We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puri Santrian was fantastic”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have stayed in Bali many times and this hotel was definitely the best so far. The room was clean and spacious, the grounds were immaculate, the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast and dinners were amazing and best of all was the location.... To sit virtually on the beach to eat was fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend the Puri Santrian and we will most definitely stay there next time we go to Bali.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just got back from two-week's vacation at lovely Puri Santrian. Beautiful, jungly gardens, Balinese statues, and frangipani blooms literally falling from the trees every day. For the most part, staff was very helpful and friendly. My friend and I stayed in a Club room - they had no issues giving us separate beds on the second floor, as we requested. Room was large with a balcony overlooking the private Club pools.

Spa was also very nice. Staff there were very good about taking instruction about how soft or hard you want your massage. Don't bother with the pedicure, however. Mine was amateurish, probably would have had better luck at a salon off the premises. I didn't bother getting a manicure after that. I had several of the different types of massages and scrubs, as well as the "reflexology" foot massage. They have a big menu of offerings, don't be shy about asking for details on each thing. Also, every day before 1:00pm is "Happy Hours" - if you make an appointment before 1pm, it's buy one-get one of equal or lesser value free, so plan on all your treatments being in the morning! If you are alone, they will give you the free one on another day of your choice. (I don't know if this is an all year deal, or just in low season, so ask before you book)

Breakfast buffet and Afternoon Tea are included with the Club rooms. Breakfast was OK, omelettes made to order, waffles with maple syrup, a variety of fresh tropical fruit, pastries, some cereal, juices, etc. The Afternoon Tea was a little disappointing: just a tray with four bite size morsels of different things every day - two savory and two sweet, with your choice of coffee or tea.

We also did the Balinese cooking class with the resort Chef. If you do this, make sure to reserve in advance - limit is 10 people. They do it Wednesday and Friday. And make sure to sign up for the short market tour in the morning. Chef takes you to Sanur market and you get a little lecture about spices and whatnot. Very informative. Gives you a leg up when the cooking class starts and you already know what he's talking about from the morning. You prepare 6 things and then eat together with your classmates. You get a little certificate with your photo on it and a copy of the apron you use during the class. Chef is a very friendly guy and love talking about food!

Thursday night Balinese Dance performance dinner buffet was meh. They only have three dancers, so I was a little disappointed. Be warned that they will call someone from the audience to participate in the last dance. We knew this was going to happen, so we bugged out early, lol.

My main complaint with this place is the annoying wifi. There is a wifi router in the Lobby and one in the area of the Club rooms. Our room was not 40 feet from the Club router and we OFTEN lost our connection. Also, you have to keep logging on - very annoying, to say the least. I know, #firstworldproblems, right? 10 years ago me is saying, "Shut up and put your stupid ipad away! You're in fraakin' Bali, for Pete's sake!"

If I'm ever lucky enough to return to Bali, I will stay here. If you go, tell them the pink-haired girl says, "Hello!"

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After reading the reviews I was really expecting solid 4*.
The Club room we got was outdated and not with much charm... The white net around bed was gray and had holes in it. Must say, I enjoyed the spacious bathroom/dressing room nevertheless.
Wireless was very weak and slow - not much use of it...
Breakfast was fine... however nothing additional for Club guests (attention - coffee bland and cappucino not included!)
Pools were ok, especially the Club pool was nice.
We really enjoyed SPA and wish had opted for that one more instead of trying external options.
Main complaint - paperthin walls. Did not have much sleep during the nights... and staff could not help us with anything.

Overall - a solid 3* hotel. Value for money? Not really.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor Club rooms - noisy and no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed for 5 days and wanted to stay longer. The Club room was huge and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and cheap so ate at the hotel for all meals. The pools were fantastic, massages were awesome. Plenty of shopping close by. Just loved it! Looking forward to our next visit, won't stay anywhere else. Thankyou Puri Santrian for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 204Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We would highly recommend the Puri Santrian. The grounds and rooms are kept immaculately clean and the staff are extremely friendly. There are ample places to relax by the three pools or the beach. Great food and water activities are within a few hundred meters. Breakfast has all the usual options and an egg and waffle station. The complimentary yoga is a great workout. We will definitely be back. Unbeatable value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for a week with two kids ( 3 and 5) late November so it was very quiet. Staff were so lovely very helpful and friendly. Kids loved all the pools and access to beach was right out the front also. Lots of nice eateries along the front strip. Very relaxing g part of Bali much better than Kuta which is hectic and busy. Would definitely go back. Shared a room with my kids but as there was an alfresco area out front I could sit out front (garden villa) and watch the resort whilst they slept. Great buffet and room service and food. Loved it ( and am a harsh judge of resorts) . No kids club but they were happy swimming and playing and no kids club means not many other kids but enough for them to play with.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for three nights in the Club rooms - well worth it if you're travelling without children as the main pool areas looked very busy even early in the morning. The club pool was lovely and quiet, exactly as advertised.
It's a great resort with everything you want to relax and Sanur is a beautiful place. Make sure you head out and enjoy some of the local fare, rather than just stay in the resort the whole time. One recommendation is "Breeze Warung" - about 100 metre walk to the left of the hotel as you head out the driveway.
The other places we stayed in Bali we had a huge living area plus the bedroom - and our room here was just really a room - which was fine because we didn't spend much time in it.
I did have a bath and the water ended up with all the rusted metal from the tap fittings which was a bit gross and we had a shower curtain which needed replacing, which is why I didn't give it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeenieTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#27 of 79 in Sanur
2,376 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#15 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £85 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing