We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our first impressions were very positive as we were greeted on arrival with a complimentary drink and an explanation of the facilities at the resort by a member of the delightful staff who were gracious throughout our stay. Our room was quite spacious in pleasant garden surrounds. The facilities around the hotel were excellent including a couple of decent sized swimming pools, a very good beachside restaurant and a very soothing complimentary massage in the spa. The bathroom however was quite basic and did not smell as if it had been cleaned thoroughly. The walls of our room were very thin and we could hear every cough and splutter of our heavy smoking neighbour, for long spells during the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayulooktonige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    724
    226
    60
    47
See reviews for
353
1,252
79
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just returned from Bali and Lombok where we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. We loved Puri Santrian. We arrived in the dark, very late at night, but when we got up and looked around the next morning, we felt like we had woken up in paradise. The grounds were immaculately groomed, the pools were gorgeous and we enjoyed our excellent complimentary breakfast overlooking the ocean (check out the banana pancakes) . We spent the first few hours just looking around and gasping. Except for one moderately grouchy receptionist at the spa, the staff was extraordinarily friendly and always there to help. And the spa was magnificent. We enjoyed walking the pathway along the beach, and peeked into a number of other hotels on the beach. We felt most comfortable at Puri Santrian. It had more of a personal, genuine feeling, and less of a corporate feel than some of the larger, adjoining hotels. We would strongly recommend Puri Santrian to anyone looking for a genuinely relaxing holiday in a truly friendly, beautiful setting.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PhiladelphiaTitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We booked Puri Santrian back in September last year and looked forward to a super 2 week honeymoon. We were not disappointed.
We had booked a Club Room. These rooms are situated around their own pool, away from the other main pools. We had requested a 4 poster bed and upper floor and got exactly that. Huge room with wardrobes, hallway, large bathroom with bath and walk in shower, sofa, large LCD TV & more.
Had previously read about problems getting a lounger but we never had a problem. Even when being later to the pool.
The leaving of towels on beds, unused, for several hours, was a bit of a pain. But other people just seemed to move those towels and use the beds anyway ...!! Serves the owners right ..!!!
Spa was gorgeous. We had 6 massages during their 'happy hours'. If you booked between 0900 and 1300, it was 241. Brilliant.
Did some yoga with Chandi, the yoga guru. Free.
Did the Ayung River white water rafting. Awesome.
Elephant ride, cycling around the paddy fields, Tanoh Lot sunset. All excellent.
Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and really couldn't do enough for us. They were always there to help.
Totally recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice, quiet and relaxing holiday with easy access to all the usual sights.
Sleeping, for us, was not brilliant. Very hot, so couldn't sleep and with air con running, it kept us awake ...!!! But thatmay be just us.
Marvellous.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool which is surrounded by lush vegetation. Just ask for an upper floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scrat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We came to Bali with very very high expectations and I guess that was our biggest mistake. We didn't like it much, though we went to some fabulous places. The best of our stay in Bali was the hotel. We picked Puri Santrian in Sanur because the beach was less crowded, nice and quiet. And of course the hotel looks fantastic and the great thing is you feel like you're inside a Hindu temple. It literally has a small Hindu temple inside (it's private, you can't get in). It also has special Balinese style rooms, large beautiful gardens and three pools. In one of the gardens, there's a wedding gazebo, that's generally used for weddings of course. And we used it for our own 'intimate wedding ceremony' to exchange vows, just the two of us. It was the most beautiful experience ever! Apart from that, the hotel is very comfortable, the main pool has a wet bar and a lot of sun chairs around. Also the hotel is on the beach and offers a lot of sun chairs and shades. The restaurant is on the beach as well, with a very nice view. The room is fantastic, everything was working fine, they give you two water bottles every day, which was great to cool down the heat. The bed and pillow were extremely comfortable. The only negative thing for us was that the breakfast was not included in the room fee, and it was very expensive for us to have breakfast there (about 15 USD each). Outside the hotel there are lots of nice restaurants and very affordable. At night there's always a live music show in some of the restaurants. The only thing you MUST NOT do is to exchange money in the local shops around the hotel, because they CHEAT, they make you count the money but then they distract you with anything else and take some money out. And we are very careful with those things, but they seem to be very very used to doing that. And also the currency has a lot of zeros (the exchange rate is around 1USD = 8500 IDR), so there are lots of bills around and they use that to confuse you more. Apart from that, it was one of the BEST HOTELS we visited in our trip to South East Asia. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vicky_Iri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I chose to stay at the Puri Santrian while in Bali for our honeymoon.
We were blown away with the Puri Santrian and could not have asked for a better place to spend our time.
The grounds are beautiful with a distinct Balinese feel. The pools are stunning and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Club Area which had a pool that only the people in this area could use - bliss.
The staff at the Puri are lovely, very polite and friendly and always showed the best service.
The restaurant is nice and serves lovely food, breakfast - dinner.
We attended the hotel cultural night which was a bit of money however it was well worth it.
The Spa is stunning and was such a pleasure to visit, hotel guests got 20% off treatments (as well as having 2 for 1 treatments at specified times) which was a nice suprise.
The great thing about the Puri Santrian is that there are also a huge array of cafes and restaurants close by on the beach as well as the street.
We will definitely visit this lovely hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This could be a really nice hotel if you had a room in the right location. We were upgraded to a suite by the pool which we had thought was great at first only to find that it was right by the owners house at the back by the pool. The owners dog was barking for hours when we checked in. The showver leaked all over the bathroom floor and the roman blinds on the windows had big gaps that you could see into the bathroom from the sides so you felt like you were on display from the pool. We then asked to be moved and they only had 1 small room left which was very plain with a balcony overlooking a nice garden, at least no barking dogs but starting at 08:30 hours of sawing from the construction next door. The pools were nice and warm and the resort very nice with the gardens. Breakfast buffet was huge and really good. As with all the Sanur beaches the tide goes out mid-afternoon so you can't swim. If you had a room in the right location this could be a good resort.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SMJCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Like most people on here when we arrived we got upgraded from a garden wing to a beach wing (although we could barely see the beach/pool). We were also given fruit, cold drinks and a cake on arrival as it was our anniversary which was a really nice touch.

This hotel is in a great location, very quiet and in safe resort. It has very good cheap restaurants and supermarkets in abundance around it which are essential as the hotel food prices are through the roof, 21% tax in Bali!

The service is really good and very attentive particularly at breakfast. Rooms are a bit basic but in keeping with Balinese themes, have good air con and plenty of storage area though. There’s no room safe but it wasn’t a problem as they have one behind reception. Also the hot water in the shower took absolutely ages to heat up which was a bit of pain.

Superb gardens etc but on the downside due to the amount of trees this reduces the spaces available for sun loungers so you know the score there!

The hotel sprays with mosquito repellent 3 times a week so no problems there.

They do an excellent Balinese banquet on Thursday evenings which if the weather is good they hold out on the lawn. A great show and loads of delicious food but a mad rush for the food (buffet) so make sure you’re near the front of the queue!

I’d also recommend the seafood restaurants on the beach at Jimbaran Bay.

Overall I’d certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we went back to Bali. There seemed to be far more ‘life and community’ than Nusa Dua (no restaurants, shops etc).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbug365_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com and Holiday Gems so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing