We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach holiday”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #18 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

After Some days in a boutique resort in Ubud, you allways are in a different atmosphere having arrived in a Beach hotel.
It misses the Spa and spoil factor and it seems more crowdy.
With that in mind de Santrian really tries to give you the upmost feeling of luxury. Friendly staff, great food at the Beach, option for breakfast buffet or a la carte and beautifull pools. Upgrade to Club is worthwhile for tranquility seekers with a childfree surrounding. Restaurant Mezzanine is one of the best in Sanur. But : hotelrooms and buildings really need an upgrade.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank newwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Puri santrian was a lovely hotel. The location was the best part the service not too great. Very lovely private beach but not many things around the place so would recommend this hotel for those who want to relax on the beach as not much of a Party place!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bharti2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights in Puri Santrian and really enjoyed the place and the surroundings. The private beach was cleaned every day although most people preffered to stick to the swimming pools. As it was low season the place was not crowded and all guests had their space. We were upgraded to the santrian club room, which was nice. The rooms are a bit dark and tired but actually we did not stay in too much. Sanur was a good choice as we could get out of the resort and enjoy the restaurants ans bars nearby. Also it was a perfect place to get out of Sanur and visit other spots in Bali. We really enjoyed the breakfasts by the beach with a great selection of fruit although the coffee could be better - it's Bali, right? The only I would suggest to the management is daily replacement of toilettries - we had to ask for them every time we ran out. They did provide 2 complimentary bottles of water every day, though. Generally the staff were very polite and attentive.
We'd also recommend the Mezzanie restaurant with very good steaks (a bit pricey though). We tried a few coctails from the beach bar but they were dissapointing: not good though expensive. Generally good value for money.

Room Tip: Beach wing rooms do not overlook the beach - they are a bit closer to the beach but still on the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent the week over Christmas at Puri Santrian and there was much to praise - the location and beachfront are terrific. Now that the Bali Hyatt is closed for refurbishment, it's definitely the best place to stay in Sanur. The swimming pools (with elephant and turtle spouting fountains) are great, the gardens beautiful and the breakfast buffet was excellent. However, we were a little disappointed.

Firstly, the Club rooms aren't really worth the extra money - they are large but the bathrooms and the decor are tired and they are at the back of the hotel, furthest from the beach. And the cleaner was useless - my husband killed a cockroach in the dressing room on day two which was still there at the end of the week!

Secondly, there were some niggles - as others have mentioned, the wifi is rubbish. Downloading is an impossibility and the connection drops the whole time. Also, getting enough coffee at breakfast was a mission - just trying to flag down a waiter and get coffee and hot milk simultaneously seemed an issue. And, in a hotel of this size and calibre, it seemed odd that there was no fitness room/gym - when the weather was bad (most of the week) there was nothing to do.

But the thing that really ruined the trip for us was the preparation for New Year's Eve! We arrived on December 20th and in the morning of the 21st they started to build the marquee right next to the restaurant and the main pool. This meant that all day, every day - including Christmas Day - whether we were eating breakfast on the beachfront or lying by the main pool there were workmen walking to and fro, carrying materials, shouting to one another, hammers banging, scaffolding going up and down etc. It was the opposite of relaxing. Add to this the daily efforts of the staff to sell us seats at the event and you can imagine . . . I am sure that the final event was fantastic (we moved hotels on December 27th) but was the preparation for one evening really worth ruining the experience of all your guests over Christmas?

Room Tip: Club rooms not worth the supplement - they are the furthest from the beach and don't seem any be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our twelve days at Puri were wonderfully comfortable and relaxing. Our ground floor Club room was perfect for quick and easy pool access, the bed was excellent, the shower great (love those shower head dials) and everything was clean, cool and calming. Puri has an excellent location at the peaceful end of Sanur, stretching between absolute beachfront and busy shopping street, so convenient. Loved our breakfasts overlooking the ocean and main pools, enjoyed our afternoon teas on days we weren't out and about, and had very good evening meals at the beachfront restaurant on nights we were in. Room service was quick and efficient on nights we couldn't even stagger to the restaurant! Really appreciated the twice daily bath towel replacements, flowers, fresh fruit and bottled water. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 185 looked the best choice in the club area – very private, ground floor, directly opposite ste...
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank west0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Spent a beautiful couple of weeks at Puri Santrian and just loved it. It is one of the older hotels on the beach at Sanur, a little tired but I wanted a local hotel that wasn't huge and had a local feel. Plus it was one of the most reasonably priced for a beach side location during the peak season. Breakfasts were good and the Beach Café offered excellent food for a reasonable price. It is on the southern end of the beach and I walked for miles daily in the morning before the heat, enjoying the early morning light and observing the local community preparing for their day. I met a brilliant driver who I employed every second day to take me on outings to Uluwatu, Kuta, Seminyak, Ubud etc. I've been to Bali many times before but what a difference it made having a driver fluent in English who could add so much to my adventures by discussing everything from local politics to spirituality. He bases himself at the entrance to the hotel on the street and his name is Komang. I highly recommend his reliability, driving skills and honesty. I visited the museum at the northern end of Sanur (approximately a twenty minute bike ride along the beachfront), where the Belgian artist Le Mayeur (Bali's answer to Gauguin) lived and painted. Worth a visit. Sanur appeared to attract a slightly older crowd which suited me just fine. It was the rainy season but the weather was mainly fine but very hot. I will definitely return to Puri Santrian. It is family owned and I felt very much part of that family while I was there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have stayed in Bali many times and this hotel was definitely the best so far. The room was clean and spacious, the grounds were immaculate, the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast and dinners were amazing and best of all was the location.... To sit virtually on the beach to eat was fantastic. I would not hesitate to recommend the Puri Santrian and we will most definitely stay there next time we go to Bali.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
529 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#15 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £80 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing