We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aquarius Beach Hotel Sanur
Nearby Hotels
Sudamala Suites & Villas(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Segara Village Hotel(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Santrian(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Griya Santrian(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prama Sanur Beach Bali(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kejora Suites(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Sanur(Sanur)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pavilions Bali(Sanur)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$516
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$510
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
72
70
15
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
70
15
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunder coverrelaxation areaupstairs roomtwo bottles of waterexcellent poolair consmall hotelswimming poolcomfortable bedpiece of paradisebreakfast is servedrestaurants and shoppingcleaned every dayexcellent stayrooms are cleangreat holidaytucked away
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This a clean and tidy hotel in a great location. Close to the beach for a great sunset walk and late dinner / large Bintang. Not incredibly modern but everything was in great condition. Staff were friendly and organised. Would return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soconnellnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel 18 days. We choose this hotel because of the price (we had a good price offered by the travel agency that included flight to Bali) and the location close to the beach. And because of the positive reviews of TA.

*Pros
- location (only 1 minute to the beach and the main street)
- swimmingpool (approximately 12mx7m). the pool is surrounded by sunloungers (the cushions are a little dirty so use the big towels)
- room and bathroom are spacious
- bed and pillow are comfortable
- staff is helpful
- we could use the bikes for free for trips to the supermarket (check the tires because most of them are flat)
- tv has HBO channel and Fox Movies

Cons
- the room is cleaned everyday but it was never cleaned very good (stains on the handbasin, dirty bedsheets not always changed)
- when we arrived there was dried BLOOD on the matras of our bed (you could see it through the bedsheets). We asked at the reception if they could change the mattrass. They said that the would do it, but they never did. We had to flip over the top of the mattrass ourselves. VERY UNHYGIENIC
- too much light in the room with the blinds (they are only for privacy, after sunrise they are of no use for darkness in the room)
- too much space between the blinds (there is space of a few centimeters with the glass sliding door, so mosquitoes can enter the room because the blinds don't block the space; some of the space gives a view of the head of the bed, thus no privacy)
- the cleaning staff will start around 9am, so no late sleeping
- the (gardening) staff already start at 7am and they make a lot of noise (with the containers, talking loud, laughing). They woke me up every morning VERY CUSTOMER UNFRIENDLY
- they don't offer breakfast. We had to walk to Luthu's (nice place at the beach, 1-2 minute walk), but sometimes we didn't feel wanting to go out (e.g. rain shower), and then it would be nice if you could eat at the hotel
- sometime noice from the road
- there is snooker table close to the swimming pool. During the day the staff use the snooker table and they are making a lot of noise (loud laughing), so then you can't have a relaxing time at the swimming pool

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the road, more towards the swimming pool. I emailed them about this 2 days before we arrived, but they never responded. When we arrived late in the evening we got a room across the reception (thus only 2 rooms away from the road, although hotel was not fully booked at all), but we were too tired to ask for a room change)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelholic80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have travelled to Bali for over 30 years (on & off) Sanur mainly and staying in the older Balinese style Hotels which we loved. Times have changed and so it was time to test out one of the new hotels. We liked the Aquarius mainly for 2 reasons 1) The excellent and friendly staff. 2) The complimentary makan pagi (breakfast) at Luhtu's coffee shop - just a short walk away (good excercise before breakfast). Makan pagi so good that we left our hotel in Ubud just to get back to Sanur for a good breakfast. We must admit to agreeing with the comments from previous guests 1) First time We've ever come across vertical blinds in a hotel.. Heavy "Batik" style curtains would compliment the amazing art work in the rooms. I like a "security" blanket rather than just a sheet but have now read that it is possible to "ask for one"

Room Tip: 5 & 7 have been recommended but we have also stayed in 9 as well as 5. Both good.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I originally posted this review on October 20, 2013 which I wrote during the middle of our stay. I gave Aquarius 4 out of 5 and titled my review “4.5 Stars - Ticks Nearly All the Boxes”. I removed it to add an update at the bottom of the review.

Original review: We stayed at Aquarius for 8 days though we booked for 9 nights to allow for early morning check in and a late evening departure. We booked direct via email and had really good service. Based on other travellers’ reviews we asked for an upstairs room away from the street and requested a blanket plus we advised we were arriving around 1:00am. It wasn't a problem, everything was arranged as requested.

Our room (#3) was large and light with a very comfortable bed, TV, fridge, kettle, wardrobe (with a safe) coffee table and chairs. The room is air conditioned and has a ceiling fan - we found we needed both on day and night (it was around 33 degrees Centigrade each day). The bathroom and shower recess were spacious; there was a cupboard under the sink and 4 hooks on the wall plus 2 towel rails. The balcony has a table and two chairs and a towel rail. The balcony faces west so was in the direct sun for much of the day and was too hot for us to use apart from the early morning and evening.

As mentioned by others, the hotel has only 16 rooms so it is quite peaceful. It seemed to have just couples as guests while we were staying. The swimming pool is a good size with plenty of sun lounges. There is a kitchen near the pool that guests can use and fridge/freezer (this was originally planned for the guests breakfast cafe but then they switched to using Lutu's). The beach, and Lutu's, is about 250 metres and the main street about 300 metres in the other direction so it's in a good location for nearly everything you need. Plus the White Sands bar is directly opposite.

Small areas for improvement:
1. the vertical blinds are terrible - they let in too much light, they twist around leaving large gaps, you can easily get caught up in them trying to get through the doorway
2. the bathroom towels are kid sized not adult sized
3. water pressure in the shower was variable (generally good but then sometimes quite low and the water just stopped one time)

All in all Aquarius is good value, well appointed, conveniently located and quiet. I'd stay here again but in a room with more shade (5 or 7 upstairs or a downstairs room).

Update: on our last day at the Aquarius I spoke to the of Aquarius about the issues with the vertical blinds and asked whether they would replace them. I got a very condescending reply along the lines that Australians don’t know how to properly use vertical blinds (which is a load of rubbish). I mentioned that many people had commented adversely on TripAdvisor about the amount of light the blinds allow into the rooms but there was absolutely no interest in listening to the feedback or addressing the issue. If the staff, location and other amenities weren’t so good I’d refuse to stay again. However, we’ve booked to come back to Bali (Sanur) in May 2014 and we are now tossing up between Aquarius and the Sayang Sanur Terrace House.

Room Tip: Rooms 5 or 7 upstairs or a downstairs room tend to get more shade from the afternoon sun which makes in nicer to sit on your balcony/terrace
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TonesterWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just got back from 12nights at Aquarius our first time at this lovely hotel.We will definitely return as we found it ticked all the boxes for us.I cannot fault anything.The only suggestion I would make is please provide a light blanket in the rooms . The staff are lovely and very helpful.we can't wait to stay again .We stayed in a top floor room which was very large and light which we found really nice.the balcony was a good place to enjoy a cold drink in the evening,before wandering the50mtres down to the beach for dinner by the beach .luhtus is very good and is the same owners as the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews