We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous week at Sudamala in Sanur, Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous week at Sudamala in Sanur, Bali”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week at Sudamala Suites & Villas where the staff were very attentive and helpful. Our room was excellent and the hotel pool and gardens were superb. The Sudamala also has an art gallery with incredibly high quality paintings.
The food we had was always of high quality but the only problem was that in the evening the restaurant was not used by enough guests which led to a lack of atmosphere. I think this was due to outside competition, which was much cheaper but not to the same standard. The same situation applied to the spa, which was expensive compared to the local competition. Due to the high costs I haven't rated the spa as we didn't use it but the facilities were very good. We know this to be the case as the hotel very kindly allowed us to use them on our last day, at no extra cost, as our flight was late in the evening. We also pre-booked the hotel taxi from the airport, which again was much more expensive than the local taxis.
In conclusion the Sudamala is an excellent hotel, offering a very high standard with wonderful staff, but they need to look at certain charges as these were way above the competition.
Jackie & Trevor

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear TrevorB,

Thank you very much for your kind and insightful review of Sudamala Suites & Villas. As you rightly observed we strive to provide our guests with quality service and facilities. We hope our guests appreciate and recognize this enough not compare us as competition to the surrounding establishments, but as a different choice.

Best regards,

General Manager
ARES Resto & Lounge at Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    210
    48
    9
    3
See reviews for
107
484
29
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel was lovely. The rooms were very clean & the pool area well maintained & crystal clear. The food was good, breakfast was excellent. The staff were very polite & obliging, nothing was a problem for them. Service with a smile. If I stay in Sanur again it will be my first choice.

Room Tip: Deluxe Garden Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Susan R,

I’m glad to hear yo had a lovely time in our resort. We hope to see you again in Sanur and in Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perroy, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This great hotel has everything you could wish for when traveling through Bali and Sanur. The staff is fabulous, the rooms are big, very comfortable, clean and in great balinese style.
The pool is beautiful and large, and the gardens are inspiring.
The hotel is located close to shops, local travel & excursion agents as well as a range of good restaurants and live music bars. A bit for everyone, from the simple local 'warung' to the more posh sushi bar.
One drawback: the hotel is not on the beach, which is a five minute walk away... mmmm,...almost perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear markh01,

Its great to know you enjoyed Sudamala Suites & Villas and Sanur in general. You’ll be happy to know that you can get the same great experience right by the beach in Sudamala Suites & Villas, Senggigi, Lombok.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently spent one night at the Suamala Hotel on transit to Semarang.
Nice hotel, relatively close to airport.
In fairness, I didn't really spend enough time to give this a complete rating, but for what I needed it was OK.
It was off the beaten track, that is, down a few winding alley ways.
I would return for business, though not sure I would come to this area here with family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Jorgo,

Thank you for staying in Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur during your recent business trip to Bali and for actually taking time from your busy schedule to write a review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend you look at our resort in Senggigi Lombok as an option to stay with your family.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I can't fault this lovely hotel and it's amazing staff. We have one more night here and we will be very sad to leave!
We stayed with our toddler in a deluxe suite with a very comfortable (though maybe a tad short for us tall people!) king size bed.
Our room was gorgeous and large with a massive shower and great balcony facing the gardens.
The staff are incredible and went out of their way so much for us, including presenting us with a cake for our anniversary, to bringing our dessert to our room because our little one needed to go to bed, to playing with our little one! They are amazing.
The pool is lovely and huge and a fabulous place to lounge. Yes, the beach isn't right there, but it's not a far walk and some exercise isn't going to hurt you!
We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Sanur.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BecM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Bec M,

It’s good to know our staff took good care of you. It was great to have you stay in our resort and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Sudamala Suites & Villas on your next anniversary or sooner, maybe.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Spent three nights at the Sudamala and was very impressed. Our ground floor room was lovely with a unique open-air bathroom/shower. The grounds are enhanced by art works and the breakfast rolls/pastry were delicious and tasted fresh baked. Some of the strongest coffee I've ever been served, so after the first breakfast we switched to cappucinos, which were scrumptious. We had a dinner there as well, and all the food was artistically presented and yummy. Less than 10 minute walk to the beach, which was clean and had plenty of available chaise lounges. The water was very shallow and full of sea grass, but at 85+ degrees it was a refreshing pleasure after a hot day of touring. Only went in the pool once to rinse off the salt water as it was too sun-warmed for swimming, but did lie for a while on the surrounding chaises. All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Don't take a room facing the parking area/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MW424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear MW424,

Thank you for you review of Sudamala Suites & Villas. We’re happy to know you loved our rooms and enjoyed the food in our Ares restaurant. I’ll be sure to pass on your compliments to our kitchen crew. I’m sure they’ll appreciate it very much.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very quite clean hotel with nice gardens artwork displays at the southern end of Sanur. Large well appointed room with very comfortable king bed. Small garden with day bed and very large bathroom. The pool area was relatively small so if the hotel was really busy it might get a bit crowded. Great coffee - breakfast options are limited as others have stated but we found this okay for the few days we were there. Complimentary yoga twice a week and use of bikes for 2 hrs was great. We didn't have dinner at the restaurant as there are many cheaper options offering more choice nearby and we got a taxi to the local night market one night where we had some excellent food. Friendly helpful staff. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmcint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear wrncint,

Thank you for your review and comments of our resort. We will certainly take them into acount in our efforts to improve our services. If you enjoyed the tranquility of Sudamala Suites & Villas, you will definitely enjoy our resort in Lombok. We look forward to welcoming you back in Sudamala Suites & Villas - either in Sanur, Bali or Senggigi, Lombok.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.6 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#8 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing