We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This is my third visit after 5 years andfeel I have to write this today after receiving excellant service today.

I forgot that there was a cookery demo and arrived late with no booking! I was welcomed as a viewer and was allowed to taste the dishes. The chef even gave me his fish dish and sate to eat at the end!

The chef mr agung dharma wijaya is exceptional. He teaches very well, explaining each ingredient and each step carefully. You each have your own stove and follow hia instructions. The setting is idyllic too, right on the beach!

The staff at the beach club restaurant are so kind, gentle and helpful it is always a pleasure to eat there. The service is first class and always a welcoming smile and help whwnever you need it.

The beach is beautiful and perfectly clean as are the pools and gardens. The beach staff are so friendly and cant do enough for you. We always have a nice joke and chat! It makes for a perfect holiday. I love this hotel and am glad to see it has only improved.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlottecustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    760
    243
    62
    49
See reviews for
375
1,322
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Very big hotel which made it a little impersonal. Breakfast was good though (big buffet and good service) and the room was nice and clean. A lot of stairs though, didn't see an elevator...
Pool area got a little clouded because of the vegetation, hard to find a spot which provided sun during the whole day. And they did some pest-control 3-4 times a week were they sprayed the whole hotel area in the morning (can't be good health wise..).

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This should be a five but is getting a 3 because of issues with management rather than structure.
Problems:
1. management had booked in 'entertainment' which was a loud DJ on one day and a loud band on another day. This 'entertainment' started in the early afternoon and the effect was of sitting on a quiet beach and then having someone come with a ghetto blaster sit next to you. I like music - but this was chest thumpingly loud. People who had been asleep on the beach or by the pool woke up, and generally people on both the beach and beside the pool just left.
2. we couldn't buy an icecream (which was in a fridge brought out to the front location by the beach) because the icecream fridge was locked and management had the key and the staff wouldn't ask management for the key
3. the food was good, however on 2 occasions the chicken was very undercooked (raw pink). I had 3 days of food poisoning however I did not eat exclusively at the hotel.
4. we arrived and agreed a price for the room and date, and then after it was all agreed (and recorded) we were told it was no longer available. We then had to renegotiate to get the booking which we had just confirmed 10 minutes before.
Good things:
This is a lovely hotel - great location next to the beach, and nice pool etc. It was built in the 80s, but has been done up. It is spacious, and lovely. 3 storey and no lift. There are two different pools. There is a large area for meals etc. The rooms are pleasant. I love sitting on one of the bench seats watching the small waves, the tide and listening to the Balinese music and the rustle of the trees above. I even like the rooster which crows from 3.30am on (although not everyone did).
This could be the best hotel on a stay to Bali. However management's insistence on ruining it is off-putting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alinta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Santrian for the first leg of our honeymoon, I can only really echo what has been said previously - the staff were helpful, the food standards were excellent, the grounds were beautiful and very well maintained and the pool areas were stunning. The spa treatments and treatment rooms were also well thought out and echoed the beauty of this resort. Just a few minors on our stay which knocked a star off for us..

We had booked in for the honeymoon package and were still on cloud 9 from the wedding. We were a late arrival and very tired, our check in was not very special and we did not get the honeymoon flowers or cake on arrival.. we had to ask for it the following day. Our room was on the second floor of the Santrian club rooms, it was a little tired, quite plain and lacking in romance! We noticed that the ground floor rooms all had 4 poster beds with drapes, which is a bit more honeymoonish so we asked to move rooms. This was done on our 3rd night and following this there were no further complaints, apart from the small charge to our bill!

We did really enjoy the peace of the Santrian pool, shared by about 30 rooms, however it was a bit annoying that there was no bar or bar service.. Took the shine off our exclusive pool! Had to walk to the bar in the main pool area which was not that close.

As you can tell our complaints were very particular to our own stay, and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Suggestions - take a day trip in a cab to Ubud. We visited the monkey temple, Saraswati temple for lunch, rice terraces and an amazing waterfall.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank G-in-Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From our experience the hotels we stayed at in Bali were of a very good standard, but this hotel was exceptional. The service was amazing - from the time we arrived, they gave us personalised service and couldn't do enough for us to help us feel relaxed and special.

The architecture and grounds had a stately and elegant feel about it, with the two beautiful pools and private lounge/couches overlooking the beach. Very relaxing!

Overall It was extremely tasteful, including our room which was the Superior double, which had a king size four poster bed, separate lounge area, entry and bag area with decent verandah and beach views. Really lovely and highly recommend it as we felt it was better to be up higher than in one of the ground floor rooms.

Also the breakfast was exceptional with a huge variety of different foods for every taste. My husband and I made the most of it, enjoying the good food and great position, overlooking the beach.

THe only thing wrong with our visit to the Puri Santrian, was that it was too short. When we come back to Bali, we will definitely be coming back to this hotel and staying alot longer.

THank you to all the staff who helped make our visit so special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0anna777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 10 pm in darkness and couldn't really give a view on the hotel other than all the staff on duty were so helpful, but when we woke up we found ourselves in the middle of paradise, what a pleasant way to wake up. We actually stayed in the Santrium Club which was kid free and how relaxing was it. This hotel has everything and if you wanted to do nothing, no problem. Major shopping like Kuta is only about a 20 minute taxi ride and should cost you around 60-70,000 roupee. We can't compliment the staff or facilities high enough, in our opinion this hotel was perfect in every way. Can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: Santium Club rooms poolside are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here May 2014.Loved everything about this hotel and it's location, Beach and street restaurants near the hotel give plenty of choices.
Great pools and beach for relaxing. Already booked another visit for September

Room Tip: Superior sea view rooms give you a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lou2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#26 of 78 in Sanur
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing