We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing, peaceful hotel right on beach”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Ive just returned from staying at Puri Santrian . My first trip to Bali and this hotel was perfect. Set in lovely lush gardens on the Sanur beachfront, the rooms were spacious and well appointed with large balcony . Good choice of pools to relax by , or beachfront on lounges.
The day started for me with a 1 hour yoga class at 7am on the lawns looking out to the ocean. you could do yoga for 2 hours if you felt inclined! The yoga guru was fantastic, patient and well practised, he tried to help all who participated in his class. Breakfast followed and was excellent and then the day was spent relaxing , either by the pool or sea, or if feeling energetic you could take out the bicycles or kayaks provided . The Spa services were lovely, the massages perfect and the spa centre was divine. We ventured out to the 'real world ' once , in search of a pharmacy - only a 5 minute walk away. The streetscape is still 'old bali' not flashy like Seminyak .. very quiet with market stalls and local shops and restaurants. We also enjoyed the boardwalk which runs along the beachfront, its a nice walk and you see the local fishing boats which are very colourful.
In the evening we found the bar on the beach at the hotel to be a perfect spot for a drink , followed by dinner which was perfectly acceptable featuring a range of Balinese foods as well as western meals. In all a great spot to relax and with such friendly staff we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walker_krisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,292)
There are newer reviews for Puri Santrian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,229 - 1,235 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

We only stayed for one night to be close to the hotel for the two parts of our Indonesan holiday. The hotel grounds, garden and pool areas, are pretty and well-kept and the food is was good. Rooms and service, however were very average. The bathroom wasn't exactly sparkling clean and It took several hours to get towels brought as our room had none. It was very difficult to arrange the airport transfer and we ended up arrived too early.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolaoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here for New Years Eve 2012, we booked a club room via their website and had no problems checking in on time when we arrived. We were greeted by our driver at the airport as arranged with the Santrian. Be aware traffic from the airport to Sanur, Kuta, Seminyak, Nusa Dua and Jimbaran hotels is bad. It can be a crawl the whole way. The pools are warm and nice. The beach at Sanur is not the best. If you have a problem with stray dogs Nusa Dua could be a better option as while we were having lunch strays dogs occasionally will wander past the tables. This puts me off while dining. Food and the Puri Santrian is in my opinion not that good and this is where they need to improve. We have been coming to this hotel over the last 20yrs and the food issue is always a concern. Staff are friendly and helpful. The gardens are indeed beautiful and typical Balinese. Location of the hotel is good. Lots of good restaurants close by if walking. Bemo's or taxi's are always easy to get and cheap if your legs are tired. Work out a price before you get in with the bemo driver and make sure if using taxi's that the meter is on. Always smile and barter with good humour and they will appreciate it, (they need to earn a living too.) For the ladies there are lots of beauty salons opening up and they are so cheap. Nicer to have a massage there than on the beach. We basically used this hotel as a base in Sanur for shopping, restaurants, beauty treatments ect., so really only used it for sleeping. Would I stay here again? No our time over the last 20 yrs has come to an end and it is time for us to move on. There are so many beautiful hotels to stay at in Bali. For us its the St Regis next time and I cant wait and at least I know the food is going to be top notch. Oh and if anyone would like the name of the" BEST DRIVER" in Bali it has to be Ketut Merta Mini Bus Driver and Tour Service. We have been using him for the last 24yrs. He is honest reliable and speaks excellent english. His contact details are Ketutmerta@yahoo.co.id or 081 236 271 12.

Room Tip: Club rooms for exclusive use of the Club rooms pool. Higher floors in the Beach wing if you want a s...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galavantersAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The Puri Santrian offers classic Balinese style in a peaceful setting. This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel and it continues to impress. While the rooms are in the older Balinese style with standard indoor bathrooms; the rooms are very spacious and quiet, and have tv, a mini bar fridge etc. It would be nice if the rooms were upgraded to have a large walk in shower though. A shower in the bathtub does not really do it for this type of top end accommodation. The breakfast is a sumptious feast and you simply do not need lunch if you love your breakfasts! The pools and grounds are immaculate and a pleasure. The service is excellent. And dining at The Mezzanine is a must for at least one dinner.

We still find Sanur and the Puri Santrian a more peaceful haven in the increasing frenetic-ness of tourism that has enveloped Bali.

Room Tip: We booked on Agoda this time round for a standard garden room and were upgraded to a bungalow room w...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seeknfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

a pleasure to stroll through with lighting around statues in the evenings making it magical. the room (twin) was slightly smallish but comfortable. decor in rooms could be updated. Overall, the touches such as super comfy outdoor furniture, 2 lovely designed pools and friendliness of the staff I would recomment a stay here. The food is excellent quality at breakfast- and range. Lovely low-key atmosphere as its not a big chain

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superstarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Puri Santrian almost two years ago. Stopping off in KL, staying at Traders Hotel in the hart of the city, one of the best Hotels I have been to. The Puri Santrain is a very nice hotel, with lovely gardens to walk in. The staff are always happy, and very helpful and cannot do enough for you. The rooms we stayed in are in the old style of Bali, kept very clean and tidy with towels changed every day. A nice balcony looking over the well kept gardens. The electric wiring on some things was not to western standards, but it worked. The breakfast were very good with a good choice of food. The waiting staff were great and always helpful. The pool area had one small pool very nice and a large pool on the other side of the hotel, which was always popular, the best pool is in the clubroom part, really nice, but you have to be in the clubrooms to use it (not so good) but we did on certain times. Until we were asked not-to-not use this pool, when we arrived no one told us that we could not use this pool, not good on the part of the hotel. The beach is very nice and well kept will we were there, you can walk in to the town by way of the beach with out to much hassle from people selling things, but saying that the people of Bali are really lovely. We spend two weeks in Bali and had a great time, much better to eat out, there are loads of really good restaurants in Sanur and at a good price. If you go to the Puri, get a clubroom much better. We had some really good tours in Bali, the tour guides were very good but watch out for the wood carving places some are not cheap, you can by the same thing on the beach at Sanur for a lot less. Are last day we were picked up by the reps to go to the airport (not happy bunnies) not sure why. The custom people at the airport were really great. I would go back to Bali any day, really lovely people. I would not stay at the Puri Santrian again, a bit segregated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiaikido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in the puri for 14 nights ,fantastic greeting. Upgraded to a club room. ( thank you ) the room was fantastic ,clean towels daily ,replenished soap shampoo ect daily, fresh flowers every other day nice touch ,rooms sprayed, immaculately clean and spacious ,staff was friendly and always greeting you with a smile and nice conversation. Nothing was a problem.
The grounds was just amazing ,loved the balineseness style . Plenty shade if needed .beached clean twice daily beach bed plentiful. The staff work hard all day from sweeping the leaves up to the cleaning staff. And reception excellent
We could not fault this hotel or staff.we looked around a few other hotels whilst in Bali. And would recommend this hotel. For young and old .best hotel in sanur keep up the good work you have a fantastic hotel.
Would recommend to all ages. Late bars just out side main gate if you want them.
We wil defornatley return.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank bigbum0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
513 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#2 of 78 in Sanur
409 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £82 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing