We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not up to the mark”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed here for a week with my wife while I attended a training at the same hotel. They say it's for "business and pleasure" but I cant see that it fit for any.
Pros:
- Pretty good breakfast buffet
- Good cleaning
Cons:
- The room was damp
- You get free internet only for two devices per room, my wife and I had two each... For adding another device, they wanted 50 000++ IDR per day! And it hardly worked either, went up and down all the time.
- Very low pressure in the shower and did not get really hot even once during the whole stay
- Restaurant, bar and spa really overpriced considering what you get. Much better alternatives elsewhere in Sanur.
- Everything happening at the pool echoed all over the place. And for some reason they had put up a volleyball net over the pool so that about four people could play while five or ten times as many guests got disturbed.
- The iron we borrowed was useless

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review on the TripAdvisor website. Unfortunately we only offer free WIFI for up to 2 devices, I have not heard of any other property offering 4 devices free of charge, I have just come back from a recent trip in Australia and I was charged $25 per day for one device. $5.00 per day for the third device is very reasonable. We regularly compare our pricing structure with other hotel restaurants and we are very competitively priced. We are sorry for the noise created by the volleyball game and we thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    358
    128
    30
    8
See reviews for
181
270
40
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having stayed at Sanur Paradise Plaza twice before, once in 2004 and again in 2010 I thought it would be wise to stick to familiar ground on my third visit to Bali. The hotel is beautifully laid out with an incredible lobby area as you arrive and welcoming Balinese gardens throughout the property. However, on my third visit i realised that either the management had changed or the hotel had started to deteriorate in terms of standards. Some of the facilities had not been renovated since my first visit (sauna/jacuzzi) and the massage at the spa was good but not amazing, considering the price. The most disappointing aspect was the food, which was very average and uninspiring with a hefty price tag to match. This hotel is a wonderfully relaxing place perfect for a family getaway or a quiet alternative for couples who aren't into the hype of Kuta. Just stay away from spending any money within the hotel as its a bit of a 'rip-off'.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are standard and Premier rooms are nicer in terms of decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your 4/5 review on the TripAdvisor website. You would have seen some significant property improvements over the years. We have recently renovated the gym and spa area, as for the sauna and Jacuzzi the condition is still very good so this has not been scheduled for renovations. We regularly do price comparisons with other surrounding hotels in the area and I am happy to report that our pricing structure is very competitive when comparing to other hotels in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back on your 4th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We flew in from Perth having just an overnight stay before getting a high-speed ferry to Lembongan the following morning. I had chosen the Paradise Plaza using Tripadvisor and Google Maps, wanting to be reasonably close to the beach where the ferries depart ... and wanting a little bit of luxury for our first night.

We weren't disappointed. Reception and check-in were fast and easy and the welcome drink was most enjoyable. Our room was poolside, at the back of the hotel (which is far bigger than it looks from the road). As it was already evening, the pool was empty so all was quiet and serene; a beautiful location. The room was clean, large and cool ... more than adequate for overnight.

Because it was getting late, we opted to eat at the poolside restaurant. It was a great choice. The evening was balmy without being too hot, and there was a cooling breeze. The wait staff were exemplary; their training is obviously thorough and professional! We lashed out on a (very) drinkable chardonnay, probably expensive by Bali standards, but still only $23AUD. My wife ordered a Mie Goreng and, inexplicably, I ordered spaghetti bolognaise (as you do in Bali!). Warm rolls and water appeared without asking; nice touch.

The food came shortly thereafter ... enough time to relax with our drink, but not so long we got twitchy! The food was very good, and I think my wife came up trumps. Fortunately (for me) the meal was too much for her so I got to play piggy and clean her plate.

We both slept well and were looking forward to our (included) breakfast but without too many high hopes, having eaten Balinese buffet breakfasts before. I'm happy to say we were so wrong! The buffet was huge! I'm talking two areas -- indoors and al fresco -- with table after table packed with fruit, salads, soups, cold meats and cheeses, bread, Asian hot food, eggs, bacon, sausages, omelettes to order ... it was amazing. I would say without doubt it was the best breakfast buffet we have had in Bali and would seriously compete with some we've had in far pricier accommodation. A big plus from us.

Checkout was quick and painless and there is plenty of seating in the foyer for people waiting pick-ups etc. It was a great start to our holiday.

Do I have a criticism? Yes, sadly. (1) The shower is an abomination; one of those handheld thingies that unreels from the head of the bath (which you have to clamber into). As soon as you let go of it, it retracts, forcing you to basically use just one hand to wash, lather etc. (2) Turn on the hot water tap, make yourself a drink, watch TV for a while, eat some potato chips ... the water should just be starting to get warm by then.

But all in all, I'd still recommend it.

Room Tip: Depends; rooms at the front are closer to the street and breakfast room; rooms at the back are away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce in West Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your extensive and thorough review on the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the services and facilities we have to offer. The most exciting part of your review is your comments about our breakfast buffet, when comparing our breakfast to other establishments in Bali, you thought our breakfast buffet was one of the best breakfasts you have ever had. Thank you so much for your kind works, we do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Bali, hopefully next time you can stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Aust
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The open Balinese style lobby and the iced tea on arrival was a delight. Despite being beside a busy road this hotel was very quiet and its own self contained oasis. It is only a few minutes walk from the beach and a 10-15 min stroll along the beach side path gives you many options for eating out. We did use the shuttle bus a few times, walked one way and then caught the bus back. The other fun option for exploring is bikes, these can be hired just along the street from the hotel for about 50c per hour. They were a great way to explore Sanur. Room service and the pool side Komodo restaurant were also great for a quiet evening or lazy lunch. Sanur is the quiet side of Bali and I hope it stays that way. Tourism does have its down side for Bali, if its your first time to Asia don't be surprised by the poverty and rubbish next to the wealth.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms would probably be at the rear of the hotel on the side of the gold course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank need2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review for the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. The poolside is a quiet oasis and we are very happy that you enjoyed the food at café Komodo as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Bali. Be sure to book directly with us for some great specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was my first time at the PP hotel I have previously stayed at the suites,both are wonderful with great staff,lovely food and great hotels.
Love the cat "Poolie" she is so cute :)
Front bar guys taught my son how to play 8 ball.
Returning to Bali in October for the 5th time in 4 years and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
OMMMMGG NEARLY FORGOT got the best massage ever at the hotel facilities are awesome great price too

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAustraliaMumof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your positive 5/5 review on the TripAdvisor website, for the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel. We are very pleased that you liked the services and facilities was have to offer, We are also very pleased that you liked the massage as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again in October…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! The food is good, the rooms are good and the staff is very friendly.

The location is good for people who love to be in a quiet place. The center of Sanur is approximate 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rvandijk1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your positive 5/5 review on the TripAdvisor website. We are very happy that you felt the hotel to be amazing and the staff to be very friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Bali. Be sure to book direct with us for some great benefits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel last year in April 2013 for a week.It was our first time in Bali and we were so happy of being there. The hotel is quite amazing, it has everything to make a stay there quite enjoyable. Since we arrived we were impressed by the great design of the open air lobby and reception, great furniture and spaces. It's a great place to stay and chat with frinds.
The rooms are large, we had a double bed with pool view and everything was very clean and tidy. We didn't have a superior room so the furniture is quite different than the one presented on hotel's internet page , is a little bit outdated but in good shape and very clean. Beside the bed we had a table and some chairs very comfy and we used it with our friends. The bathroom is clean, normal bathroom with everything you need.
I really enjoyed the buffet breakfast that seems to have european food also which is great ( I was so tired with all that noodles after a week spent in Java) and it has variety and delicious food. You can also find the specific asian food but of course ham and cheese and fruits and everything you want.We only had breakfast at the hotel so this is the only food I can mention here.
I also liked so much we had wi fi. For me this is a very important thing to a hotel. Even if the rest of the features are not the best , the wi fi can save a lot for me :)
The pool area is impressive with a beautiful garden around the entrance to the pool connecting it to the hotel, the pool is in the middle of the hotel buildings, almost every room has a view to the pool, very clean and well mantained. We only used it once since the rest of the days we were visiting the island or the beach. The hotel has a private beach ( you can get there by the free shuttle provided by the hotel or walking 15 minutes) - either way is great. With the shuttle the trip is almost the same since it has a circuit to follow. You have the sunloungers and towels on the beach and also a restaurant if you want to grab something in a hurry, the staff is very nice and polite.
Tha staff of the hotel is nice, we didn't have any problems.
The hotel also has tennis courts, our door room was facing these courts so if you feel in the mood of playing you can do it also.
As a conclusion Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel worth a visit from you and if we ever go back to Bali we will probably stay again at this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart B, General Manager at Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your 4/5 positive review for the Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel, as a senior contributor we value your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the services and facilities we have to offer. Since you last stay we us we have done some extensive landscaping around the pool and refurbished the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Bali so you can see first hand the improvements we have made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.1 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Watu Jimbar
2.1 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 78 in Sanur
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#32 of 78 in Sanur
948 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel

Property: Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
Address: Jl. Hang Tuah 46, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sanur
#8 Family Hotel in Sanur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#14 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Balinese-style Hotel situated amidst tropical gardens, 5 minutes from Beach Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing