We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our third stay at this property. Prices have crept up but the Club section still represents value, with adequate, clean room, included full breakfast, dedicated pools and peace & quiet. Never had a problem getting a sun lounge, either at the Club pools or on the beach. Staff always friendly and helpful. Food good and, if a little expensive, there are many cheap options within a short stroll. Will we stay again? Most likely.

Room Tip: Club room (for couples)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGi11icuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    724
    226
    60
    47
See reviews for
353
1,252
79
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Its a nice large hotel complex with lush green gardens and lovely pools..

We chose Sanur because its so much more relaxed compared to the commercial kuta/seminyak or expensive like Nusa dua. The majority of the crowd here is European and Australian.

The hotel has a very good access to the beach and wonderful loungers to relax all day.

We stayed at the santrian club. It had a nice private pool and is open only to couples and not children, which was nice and quite. (May not be worth the price difference though)

The room was basic. Comfortable bed. Nothing much to write about.

The American breakfast spread was good. The rest of the menu at their other restaurants was good but slightly expensive (as expected of a 4 star property)

There are a lot of yummy and reasonably priced options to eat out and explore the local cuisine right outside the hotel and ahead on both the sides of the pedestrian pathway on the beach.

You can hire a bike right outside the hotel and explore Kuta, Seminyak, Jibran bay and other areas at ease. Nusa dua and Ulluwatu are a good 45-60 mins ride though.

All in all, Its a nice large yet peaceful hotel with a great beach front, delightful options to dine out in close proximity and assortment of room variants to choose from. Its priced slightly on the higher side though!

Room Tip: Santrian Club is good choice if you want absolute peace( As they don't allow 'families with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prathyusha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I really enjoyed this property overall. It was very lush and green, with beautiful ornate Balinese details on and around all the structures, including statues, a floating gazebo/temple in a coy pond, beautifully carved doors. The grounds are very well maintained and I thought the two pools were gorgeous. There were plenty of lounge chairs and lounge beds of different sizes, both in shade and sun, by the pool and the beach, which the property sits directly on.

My room was simple and dated, but totally adequate. I had a balcony on the third / top floor with a lovely view of the pool and beach (no elevator, which was fine for me). The bed could have been more comfortable, as it was a little hard, but was fine (and I am pretty sensitive). I appreciated the fresh fruit and flowers.

The food at the beachside restaurant was surprisingly excellent, if pricey compared to "local" places (as a New Yorker it's hard for food to impress me). The breakfast buffet was your standard full American fare, with omelet and waffle staton. The Balinese dancing Thurs night was neat, I especially enjoyed the local musicians/instruments. I didn't pay for the super expensive buffet dinner, just ordered a la carte and watched from inside the restaurant, which worked great.

I was disappointed that there was no gym in site, but they do have yoga 2x a day (free) and bikes (nominal charge). I checked out the yoga.... I was not impressed. The instructor was impressive but not very welcoming or accommodating for people of different ages / levels. The spa looked nice but was pretty expensive compared to other places; instead I used the local women who have a gazebo at the end of the pool. Much more affordable and felt I was helping with the local economy.

The service overall was excellent, always very friendly and helpful. they arranged a diving trip and taxis no problem (you ask for blue bird taxi, which is the cheaper metered one). I went diving at Lembongnan island - a place I dove in 2008. I was really taken aback to see how the coral had mostly lost all it's colors, rich yellows and purples were now brown. Still alive and lots of fish, just not the same stunning colors. I snorkeled directly in front of the hotel after low tide (high tide too turbid). Not a full reef, but still interesting sea life. Would be great for kids as the water is shallow and calm for at least several hundred meters.

Overall though, I was a little disappointed by the quality of the beach. Every stretch is developed and the sand is gritty yellow. It is calm though, so perhaps better children. If you follow the beach path to the right, all way to the end, there's a locals beach where you can see the sunset. I enjoyed that. But, for the best sunset, head across the island to Seminyak. There is an amazing lounge called Ku De Ta that is well worth the trip. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citymusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We are on the 7th night of a 10 night stay and we are very happy with the hotel. It's in a quiet part of Sanur, close enough to walk to town but for 5,000rp (50c) to 10,000rp ($1au) in a blue taxi why would you lol. We initially didn't book breakfast as part of our package but got it for $12us/person through the front reception. There is plenty to eat & heaps of juices, tea or coffee. I'm a Ceoliac so have to eat gluten free food, and the hotel has the BEST fresh made bread & croissants & pancakes I have eaten. The hotel reception are great, always friendly and understand English. We were upgraded from garden view to beach view on arrival. We are on the 3rd floor but it's very quiet & we are set back from beach & pool. Hotel patrons seem to be mostly European non English speaking. It's a quiet hotel not many kids, mostly retired couples which suits us cos we like the peace & quiet. Most mornings we go to breakfast & by the time we return our room is clean & the bed is made, it is so nice to come back to a clean room ! Air Conditioning in our room works great and it good to get out of the heat. The bathrooms could use some attention, shower sprays all over the place and can go hot and cold slightly but not too bad. Room is very comfortable, huge bed, flat screen tv with 30 odd channels, even an Aussie channel. Also free WiFi so you can email pics back home. Staff in the whole hotel are so friendly and extremely polite. There are 2 pools to choose from, the largest with swim up bar and the other smaller but also quieter & 2.2m deep. We were given a 30min massage each as part of honeymoon package. It was a bit disappointing really & if we had of paid for it I would have been very disappointed. Eating here is great and yes there is a 21% tax on all food and drinks. They have lounge chairs by the beach, pools and even 2 floating pontoons with sun lounges in the surf. There is free yoga classes, which we didn't use, bikes for hire at 30,000rp each which I don't recommend. They are all old run down girls bikes that do not feel safe at all. Security to the hotel is good although I'm sure it's to keep us westerners feel safe. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, there are ponds & trees everywhere with fish and squirrels in abundance. While we don't intend on coming back to Bali after this trip, if we did I would be happy to stay here again. I feel safe, the location is great & it's very peaceful here. You can spend your days by the pool and relax and venture out to the streets for dinning and shopping at night when it's cooler.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were three couples and one child who stayed here in three different rooms, two couples in the club rooms and one couple in the beach wing. All of us had booked garden and beach wing rooms but we were upgraded for free because we booked through the hotel. My friend who had a small child was not upgraded because the Club is reserved ONLY for couples and not for couples with children.

The club rooms were decent, I have a few suggestions/complaints for them though:

1. Have a shower curtain in front of the bath tub when someone bathes in the tub the water tends to come outside the bathroom

2. Improve toiletries, the soap smelt like a second grade make, there was no dental kit.

3. In one of the club rooms # 384 the toilet lock was broken, nobody fixed it for the length of our stay which was 6 days

4. They gave us pool card passes, and it said on all of them that if you loose then then you will have to pay $25, why would you want your guests to take care of your passes on their holiday?

5. breakfast was pathetic, worst I have had in South East Asia, the omelette chef acts like the King of Bali(he wears a cook hat and can'y prepare a decent omelette), he was being rude to everyone perhaps he was over whelmed by the work.

there are minimum and inedible options compared to the price that we paid. Otherwise the staff is good.

Good Stuff :

1. The hotel property is nice

2. Beach beds are as good as seen on hotel website

3. Room Service food is very good

4. Santur as a location is quite and peaceful, don't stay in Kuta(too much noise)

5. Staff is helpful and keeps smiling

6. We were given a gift on check out

7. Club room beds are really comfy, slept like a baby :)

8. Fast check in and check out, no delay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have stayed at The Puri Santrian six times, our last stay was January 2014. We won't be staying again.

We also had issues with the sun loungers our four complaints were not acknowledged. What is the point of signage stating there is to be no reserving of sun lounges if this is not adhered to by the pool attendants .

The club rooms are tired and there is a strong smell from the drains.

its a shame money is spent on the stunning grounds and not the rooms.

There are now better hotels in close vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We paid top dollar for Club room and unfortunately very disappointed.
Rooms are very old and have not seen a refurbishment in years.
We were allocated a ground floor room which seemed a good spot at first being close to the pool however we had evening and morning rats pass us each day.
The sun lounges were also an issue as most guests reserved them at the crack of dawn and did not return until whenever and staff did nothing to remove towels that had been there for hours on end even though there was signage stating there was no reserving of sun lounges.
Service was very slow and not up to scratch on the prices this resort charges.
We checked out early and got a five star hotel alot cheaper with excellent service.
My suggestion to you all is that this is not The Hyatt which has closed for renovation.There are a lot more lovely resorts at a fraction of the price that deliver very good guest service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank TLM-Terrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Holiday Gems so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing