We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms, great location, but misses the 5 star edge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
East Victoria Park, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, great location, but misses the 5 star edge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a great hotel with beautiful rooms in a fantastic location, super close to the beach and shops. However, the quality of the food in the restaurant changes every day (for room service) and the customer service from the staff is also not predictable - sometimes they are very helpful and friendly, other times they are not very professional. Overall, it's a great hotel, but I would only stay here when it is discounted as it misses the consistency in quality that a 5 star hotel provides. I would avoid the spa as you can get a great massage down the road for about $8 and the quality at this hotel is not very high. One of my favourite things about this hotel though is the nightly turn down service with the little story they put on your bed, with some chocolates and also a list of the next day's activities. This was a pleasant surprise each evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Madeleine235,

We are happy to have you stay at Sudamala Suites & Villas and pointing out what we’ve been doing well and where we need to concentrate our efforts to further improve our service. Rest assured that we will look into each of your comments to see what we need to do.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    203
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
103
465
28
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Sudamala is nice, clean, quiet and beautiful but they really need to work on their service. Our lunch on the first day literally took an hour before the food arrived, breakfast on Christmas morning took two hours and lunch by the pool truly took another two hours. The staff is sweet and nice but the hotel's service is not up to the price of the rooms.
Please know that this hotel is not on the beach which was fine for us but it is a good 10 minute walk to the ocean.
Our bathroom was open air which was also fine for us as we live in Bali but other guests may want to ask for a sealed room.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor facing the pool which was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear zympo,

Thank you for staying in Sudamala Suites & Villas and for your review. We will certainly take your comments into account regarding the time it took for your food to arrive in our continuous effort to improve our service. I’ve taken the matter up with the F&B and kitchen staff and expect immediate improvements from them. Again, thank you for your valuable input. We hope to have stay in our resort again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here with our 15-month-old and had a great experience. Spacious and clean rooms, lovely art throughout the property, delicious breakfasts, very helpful staff members, and a really nice pool area. We did ask to be moved from our downstairs room with open-air bathroom (not as scary as it sounds - it has a stone wall around it!) to an upstairs room since we were having some mosquito issues, and that was perfect. We loved our upstairs room facing the pool and I highly recommend one of those.

To the manager reading these reviews, please thank your restaurant staff for us - they were so lovely about playing with our very active toddler so we could actually eat our breakfast (!), and also to your chef - we ordered room service and ate in the cafe a few times and really enjoyed the food. The fruit salad with vanilla and coconut sorbet, mmmm....

Room Tip: Upstairs room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank st1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear st1023,

Thank you for kind review of Sudamala Suites & Villas. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed the facilities, artwork and service, particularly in our Ares Restaurant - I will certainly convey your thanks and compliments to the service and kitchen staff. We will certainly address your concerns regarding insects to guard our guest's comfort.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was a lovely hotel. Pick up service from the airport was good and quick. The room was lovely and very big. The swimmingpool was like paradise. The location was perfect if you do'nt mind walking a few minutes to the beach (start of the sanur beach walk). A lot of nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. If you like to have access to the beach don't choose this hotel as I thought the beach (in walking distance) wasn't nice but this is compensated by the swimmingpool. Breakfast was nice and the staff was very friendly! A relaxing begin of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TutithvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear TutihvS,
Thank you for your kind review of Sudamala Suites & Villas. It’s great to know you liked our facilities and service and that we were able to provide you with with a great start to your holiday.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

A wonderfully relaxing break in a superb environment that blends local bali with modern luxury. Quiet pool area, small restaurant, with lovely friendly staff. Enjoyed the view of local chaos in the street outside - always something going on - whilst sat in ultra relaxing bar!
Only downside was the beach area which we didn't use, a 5 minute walk away.
We will definitely go back!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ahmerryweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Ahmerrywe,
It’s good to know you found the well deserved break you were looking for. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We all look forward to your return on your next break to watch the world go by at Sudamala Suites & Villas.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here several nights with our toddler. The staff and service were outstanding. We made several requests of the staff, and they were always helpful. The room was nice, but the only issue was with mosquitoes, probably because of open air bathroom, so be sure to apply repellant. The location is at the end of the main street with restaurants and shops and was about a 10 minute walk to the beach, but we were aware of that. The beach has a nice long paved walkway which passes lots of hotels and restaurants. The actual beach/water in Sanur is not all that nice. Hotel breakfast was excellent. Pool area nice as well.

Overall, excellent hotel. Somewhat on the smaller side compared to other large resorts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbud57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear travelbud57,
I’m very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Sudamala Suites & Villas and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you for your comments. We will certainly step up our efforts to control insects from bugging our guests.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

A beautifully presented and clean hotel. The rooms are very spacious and extremely well looked after.

The bathroom is lovely complete with an indoor outdoor shower. The amenities ( complimentary) have obviously had a lot of thought put into them as they were
spot on.
Although the hotel is situated on a corner of a semi busy road - I was pleased to find the traffic couldn't be heard from my room.

I booked a little garden room which had a lovely courtyard . Great for my baby to play in.

My only little negative was the attitude of the first person at check in. She seemed a bit annoyed - like I was interrupting her - however straight away another lady stepped in and was fantastic

The restaurant staff were lovely as with all places of business - some better than others however on the whole very good. Breakfast was nice and there is a lot to choose from.
Unfortunately I had already booked a villa elsewhere in Sanur for the first week we were here and although it was the same price, it was no where near up to this standard. I have also booked another hotel ( that we had previously stayed in) while still on Australia or we would be staying here for another two weeks.

Great job for a relatively new hotel
Simply can't be beaten for price and quality .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Lisa R,

Your wonderful review of Sudamala Suites & Villas is much appreciated. It’s great to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for commenting where we need to improve in order to maintain the quality of our service. We hope to welcome you for an extended stay soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.6 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#5 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing