We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a food value journey in Bali, Sanur but no dream place at all!”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Triel-sur-Seine, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For a food value journey in Bali, Sanur but no dream place at all!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days in Puri Santrian Resort in Sanur, Bali. We booked a garden room with ground floor access as i'm pregnant.
When we arrived, the receptionist explained us that we enjoy a over-booking : a swimming-pool room!!! Unfortunetly this room was placed near refurbishment area, what a special gift!!! So we asked to change for a garden room : the room smelt old, was really dark and really need refurbishment, so to resume room so-so.
In the Resort : 2 swimming-pools, carefull to kitchen smell When you're chilling out next to the Small one, the second one is much bigger but no privacy, all sofas are closed to each others.
To get a sofa bed next to the beach, my advise is to wake up to Book it before 8am!!!
The breakfast buffet is really good, good range of products asian or western!
Beautiful sea viewes at night!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    761
    243
    62
    49
See reviews for
375
1,323
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Spent 13 nights in February and with other reviewers found the accommodation I originally booked in the Garden Wing well below the standard I was expecting. Paid an upgrade of US$50 per night for the Santrian Club room. I should have negotiated better as I'd already paid in advance for the American breakfast with my original booking so infact I actually paid $10 over the list price for a club room- but never mind.

The club rooms are only marginally better - better qaulity TV and bathroom but overall still below what I would expect for their star rating. The Club room had absolutely no shelving to put clothes - only 10 hangers provided which was not sufficent for a 2 week stay - the whole room lacked storage - it had the space to put adequate storage but reflects the fact these rooms need an upgrade in design and replacement fixtures and fittings. The inclusion of afternoon tea is a terrible 'perk' - it's at best a cup of lukewarm team on the beach (a long walk from the club pool area) with two miniscule pieces of cake. It should be served in the concierge area in the Club pool area then more of us would probably take advantage of at least the cup of tea. On the two occassions we went to get the afternoon tea the staff only grudingly served us. We had to wait 20 mins.

Service is ok - but a bit jobs worth. You are only given one towel to use by the pool but it is not long enough to cover the sunbed and they don't want to give you more. Those towels also desparately need to be replaced.

Breakfast - for me this was a very very definite area the hotel needs to improve on. Others commented the eggs were nice but that's about it. If you don't like eggs for breakfast your choice is limited - especially if you are european and are used to a selection of cheeses, salads and cold meats for breakfast. My key grip is the area it is served in:

1. The servings put out are so small for a hotel of that size. Every single morning I had to wait for them to have glasses available to take juice. The trays containing the 2 almost identical cheeses basically could hold portions that would at best serve 10 people so they were constantly needing to be replenished - lots of waiting around time. One of the cheeses was the processed sliced type (yuk) and you could basically have it with a few slices of tomatoe, raw onion and if you were really luckly a few shreds of lettuce. I can honestly say there was no variety to the breakfast - same old thing every single day.

2. Seating area for breakfast - too small for the hotel of that size. They have a seating area upstairs but this was closed during my stay. So the option was a small selection of indoor or outdoor tables. Having been forced to use one of the outdoor tables once (alternative was a 20 min wait for an indoor table) I refused to repeat the experience any other day. The tables are on the beach but it is a long walk from where the food was located so you had to make multiple trips, there were too many flies, trying to eat was uncomfortable (chair too low, table too high), very hard to get anyones attention for tea/coffee. In the indoor section there was lots of tables for 4 but they need more tables of 2.

3. Having to fill in that stupid form every morning to say you were having breakfast! WHY!!!

On a positive note:
The free WiFI was excellent.
I also liked they have a PC available for guest use in the reception area - it proved handy.
The club pool area is lovely - quiet and relaxing.
Hotel is in a good location - a short walk from the main street
The spa gave a good service and the special offers were a good price (although you can get very good treatments at a fraction of the price one of the many spas on the main street).
The grounds are simply beautiful, the gardeners to a fantastic job of keeping it looking lovely. It was a pleasure to walk in the grounds each day.
Mezzanine Restaurant served good quality food although service let it down (we got our vegtables about 15 mins after they served the main course meat!)

Do try their sister restuarant The Village at the Griya Santrian - fabulous italian food.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Good:
- Clean Rooms, Clean Pool, Clean Spa, Clean Dining areas.
- Pretty Good English.
- Great Service. Room service is very quick.
- Free upgrade (we ended up in a gorgeous Santrian Club Room).
- BEAUTIFUL gardens and other features.
- Club pool was quiet (no kids or hooligans!) and exclusive to Club members which meant at any given time i was either the only one in the pool or maybe one other stranger.
- Breakfast has great variety. And an "egg station" where you can have eggs cooked/ made exactly how you like them. I had egg omelets almost every day cooked perfectly with whatever i chose inside! Love that.
- Spa experience is gorgeous!

Disapointing:
- Could hear what people were doing in the room beside us.
- Internet drops in and out a lot, is slow. We lost internet completely for 2 days. Very disappointing and very inconvenient.
- Club room balconies are not exactly private. I was looking straight at another balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. If you end up in the Santian Club rooms and want privacy, choose a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed at this Sanur beach-side hotel for 9 nights in February 2013. We were impressed with the beautiful hotel grounds with nice Balinese statues, decent beach access (need more sun loungers in the shade) and three swimming pools. The rooms could definitely do with some updating, though. We had booked a beach-view room, but were unhappy with the condition of the bathroom. In the end, we were upgraded to a Santrian Club room, which was still quite basic, but the bathroom was of better quality. The Santrian Club wing also has its own pool (no kids).

The resort was perhaps a bit large for our liking, but all in all, we enjoyed our stay. Plenty of options to choose from at the breakfast buffet. The free outdoor yoga classes (twice a day) were a nice suprise - what a great way to start your day. Staff were incredibly friendly and service-oriented.

Room Tip: Opt for the Santrian Club rooms - better quality rooms and a quiet, no-kids pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Beautiful grounds, beach access, 3 swimming pools (1 only accessible for Santrian Club guests). Free yoga class in the morning. Breakfast buffet, with seating area inside, or outside with view of the beach/sea. Got free upgrade to Santrian Club (booked beach with through booking.com). Room was spacious, but a little stuffy smell. It is a large resort, so there were lots of people (for us a bit too busy, but if you like a large beach resort this place is nice). Direct access to the footpath/bike path. Hotel has bikes to rent, but if it is busy make sure you reserve the bikes the day before.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Humuhumu_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed 5 nights with our family in Hotel Puri Santrian, Sanur last January, it was a very good hotel & staff were very friendly, the room was big but basic, the swimming pools were good & clean, there was a large variety of food to choose from in the restaurants. We attended The Balinese Night, it was a very good show & the food was excellent.

More lighting needed for walking in the hotel compound.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jentze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The location, staff and experience was more than expected, exceptional. We were treated to good food, happy welcoming staff, clean amenities and care in all things related to service.
We enjoyed the Club room, pool and breakfast included which provided us with a holiday to recharge and relax without any worries about safety etc. Our room was wonderful the room was clean and well maintained at all times, towels changed twice a day!. Special mention to Ika who made sure each day was greeted with smile and was very helpful with any request. The staff made the holiday memorable. The cooking class with Agung is a must ensure you take the market option also. Ade. Adi and Erlina ensured every service was efficient and delightful. For a special birthday the staff made the day wonderful with many happy wishes and amazing dinner on the beach. Every staff member greeted us with a smile and warm welcome each and every time our paths crossed from the cleaner, gardener, chef and service staff. We will return!

Room Tip: Would choose club rooms and level 3 away from the general pool and visitor traffic. Quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissy204051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing