserved beach easier to locate. An attendant is at the beach daily from 9AM to 6PM and towels are available at the beach or from reception.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Sudamala Suites & Villas and cannot rate our experience highly enough. Everything about our accomodation was first class and the room was extremely spacious with gorgeous cathedral high ceilings. The staff were all brilliant and bent over backwards to please us from the cleaners to the front desk. The pool was magnificent and the restaurant, while not offering a huge menu, is more than adequate and has something to please everyone - I also liked that the dining room was located towards the street so you could people watch while you ate. If you want to be spoilt and live the life for a few days, then the Sudamala can't be overlooked. The nightly turn down service with boutique chocolates and a bedtime story scroll are a lovely touch, as well as the luxe Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, classy decor and first rate staff all leave me wanting to come back time and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReyS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear ReyS08,

I’m glad to hear you loved and enjoyed the rooms and our other facilities at Sudamala Suites & Villas. I’ll be sure to share with the staff how much you appreciated their effort. Do return and live the life a few more days with us for as many times you like.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#1 of 78 in Sanur
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing