We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect escape”
Review of Puri Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Santrian
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed 1 July 2007

The hotel and service was perfect and worth far more than 3 stars.

Check in was smooth and the staff were very friendly throughout our whole stay. The room was always spotless and had plenty of space. Each day your room also gets free bottled water so you can avoid the "bali belly".

The resort is aimed at those wanting a romantic, peaceful getaway. Not many children around which we personally saw as a major plus.

The building itself looks very nice and has some grand stonework which looks even better in the night-light. There is a nice selection of shops and food onsite, the breakfast included in your stay has a great choice and a lot of foods are cooked to order infront of you (omelettes etc).

They also offer room service until the early hours, however if you wanted to try a wider selection of local cuisine there are plenty of restaurants right outside the gates on the main road. (Try the Bamki Hotplate!!!)

As with any holiday you need to reserve your sun lounger early in busy periods but the hotel do their best to help by not allowing towels to be hired until after 9am breakfast. The pools themselves are lovely.

The onsite massage parlour is also worth a visit, all guests get a free "Jet Lag" 15 minute massage card, but paying for one of the more indepth treatments is well worth it

The overall feel of the place is a relaxing, clean, friendly environment where you can be at peace away from the hustle bustle of street traders. If you do wish to venture out and see some of the island, the hotel can offer good deals on tours to some of the major attractions. This can also all be added to your room bill if you wish to pay at the end of your holiday.

Having toured past some of the other hotels on the island I saw no where else that compared to the Puri Santrian and we would definitely go back

  • Liked — Perfect service throughout
  • Disliked — No evening entertainment
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank RickSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    746
    234
    61
    47
See reviews for
366
1,295
82
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK, Warrington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

We stayed in a beach bungalow for two weeks. It was a lovely room, very spacious, with traditional balinese furniture, which is by nature fairly simple.

The daily breakfast had everything you could desire, plus if you wanted to order eggs in a certain style they would do this at no extra cost. Breakfast would usually be accompanied by two gamelan musicians playing traditional balinese music - very relaxing.

It was our wedding anniversary during our stay and they presented us with a lovely chocolate cake on the day. Tasted great.

We ate in the hotel at the Mezzanine on our anniversary and this was the only occassion that we did. Yes, the service and food was excellent - but was more expensive that other local eateries. Our favourites were Donalds, Stiff Chilli and Massimo.

The hotel was very peaceful and the grounds and swimming pools were stunning. My husband had a couple of massages (as he always does on holiday) and said they were excellent.

The hotel does not have the amenities of a four star - but the service, grounds and accomodation make it a lovely pace for a relaxing holiday.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and although was disappointed at not receiving an upgrade to the Santrian Club, did not really see what difference this would have made after having a look at the rooms / pool area.

  • Liked — Gardens / Service
  • Disliked — Room was poorly lit
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank judithcharmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

For our 5 night stay we had a standard garden room which was very conveniently located equidistant from the reception "long house", the beach club restaurant and the pools and beach. The room was oversized, but no air con in the bathroom which got a bit steamy. Every day fresh bottled water was delivered for drinking and teeth cleaning. The room was kept spotless by the predominatly male room attendants. We had a TV with full range of international stations, fridge and tea/coffee maker with a range of herbal and fruit teas.
The beach club restaurant provided excellent breakfast buffet and cooked to order eggs and omelets. We ate lunch there on 3 occasions, on one occasion taking one of the booths situated at beachside; the food was excellent and very modestly priced. We ate there once for dinner, on a special barbecue night. The other evenings we ate dinner in the more formal fine dining restaurant, with great Thai and Tappanyaki menus, a small band and the excellent service we came to expect everywhere at this hotel.
Highly recommended and extremely good value.

  • Liked — Spacious and cool
  • Disliked — No aircon in the bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UKtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

Pretty hotel
Spent 10 days at the Puri at the end of Jan beginning of Feb this year. I certainly agree with all the comments that the gardens are absolutely beautiful.
Remember this is a 3 star hotel and it is very easy to forget it.

Club rooms – we had a deal where if we booked a bungalow room, we would receive a club room. Firstly if you have this offer, then that is all you receive - the club room but none of the benefits attached to it. i.e. priority check in, flowers and fruit in the room afternoon tea etc. We were the only ones checking in so did not have to wait anyway and being nice to the room maid saw the little pot of flower appear in our room. We were not too bothered about the fruit in the room or the afternoon tea which is only 3USD pp if you want to to have this – a pot of tea and a choice of a slice of cake between 3-5 pm.

Club rooms are the highest category rooms they have (apart from 2 suites which seem to be long term booked). Please bear in mind that there are three floors and there is no lift. The rooms are large and spacious but a bit too dark. I appreciated the dark wood but the lighting was just not right and the trees outside which were wonderful to look at did not help with the light. The mirrors are not very well situated – more of a gentleman’s type room.
Small adequate bathroom with a bath and separate shower - the sink is outside in the corridor which doubles up as a dressing area well sort of
Anyway, I was there to enjoy the weather outside anyway.
There are also a couple of adjoining swimming pools for the use of Club rooms occupants but we did not use them as I found that area a bit too claustrophobic – the other main pools overlooked the open seas and much nicer and I preferred that area.

The breakfasts were lovely, they had all the normal cereal, juice, fresh fruit, pastries, breads, omelet bar, baked beans, sausages, bacon etc. I was quite happy with all the fresh fruit (yummy papayas, watermelon & pineapple!) and the fresh omelet or toast sometime. The ready made tea which they bring around is awful!. Just ask for a pot and extra tea bags if you like strong tea. We found eating upstairs better and downstairs. We tried downstairs once and did not like it - the food was in a sort of corridor and seemed too busy with people walking all the time around you!

We did not eat other meals at the hotel except some snacks here and there. I am sure the food would have been fine but the dining areas were fairly empty and there was no atmosphere at all. There are a lot of bars and restaurant outside anyway and you could get a ride to another place to try different restaurants – taxis are very cheap. We would always get the legal taxis back in the night or late evening and they were not that expensive anyway.

This area around Sanur is very quiet especially in the evenings so if you are looking for a bit lively area then this is not it. i.e. once you have had your dinner, there is really nothing to do….
will load up photos soon.

  • Liked — the main swimming pool
  • Disliked — the club room pools - too Claustrophobic
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bg-gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

This hotel had so much to offer, nice setting, lovely pools, staff were friendly and helpful.
The only downside was sunbeds being saved from 6.45. As our room was quite near the beach and pool we were amazed to see people (mainly Germans) putting towels on at this hour. Not only did they put towels on the beds they were going to use, we noticed later they put towels on double the amount , one set in the sun and one set in the shade and they moved from one to the other during the day. There are notices about saving of sunbeds but certain people ignore these. I feel this is because the balinese people are so gentle and don`t want to enforce the rules and cause upset.
We ate a number of our meals at Donalds, just across the road. Always had good food at a reasonable price.
The cultural night in the hotel was really good, the music and dancers were first class. The buffet was rather expensive for Bali but it was the only night we ate in the hotel.
There were a mixture of age groups in the hotel from the very young to the elderly, so the 4 of us in our 60`s didn`t feel out of place.
Yes we would definately go back, maybe upgrading to the Club rooms.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IMJIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2007

This was our first trip to Bali and will definetly not be our last , we had a great time and loved the resort. It was one of the best we had ever stayed in, it was more a 5 star resort than a 4. We stayed in the garden view rooms and found them to be clean and comfortable. Weather was warm and the staff were very friendly . We chose the Puri Santrian because of all the great reviews we had read about on this site . We had some tasty meals at the Puri Santrian and most nights we would walk down the beach to Donald's restaurant and also Bobby"s they were both very good and very cheap. We cant wait to go back! Puri was perfect!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank ellesbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

Stayed at Puri Santrian in April 2007 and upgraded before arriving direct with the hotel to the club room, after reading bad reports regarding the beach and garden rooms.

Disappointed, the club rooms are ok, but still very dark inside. More spacious than the other rooms, but certainly not worth the money. The room spelt very musty and appeared clean until i dropped something which rolled under a piece of furniture!!

All the rooms are dark inside due to the fast amount of trees around the gardens. I had read reports about the beautiful gardens, but to be honest i wasnt that impressed.

The hotel is located on the quite side of Sanur, limited restaurants and not on the best stretch of beach. Although the hotel did their best to clear the debris and seaweed away daily it did seem to gather
on this stretch. Further down the beach was a lot cleaner.

The pools were small and you need to be an early bird to get a sun lounger either around the pools or on the beach. A word of warning for people with young child... there is a small childs pool, but the other pools are deep.

Overall an ok hotel, but that is the best i can say. Wished i had booked a hotel at the other end of sanur

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mamabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#14 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
1.6 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#25 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Santrian

Property: Puri Santrian
Address: Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Family Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#13 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Puri Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Santrian Sanur
Puri Santrian Hotel Sanur
Puri Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing