We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice on the beach”
Review of The Griya Sanur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Griya Sanur
Ranked #66 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good choice on the beach”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked a Garden WIng room for four nights to get away from it all for our wedding anniversary.
The hotel location is excellent and very handy to restaurants, shops, the beach and other hotels. On arrival we were immediately upgraded to a room above the pool and right by the beach. And very nice it was too, spacious, good cleaning standards, nice aircon, good facilities and so on.
The gardens and pool were very well kept and the staff was efficient at all times.
We only ate there once - a breakfast which to be honest wasn't all that flash and the coffee was pretty institutional.
I would definitely go back and stay there again so top marks to the management.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201, an upstairs balcony room - very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardingontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    41
    31
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
46
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at the Griya Sanur for four nights in February 2014.
We had a great start with the welcome drink and our free 10 minute massage :-)
The room was pretty, big enough and always clean. The bathroom was really nice, modern and offered everything we needed including big fluffy towels, shampoo, shower gel, soap, hair dryer, ...
The breakfast was included and really good as well: Tea, coffee, two fruit juices, fresh fruit, toast, pancakes, fried rice or noodles, omelette and more. The hotel restaurant was pretty and offered cheap meals thst we really enjoyed. (We had dinner there two times.)
The pool was amazing, we liked it and had a swim at least once a day.
The staff was very polite, friendly and helpful and gave us advice. They even helped us a lot booking tours and drivers. Wi-Fi was available but you have to login every time you start to use it. That might be annoying sometimes. There were two desktop computers available close to the lobby, that was good.
The location is next to the main street but you don't really hear any loud noises. It's a 10-15 minute walk to Sanur centre and the beach. Not the best location but okay because everything else was great! I'll come back!

Room Tip: Choose one with pool access/ground floor - it's the best thing to open the door and walk two met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine-Mueller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coolum beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our arrival here was rather a shock to the system. The hotel is located on the extremely busy bypass road and not at all near to the beach - its clean and has a Balinese feel to it. Inside the hotel the road noise is reduced. The rooms are modern and clean - baths in those upstairs. No shower curtains so water does splash. Although some report the rooms to be small we had a queen size bed which allowed room for luggage and we found the space adequate. We did have to be moved to different rooms twice and ended up being put downstairs near to the pool due to a constant, intrusive and extremely annoying squealing sound in the pipes through the ceiling. It was driving us crazy. Hopefully this will be corrected for future guests - otherwise avoid the upstairs rooms particularly 226 - 232. Just check your room first. Breakfasts were fine - a selection of fruits, rice and noodle dish, eggs cooked to order, bacon, toast, croissants, juices, tea and coffee. Every day the same choices, but we were fine with that. We hired a motor bike to get around to the beach and shops and to explore. However we quickly learned that the Police are into harassing foreigners on motorbikes, especially near McDonalds corner and traffic lights. Despite wearing helmuts, carrying an international license and rego papers for the bike, fabricated offences were given to us and we were told to pay up a bribe or go to court. It was intimidating and off putting. Just be warned, be aware, be cautious and drive like the locals.
We discovered a laneway (look for PEARL sign on opposite side of the Griya Sanur Hotel walking south for about 100 -150mts) take the laneway and go through the twists and turns. It will take you out to the main street in Sanur where you will find all the restaurants and shops. There are excellent choices for eating out and very very good prices. We ate somewhere different every night. Hardy's supermarket is tucked away along the street and is great for stocking up supplies of snacks, drinks and fruit. We found the beach entrance in the street down from Mcdonalds. There is a market there as well and the long stretch of beach is really lovely. There is a reef break further out so its a calm and protected water front. Lots of restaurants and bars - a bike path and walkway. We loved to park ourselves down the fartherest end in front of the Hyatt under this enormous shady tree. No hawkers, just peace and tranquility. There are plenty of activities such as diving and day trips for the adventurous. Overall, if Griya Sanur Hotel had been closer to the beach and away from the Bypass road we would happily stay again. The pool is very attractive and all rooms overlook it. There are only 6 lounges, but hanging at the hotel all day is not for everyone. In total...loved the staff, but would not return. It was a package deal at a great price which was a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank juliet757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I wanted a quiet hotel to relax for the week, the Griya Sanur is certainly that. We choose a ground floor room as it has access directly onto the pool deck. Pool is nice but only has 6 lounges on the deck. Rooms are quite small with very little cupboard space. Shower is large with a nice rainshower head. There is really nothing within walking distance, but taxis to the restaurant district will set you back $2.50. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms lead right out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradtez1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

hi my friend and i just returned fro 16 nights at the griya sanur, the staff were very friendly, but some things let the hotel down, like no shower curtain fitted on the bath so water always wet the floor, the pool was small but very warm water, so you couldnt have a dip to cool off, even tho bio said it was walking distance to centre of sanur , was way to far to walk, had to get a taxi every time, must admit taxi was very cheap, but i usually enjoy walking to find somewhere to eat and check out shops , but in our area there wasnt any, room was a little small with no room for a chair inside ,but 2 on balcony, it was my 5th trip to bali , and must say ,the hotel was my choice based on tripadvisor bio,would be a nice place for someone happy to stay around a small hotel, i wouldnt go back there again ..thanks..john.

Room Tip: we picked a room upstairs, as ground floor rooms are right on the pool and some nights people were r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandsoftime711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Appreciate the kindness and help the hotel staff give to us.

I bought deal package for my family and spend only 2 days, but we made a right decision to choose The Griya Sanur. the package is a really good deal, the hotal is very quiet, a little far from beach but have shuttle bus to bring us to the beach. Staff there gave us home-like service. We enjoyed the every moment we stay and really appreciate the help, service and tips that given to accommodate our stay.

Hope to come again to Bali and meet the nice people there.

Room Tip: feel free to drop email to staff there, they will answer every question you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan11201311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly staff even though they speak minimal english. It's a 20 min walk to the beach but they do have shuttles running twice a day. There are no restaurants near by so you have to walk a little way each night or eat at the hotel restaurant which is average. The package includes free breakfast buffet which has limited choice and is the same everyday aside from minor changes.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa-cheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.7 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#52 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puri Mango Hotel
Puri Mango Hotel
#58 of 76 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#24 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sukun Bali Cottages
Sukun Bali Cottages
#63 of 76 in Sanur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taman Bali
Taman Bali
#19 of 136 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griya Sanur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griya Sanur

Property: The Griya Sanur
Address: Jalan Bay Pass Ngurah Rai Sanur No.402, Sanur, Denpasar 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Griya Sanur 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Griya Sanur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griya Sanur Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing