We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceded our expectations”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceded our expectations”
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We stayed in room 310 at the Puri Santrian in Sanur. Booking online was easy, and a taxi driver was at the airport to pick us up around midnight after a 22 hour flight. Being on such a long flight, we were relieved that a driver was there and check in was so easy so late at night.

The grounds of this hotel are very nice. The pools are unique, and the atmosphere of the hotel was far beyond what we expected. The beach was OK, but at low tide it’s not as pleasant as high tide. However Puri has a number of lounge chairs, umbrellas, and eating tables that offer relaxing views and are very comfortable. Also near the pool, massages are available for surprisingly affordable rates (about $11USD per hour). Another upside to this hotel is the location near the main road with shopping, food, bars etc.

Our room was a little tired, dark, and the details were not paid attention to. But the bathroom was updated, large and nice, and the balcony was spacious and had OK views of the pool. A security safe would have been a nice addition. The WIFI signal was also very weak. Overall, we were very satisfied for the price of this hotel.

The food was descent at Puri, but the breakfast buffet was not worth the price. We also ate lunch outside once, and the views far outweighed the taste of the food.

This was a great hotel for the first 4 nights of our honeymoon. We mentioned our honeymoon and they even gave us a little honeymoon cake to celebrate! Check out our other reviews at Komaneka in Ubud, Rambutan in Lovina, and Elysian in Semintak.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shatstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,130
    771
    248
    62
    49
See reviews for
384
1,330
85
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of our honeymoon. This was probably our least favorite hotel in our Bali trip, though that has more to do with the other hotels being amazing, than this hotel's shortcomings. The one major shortcoming was that, when we checked in, we found our shower had no warm water. After discussion, we were given another room (which actually was an upgrade, and a very nice room) but only for one night -- we were then told we'd have to move! I've never had an experience like this at a hotel -- if you have to be moved because of a problem with your room, that's already disruptive, but you certainly shouldn't have to move again!

Otherwise, here are the good points of the hotel:
- Free internet, no other hotel we stayed at in Bali had this (which is probably good for a honeymoon, but it was nice to be able to send some trip updates back home)
- Swim-up bar in the pool, along with happy hour specials! This was awesome
- Prime location, right by the Sanur boardwalk - after staying in a more remote location in Nusa Dua, it was great to be able to walk to shops, restaurants, and the beachside masseuses!
- Hotel loans out a plastic kayak, free of charge. Was enjoyable to paddle out into the waters and enjoy the serenity
- Nice lush grounds; felt very authentic Balinese

So, overall this was quite a good hotel, just wish they had handled our room situation better.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This hotel really is superb. We stayed in the Garden Wing and our room was well equipped and clean. The only downside was the room was very dark due to the amount of vegetation growing outside! The garden areas and pools are exceptional and the whole area is very spacious and immaculately clean. All staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. One word of advice regarding the airport - watch out for porters who demand money, even when you have not allowed them to take your luggage. We were delayed for 40 minutes queuing to buy visas and by the time we got the to luggage belt two of the porters had hold of our cases and demanded money before they would hand them over. We witnessed this happened to quite a few people - don't pay and create a fuss!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We arrived to find that the beach wing room we had booked was not available and we were upgraded to a club room - fantastic - the club rooms have their own private pool area, four poster beds, dressing room and bathroom with showers. Like the Nusa Dua Beach Hotel & Spa the gardens were lush and there were pools full of lilies and koi carp. The Hotel is not on a complex and it's an easy walk to the streets full of shops and restaurants. When shopping - haggle down at least 50% to start! We couldn't take Rupiah in but US dollars are accepted everywhere - they love sterling even more. There is an ATM just to the left of the entrance of the hotel. The staff were so friendly and pleasant and the food was excellent. When I return to Bali I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BexSolihull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

This was the second part of our honeymoon, having spent 3 days in Kuala Lumpur. We were looking forward to a long rest by the sea.

Sanur itself is centred around long main roads, one of which runs right past the Puri. There are many shops selling various souvenirs, and if you find the right one at the right time, they can be a bargain. We found some summer clothes for our 2 year old that were great for the price. There are plenty of bars both on the beach side and the road side of the hotel, as well as shops, supermarkets, internet cafes and a chemists. There was an internet cafe about 1 minute walk to the left of the hotel main entrance, but a far friendlier one three minutes the other way. They do great juices and the lady who runs it is really friendly, speaking great English. Take your shoes off before entering here.

The hotel itself has a security gate patrolled by guards 24/7 although it is really just a cursory mirror check under the car and sometimes a check under the boot. Just past here is a little bale where drivers sit. They usually just ask if you have transport, but in general they leave you alone. They can be booked for your trips, and we found an excellent driver for a trip to Ubud and the North, who we used for several other days out as well.

Once dropped off at the main entrance you are met by staff in traditional Balinese dress, and shown to the open plan reception area. We were given a glass of iced ginger tea and a cold face cloth which was an excellent touch. Within 5 minutes we were in our room.

As has been said here many times before the rooms can tend to be musty, but having the AC on gets rid of this, as do some joss sticks and candles, which can be bought cheaply in most souvenir shops (note: we found the market at Tanah Lot really cheap!!). The rooms in the club section have a terrace or a balcony, and the sitting room and bedroom are combined into 1 large room. The bed we had was a 4 poster with a mosquito net. It was large and clean, but how effective the net was is debatable! The sink are and wardrobe is large and pleasant with a full length mirror. (another note: the bottle opener is attached to the front of the wash basin?! I only found this out after a week!!). The rooms on the ground floor (ours) lead straight on to the path next to the pool, making sun lounger claiming very easy. During the first week we had no problem getting a lounger, but as it became busier there were a few games where people reserved beds for the am and the pm as the sun moved around the pool area. The pool in the club area was lovely, clean, 3 levels with a little grotto!! With the beach being so poor it was great to be by the pool and take a cooling dip now and again. The 2 pools nearer the beach were equally clean and inviting.

Breakfast was a good selection of fruits and cooked food, all the usual items, plus freshly cooked eggs of your choice. There was a bit of variation but after a few days it became a functional meal to set you up for the day. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, with birds, squirrels and lizards a regular site. With such a large area the hotel never felt crowded.

The restaurant on the road side is La Mezzanine and is an up market Italian. There are so many places to eat but far too many to mention here, take a look at the forums or send me a message for a direct recommendation and prices. Along the beach path there are also many other places to eat an drink. Turn right from the hotle and go about 5-10 minutes along the beach path and you will find a little bar with hanging seats. We liked this one, with the happy hour 6-7.

The beach itself is ok, the water is very shallow, several hundred feet from the shore it is still barely 2 feet deep, making it a poor place to swim. It was windy but this made it pleasant to sit in the sun, although reading a magazine was tricky! The staff at the hotel were knowledgeable and friendly and this added to the pleasant nature of the place. The spa does a free treatment within 24 hours of your arrival, and is 2-1 before 1pm. We had lots of treatments and the place really was excellent and not hugely expensive. (I would have liked to be able to look out to sea but this is only a minor point!).

On the main road you will continually find taxis beeping at you, just ignore them or shake your head. The bemos are very cheap, say for heading to Hardy's Supermarket. Turn left from the hotel, and on the corner of the road you should see a group of (noisy) bemo drivers. Or just walk along the road.

This hotel is an excellent choice, who's few down points are the darkness of the rooms, the repetitive breakfast and the damn incessant gamelan music throughout the day!!!! A solidly 4 star hotel, lacks the very finest points of a 5 star but an excellent choice for the price, and worth upgrading to the Club Romms IMO.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyMcBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and it was wonderful! On check-in we were told that the Garden Room that we paid for had been overbooked and we were upgraded to a Bungalow free of charge. The room was very clean, had great aircon and sattelite tv (60+ channels). There was staff everywhere!! Constantly cleaning, sweeping and gardening, always smiling and saying hello. The pools were exceptional as well!
The food was a little pricey compared to restaurants on the street, but still cheap compared to Australian prices (under $20AUD for 2xbreakfast including coffees). It was really like staying in paradise - just beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzilee_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We booked our Club Room at Puri Santrian i november 2009. Payed a deposit in november to our travel agency Apollo. And the rest was prepayed in mars, When we arrived here at 20th March, the receptionist told us that they had a problem with the reservation. The Clubrooms were overbooked, so we were offered a standard room-room no 217. Of course we were very disappointed about this, but after travelling for over 20 ours we very tired and decided to keep the room. Because of prepayment for 2 weeks, we felt it would be too risky to check out and try to find a better plays to stay. We are not sure we get our money back..For the trouble with the overbooking, we were offered a free dinner - ha, ha. Great offer from the hotel???? For giving us a 2-star standard room instead of 4-star Club Room for 2 weeks.
The bathroom in our standard room was dirty. After 3 days here - there was a bad smell coming from the bathroom. After a 4 days trip to Lombok, the room had a smell like a public toilet even though the toilet had not been used. We reported the problem - they cleaned the toilet - and the problem solved.
The room had a door to no 216. The first three nights a family with a baby stayed here. The door between the rooms made it impossible to sleep when the baby waked up crying in the middle of the night.
The highlight at this hotel was the spa. We had massage and face treatments - all were fantastic. 4 star spa!
The garden was beautiful, but could not beat the gardens in our Lombok hotels. I am sure all 4 star hotels have beatiful gardens i Bali.
Friendly staff - but not as professional as expected. One morning I was told that my room had not breakfast included. The waitress started to argue with me and kept on asking if I wanted a continental or american breakfast. All this happened in front of other guest and was not very good. I felt like I was accused for trying to lie to her.
Sunbeds were reserved early in the morning - after 8 - you are lucky if you fint one. You will definetly not find one with an umbrella. After reservation - som people don't come to the beach before 12.
The guest are mostly people over 60 years old. Very quiet at the hotel after dinner.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENEOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanur
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#13 of 78 in Sanur
1,510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
501 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
534 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Laguna, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing