We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and Friendly Resort”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Friendly Resort”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

There's very little I can say about this resort that is not positive. We were upgraded to a junior suite upon our arrival; the room had a huge balcony and overlooked the main pool and even had a view of the sea.

Some of the administration/service is a bit off, to wit:

*We asked the night staff for a late checkout (with extra payment) for our last day and were told that it was not possible. The next morning we asked the day staff and were told that it wasn't a problem.

*We had to settle our bill every time that our account reached $300 - which at a resort takes only a few days. We weren't aware of this policy when we made the booking or when we checked in. We did complain about having to do so. Evidently the hotel has had problems with people's ability to pay. It seems that it can find a better way to deal with this problem rather than penalize everyone.

*When we did check out, we settled the bill entirely, including the payment by credit card, and then were told, "OK, now you need to pay for the late checkout." We were pressed for time and evidently didn't note its absence on our bill. That's partly our fault - but we still think that it should have been included, especially when we requested it a full day before. (Luckily we had enough rupiah left to pay by cash.)

*Sometimes it was hard to find someone to take a food or drink order.

*The wifi on the resort was a bit inconsistent.

However, I would not let these issues stop anyone from booking a holiday at this resort, as there are so many good things about it. The grounds are extensive and beautiful and well kept. The rooms are comfortable and clean and are well air conditioned. And the staff are very friendly and gracious. Wayan and his colleagues at the breakfast grill make your eggs and omlettes to order (and Wayan makes the best banana pancakes I've ever eaten - I will dream of them ;) ). Ika and Ade and colleagues in the breakfast room were incredibly friendly and personable. We would also like to thank Ketut and colleagues at the main pool bar for telling us about Bali and its people and culture.

The resort is located at the southern end of Sanur, so if you want a holiday that tends to the quieter side, it's a good place to be - just keep in mind that you will need to walk a ways or take a taxi to get to the main part of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twoexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    750
    238
    61
    47
See reviews for
370
1,308
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Great location and absolutely beautiful gardens for this resort hotel. We stayed 10 days in early March and were upgraded to a club room, which is similar to a private hotel within the resort grounds. As others have said the rooms are a little dated but very clean and excellent air conditioning. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and they all greet you with a smile. The only slight negative was the breakfast which was good but a bit unimaginative, plus at times you had to wait for a table. Considering the hotel wasn't full it would be a bit annoying in high season. Plenty of sun beds and loungers. Wifi coverage good all around the resort, including the beach and free. Good location with good access to restaurants, bars and shops nearby.

Room Tip: We always ask for the top floor as don't like this clip clop of shoes overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The resort itself is within some lovely grounds, the pools and facilities are quite nice. The rooms are clean and tidy. The food and drink really turned this stay into a disappointment. Prices suggested that this hotel was aiming for 5star guests and really wasn't very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

After reading reviews for days on tripadvisor, we picked this hotel. And thank God we did! It's picture perfect... After arriving all we could say: we wish heaven would be something like this. Exceptional service, very nice and clean rooms. Have a couple treatment at the spa! Best 200 dollars ever spent! One of the few exceptions where the real thing looks even better than on the brochure...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr Janos J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here from the 4th - 11th March 2013 in a club room. Welcome was lovely, and the hotel is really green and lush with a number of swimming pools and beach front access. Rooms are a little dated now, but the reality is we went with this hotel as we wanted something with more of a balinese feel than some of the hotels you get in Seminyak / etc. A/C worked fine, the only gripe we had was that they had a problem with the water on our second day which meant we couldn't flush the toilet, use the sink, or the bath. Other than that though the hotel was lovely. The pools are all of a nice size, and there were plenty of loungers etc. Weather for the first day or two was pretty horrible, lots of rain, but that's what you get when you travel in monsoon season. For the rest of the stay the weather was lovely and really worked out well. Rai the concierge there was excellent and helped us arrange a few trips out with a driver etc. They also have a few activities to keep you entertained, like a balinese buffet on a Thursday with traditional balinese dancing etc. as well as the sea-walker which is basically an underwater excursion to meet the fish out on the reef.

Food is good quality and tasty, although the menus can be a little limiting, but that's OK given surrounding restaurants. Breakfast also fine, good variety of things on offer on the buffet.

Beach is also good, although if I'm honest if you walk further down it can get a bit dirty with floating rubbish, how the balinese haven't sorted this with heavy fines etc. I don't know. Water is shallow but warm, due to a reef a bit further out. Typical indonesian water though, green and with a bit of seaweed so if you're looking for crystal blue water then suggest this might not be the place for you. Plenty of loungers and some lovely big sofa style areas to chill out on. The sunset out over the beach from the bar is definitely worth seeing.

The spa is also lovely, and if you can get in early doors the two-for-one deal is really good value for money at $45 for an 1.5 couples massage. Sanur itself is great for food, but if you're really looking for lively nightlife then you'll probably want to do Seminyak.

Overall, really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This is my 4th stay at the puri santrian. I was only 15 when I stayed with my family. I have Stayed at a number of places from 5 star at Nusa dua to villas at seminyak.

The Puri santrian is a time capsule.
This place truly reflects Bali, beautiful location, well kept gardens and friendly staff. Now 32 years old, I brought my family, a boy only 6 months old. The stay has been enjoyable as ever.

If you want a true bali experience stay at the Puri santrian!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Condo853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed in Puri Santrian in mid February this year, took two adjoining rooms. The welcome when you arrive makes you feel very special - they bang a gong to announce guests arrival (which my daughter just loved!) and serve you with a lovely, ice cold drink and cold towels which really refresh you. The lobby is dim and calming, and your check in is done very efficiently.

We had rooms on the ground floor, a bit of a walk from the reception, but it was through beautiful greenery so it's a pleasant walk. The rooms were a little musty - I think that's because there's a balcony outside the room, so the sun never really shines into them - this makes them cool, but probably is the cause of the 'mustiness'. The rooms were average sized, but were fitted out nicely; the furnishings seemed a little old though. There was a fruit basket awaiting us in both rooms, which was a nice touch, especially the local fruits.

We had some problems with one of the rooms, which was the only thing marring the stay. The first night, my mother in law found that the faucet in the bathroom couldn't be turned to shower mode, water only could come out of the tap - as she had already undressed and was in the shower, she made do with bathing herself out of a glass which was in the bathroom - not very satisfactory after a long hot day.

Then she realized that the air con unit in her room could not be adjusted with the remote.
We called housekeeping to report on this, and someone came very soon. He fiddled around with the tap and remote, went off and came back with someone else, and they both fiddled around again, and this went on for a while. They finally left around 1am, saying that they would be back - but by that time we were so sleepy, we called and told them to come back the next day.

The next morning, someone else came and tried to fix the faucet, and managed to partly solve it, it could be used with a lot of effort.

In the meantime, the air con chaps came and decided that it wasn't a problem with the remote, but with the sensor - and it was Sunday, so they couldn't get the part required that day.
So there we were, in hot weather, with an air con remote that could only function if you stood right in front of the unit and aimed the remote at a particular spot!

This air con problem went on the entire time we were there, until the day before we left - what we were not too happy about was that everytime we called, or someone came, they seemed to have no idea what had happened before this, and we had to explain all over again. Also, no one from the management called to explain to us.

Finally we went to see the duty manager, and she was most apologetic. She explained that she had been following up on the matter from the beginning, and was so sorry it hadn't been settled. She asked if we would like to change rooms, which we declined as we were already leaving the next day. So she offered us free massages in their spa, which we accepted, and which were very nice indeed.

The staff throughout this episode were very friendly and helpful; unfortunately the problem was beyond them to solve!

Puri Santrian's best feature is their staff - they were all so welcoming and friendly, everytime you passed one of them, they had this nice smile and friendly greeting. The staff in the breakfast restaurant especially were great - within a day or two, they recognized guests and stopped to chat with you as you enjoyed your food.

The breakfast spread is not huge, but more than adequate. There were only one or two local dishes, most of the items were more western, probably catering to their typical clientele.

The pools are nice, and the best part were the loungers - so comfortable to loll around on them - but beware, they're snapped up really fast, so you might not get a chance to use one! There are also a couple of floating pavillions on the sea close to shore, these were also interesting.

The spa is as beautiful as you would expect - very soothing and peaceful, and they serve you a delicious ginger tea when you are done. The rooms have roofless shower stalls, which take a little getting used to! I had a traditional lulur scrub and my skin felt so soft after that!

It was a good stay, made more so by the friendly staff. I think the management needs to get the rooms refurbished and upgraded, so that they match the quality of the grounds and staff.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms probably all a little musty as they are shaded by the balcony; upstairs rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickykksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,219 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Travelbag, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing