We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abian Srama Hotel and Spa
Ranked #75 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Reviewed 22 July 2014

GOOD:

The staff are friendly, there is round the clock security, and the Indonesian decorations and statues with ponds etc make it seem really comfortable and authentic.

BAD:

The breakfast is average at best.
The hotel is in an area with nothing else really near it apart from a few takeaway places.
It is dark and gloomy.

TERRIBLE:

The room seemed clean at first, then we found a few bugs on the bed, the bathroom was decrepit , with holes all over the place.

The room (especially the bathroom) stunk of some kind of harsh chemical, perhaps being used to treat mould.

OVERALL:

This would be a decent place to stay if it had some money spent on it, but in the meantime I would steer clear until it is refurbished.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Angus863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is large and past its best. The ground level rooms are very dark, but are renovated and have glass windows. We were put upstairs on corridor C which had plenty of natural light provided the wooden shutters were left open, There was no glass in the window so the smoke from the heavy smokers on both sides blew into our room often (we asked for a non-smoking room). The rooms on this corridor are narrow and are arranged in pairs with no privacy screen between the rooms, so noise travels easily. The air con barely worked, but the staff provided a very efficient fan immediately we requested one. The water ran very hot eventually, and clean towels were issued every day. The bathroom was old and water stained, and the bathroom mirror hadn't been cleaned between guests.. The pool is shaded most of the day so is a very refreshing temperature, but could be made much more attractive with potted plants.
The staff were very friendly, but couldn't really give us much info as their English was very limited. The location is excellent for the beach and the night markets, make sure you use the back gate as a short cut. Turn left out of the gate, go to the end of the road, then turn right , cross the busy road and keep going for 5 minutes and you are at the beach.
We are in our 60's, stayed for a week, it suited our budget, and we would stay here again as an airport hotel. Don't expect a pretty Balinese gem, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed at this motel for 3 nights in April. It is showing it's age and certainly does not fall in to the luxury category. But it it is well priced, clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. A bit away from the action, but that is it's appeal and no more than a 10 minute stroll to the beach. And a really good breakfast in the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Keeping in mind the cost of staying here, which was low, this hotel was passable and served our purpose as an overnighter. I wouldn't make this place our long stay hotel though.

Our first room wasn't that great, musty, aircon didn't work, room smelt, and had a shabby bathroom. The redeeming factor of this hotel was the staff who were friendly and were able to swap us out of there in the middle of the night.

Location is about 10 mins walk from the beach.

Room Tip: Room 2A aircon turned on but wasn't putting out any cold air whatsoever. We were able to move ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redbanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I want to give a huge thumbs up to Abian Spa in Sanur. It’s part of a very small hotel that goes by the same name. My wife and I had done some research here on spas with Tripadvisor, but had problems locating the recommended venues. Our hotel, Griya Santrian, in Sanur, recommended it, but I was a little reluctant thinking they might be motivated by a commission. Bottom line, we had a couples massage, same room, 90 minutes, Swedish style, that was most exceptional. Private room with shower, quite quiet, and best of all, highly competent massage therapists. I’ve had many massages in Asia, and this experience ranks right up there in the top 10. Total cost was 360,000 rupia per person for 90 minutes, or about $30 each. They will pick you up and take you home afterwards…no extra charge. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usatraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Was the most cost benefit hotel I have stayed in Bali. Although sanur not a city to be a tourist sightseeing (heavy traffic), the hotel is well equipped, with air conditioning, dvd, tv and a bed and A good breakfast! Nicely surprised with this hotel. Enjoyed.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Its just behind sanur night market, so we walked about 5mins to eat really good cheap local food. The mee bakso to die for! K mart just a stone throw away, and joe’s diving just opposite.

Rooms were little rundown, don’t expect too much though, and beds abit hard too. A lot a lot of mozzies, which I tink cant help it.

They have a pool but just don’t feel like using it if you get what I mean. Overall, the location is GOOD!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
1.2 mi away
Agung & Sue Watering Hole II
1.6 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#56 of 79 in Sanur
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Mango Hotel
Puri Mango Hotel
#69 of 79 in Sanur
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sukun Bali Cottages
Sukun Bali Cottages
#60 of 79 in Sanur
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
Hotel Jati & Home Stay
#39 of 79 in Sanur
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sanur Indah
Hotel Sanur Indah
#78 of 143 in Denpasar
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abian Srama Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abian Srama Hotel and Spa

Address: Sindhu Jln. Ngurah Rai 23, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £11 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abian Srama Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Abian Srama Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abian Srama Hotel And Spa Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing