We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice boutique hotel but with 2 small catches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Ranked #7 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel but with 2 small catches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located quite nicely right at one end of the big tourist track.
We (my wife, our 10-year old daughter and I) stayed there for 4 nights in a Deluxe Garden Suite.
Pros:
- Big and spacious room
- Very clean and well equipped (big flat screen TV, all toilet amenities, real king-sized bed, instant hot water)
- Good, well-sized clean pool (approx 22 m long)
- Small veranda with good privacy
- Open bathroom incl toilet (though some people seem not to like it because of mosquitoes)
- As the hotel is quite small (boutique) it never felt crowded (pool and breakfast/restaurant)
- A la carte breakfast

Neutral:
- They call for steep prices everywhere (spa, drinks, food, travel)
- Friendliness of staff varies often in between very friendly and polite disinterest

Cons:
- Lobby is very small and can only serve one client at a time
- They appeared not be well organized on billing issues (due to early ckeckout we paid the night before and got the last night handwritten added to bill which next morning caused trouble)
- On arrival we got charged an extra 60(!) USD per night for our daughters bed. Even that we bargained them down to 45 USD we were very disappointed as we weren't told when we booked the room
- Not helpful on travel information as they seem to protect their own associated, over-priced drivers etc.

Resume:
A great hotel for relaxing without the typical international 5* chain-hotel woes. But quality of service seems to vary a bit too much for 5*. If you need/want to go to Sanur (which itself is quite a greedy ripoff place) this hotel is a good choice.
OT: I strongly recommend to skip places like Sanur, Kuta, Nusa Dua and the like copmletely as they became overpriced tourist traps over the years (well, Nusa Dua always was). But this is a different story.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Falko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Falko T,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur!

Thank you very much for your feedback from your recent stay with us in Sanur.

We do appreciate the constructive comments and we look forward to enhance some of the points that you had kindly wrote in your report.

Thank you for recommending our resort for those who would like to spend their vacation in Sanur.

We do hope all is well and we sincerely wish you a pleasant day!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    203
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
103
465
28
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We spent the first 2 nights of our Honeymoontrip here and it was perfect! Near the beach but quiet aswell. Nice pool, great room (612 is the best room here!) Good breakfast. And very nice staff. Too bad we already have to move on!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olivier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Olivier K,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur!

We would like to congratulate you again for your recent honeymoon trip to Bali and at Sudamala Sanur!

We do hope our resort will add to your enjoyment during this very important trip of yours.

Wishing you both all the very best and do let us know next time should you would like to stay with us longer.

Have a nice and wonderful day!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 9 days in Sudamala hotel, and not regrets at all, nice, relax, beautiful and peaceful place to stay with couple or family. Save for money food and services. The people who work there are the best!! Definitely I recommend this hotel to stay, it has a good location near restaurants and shops, but also is easy to catch a taxi or driver and visit other places around Bali.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Soraya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Soraya A,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur!

We are very happy to hear that your stay at Sudamala Sanur was a relaxing one.

We hope you will be fully refresh after your Sanur vacation and ready for your day to day activity.

Thank you so much for recommending our premises to your associates and friends. We do appreciate this support respectively.

The resort is indeed strategically located in Sanur which is very efficient when you would like to explore the island from this point.

We hope all is well and we look forward to welcome you back again at Sudamala Sanur in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Pola, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A complex which has been opened just 3 years the Sudamala suites & villas is a boutique style hotel with around 35 rooms based on a high standards of design and furnishings and excellent service. The rooms are large indeed with very comfortable beds and a real spacy feel indeed. There is a swimming pool, Spa and organised activites. Breakfast is a la carte and also of a high standard. Although the hotel is not on the beach it is towards one end of Sanur and less than 5 mins away (it also has its own beach club.) The hotels restaurant is of a high standard as well to have a lovely evening meal on the terrace but also around the hotel there is a great choice of local and international cuisine. If looking for something a little special, not a large complex with high standards of service this complex would be perfect for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ian L,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur!

Thank you very much for your kind feedback and for the good attention toward our resort.

We hope your stayed with us was a fabulous one and we wish it could add to the productivity of your business trip lately.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our products as well as our other facilities as you have briefly mentioned.

We look forward to have you staying with us again in the not to distant future on either business or vacation.

I hope all is well and thank you very much for your support!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this beautiful hotel for a week in June 2014 and loved it. Great location close to beach, restaurants and shops. Hotel itself was immaculate, excellent service, comfy beds, delicious breakfast, lovely pool. V chilled place. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PlanetKym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear PlanetKym,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur!

Thank you very much for your good comments about Sudamala Sanur.

We do hope your recent stay in June was a pleasant one and we do appreciate your feeback.

The resort is indeed immaculate and the associates here are looking forward to provide our best possible services toward all of our important guests.

Lovely to hear that you highly recommend our property, and thank you so much for that.

Wishing you a great week ahead!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night before catching a boat to Lembongan.

Nice hotel, good breakfast, great service. Location was ok but not amazing. Beautiful gardens and common areas.

No free airport transfer like other major hotels. Would stay again if in the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudamala R, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Angus S,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur!

Thank you for your comments and it is great to hear that you did enjoyed our facilities and services.

The spacious and artistic Suites of Sudamala is certainly a distinctive product in Sanur that offer our guests not only an accommodation but also a Balinese and Indonesian experience.

Thank you for planning to come back and to stay with us once again,all of our Sudamala team is looking forward to provide our best possible services during your stay.

Have a great weekend and all the very best.

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed for 6 nights at the end of a month traveling around China & Australia & picked the hotel to relax & unwind before heading home.

We were picked up from the airport in a nice air conditioned car, by a very safe driver (rare in Bali- everyone seems to drive so crazy!) who offered us a cold towel & bottles of water.

Upon arrival at the hotel the receptionist & driver were amazing at getting us checked in quickly & within minutes we were in our amazing room which was spotlessly clean & had been decorated with flowers, towel art swans & a cake for our anniversary.

The bathroom was huge with an amazing shower & again spotlessly clean. Each night the housekeeping come around for the turn down service & replace towels, turn down the bed & leave a bedtime story & treat on the bed for you which is a lovely touch. In all the hotels I have stayed in all over the world, this was a first.

The pool area was my favourite part of the hotel and we enjoyed time there each day. There are plenty of loungers & there was only a few others enjoying the pool each day while we were there. The pool attendants were lovely, very friendly & professional & always happy to help.

As part of our package we had a couples massage at the spa which was unreal! An hour full body massage followed by a bath with rose petals, ginger tea & biscuits outside. Very relaxing. I also had a pedicure & a facial which were both lovely & amazing value for money.

The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring Bali. It is at the quiet end of the Main Street in Sanur but we loved this and there were plenty of amazing local restaurants, warungs and bars literally steps away! The restaurant on the opposite corner, Beach Breeze is amazing if you fancy trying something outside of the hotel restaurant (which is also gorgeous!)

Breakfast at the hotel is lovely. There is an al a carte menu with plenty of options to choose from, including healthy options (the healthy granola is delicious), local options and also the western & American breakfasts. The waiters bring over a plate of fresh fruit while you decide what you would like & there are a selection of fruit juices & lots of coffees & teas to choose from.

We dined in the restaurant one night and again, the food was amazing, the atmosphere was fantastic and the band playing were really good.

Although everything about the hotel is perfect, the greatest asset has to be the staff. Absolutely everyone from managers, receptionists, drivers, waiters & gardeners were all such lovely people. Always smiling & having a laugh with the guests, this really stood out for me. Nothing is to much trouble & we loved sitting in the bar chatting to the waiters at night before heading out.

We had the perfect experience & I would HIGHLY recommend the hotel to anyone looking to holiday in Bali. It is an absolute gem! I never go back to the same place twice & I am already looking at flights for next year!

See you soon Sudamala!

Jane & Craig

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneD1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d_mayka, General Manager at Sudamala Suites & Villas, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear JaneD1701,

Warmest greetings from Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur!

We do hope this message finds you well and thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review about Sudamala Suites & Villas Sanur!

We really happy to read your comments over your Sudamala experience line by line and this will be shared certainly among our colleagues and associates here.

You are correct that our greatest assets is our people and I hope our team here will always be able to “make the day” for all of our important guests.

Thank you for recommending this hidden gem in the peaceful corner of Sanur, and we are all looking forward to have you staying with us again next year!

Best regards,

General Manager
Sudamala Suites & Villas
Jalan Sudamala No. 20, Sanur, Bali 80227 Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.6 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudamala Suites & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudamala Suites & Villas

Property: Sudamala Suites & Villas
Address: Jl. Sudamala no. 20, Sanur, Denpasar 80227, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sanur
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#5 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#6 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sudamala Suites & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the calm and relaxed environment of Sanur where centuries of Balinese art and cultural history have been nurtured, Sudamala Suites & Villas, Sanur offers you the perfect home for your Bali getaway. Like the environment that surrounds us, we have taken great care to preserve the artistic and traditional values of Bali into the design of our resort. So we invite you to stay in one of our spaciously elegant and cosy rooms and immerse yourself in our cultural soul or "Taksu" as it is known locally to experience our dedication in friendly local hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sudamala Suites & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudamala Suites & Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing