We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A refreshing alternative to the big international chains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mentari Sanur Hotel
Ranked #30 of 134 Sanur B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A refreshing alternative to the big international chains”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotels not cheap and is located down a small and uninviting road, but its a little oasis. The gardens are very beautiful and well kept as is the pool. The food is more than acceptable, in fact amongst the best I found in Sanur (although as a regular visitor to Indonesia I didn't like Bali's westernised food much). The rooms aren't up to the standards of the international chains, but clean and more than acceptable. The beds are huge. All the staff are extremely friendly, which combined with the hotels small size makes it a winner for me.

Room Tip: Most reviewers tell you to get a garden room, I don't know why, the first floor rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piphoshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    128
    38
    14
    14
See reviews for
58
103
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We Love this Hotel, Its our home away from home.. When we are travelling around the rest of the island and we decide its time to go back home we mean the MENTARI. It has a fantastic swimming pool. The rooms are clean and your linen is changed every day. The staff are fantastic. It is quite small and intimate ( it seems like there is a maximum of 20 or 30 rooms). When we travel, we usually have our children with us, so its important that they feel at ease, and The Mentari provides beautifully. One day we left Frank (our 12 year old) for the day as we had to go to UBUD for business. Mardini and Dayu the staff at the restaurant looked after him, brought him his breakfast in bed. There is a great multi-culturalism in the array of guests that stay, Swedish, German, English, Australians, Bangla Deshi's...people from everywhere. Afternoons around the pool chatting to people from all walks of life, because its such a small establishment people tend to engage with each other, sharing travel tips. Its not a large anonymous hotel. Its away from the throng , being in North Sanur (just a 10 minute walk from the main drag in Sanur). Its just behind "Dunkin Donuts", so when you arrive at the airport its really easy to explain your destination to the driver, you don't have to stand in a queue waiting for a taxi voucher just cross the road outside the Terminal and it should only cost 100,000 rupee to get there. I know where my first port of call is when I arrive. And I believe the secret to a good holiday is how you arrive and The Mentari provides perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klektik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights after reading some good reviews but were unhappy because of the mould in the bathroom (and I'm allergic to mould) and the nasty raw sewage smell. There are no coffee making facilities in the room. The restaurant is okay for breakfast but you're better going out for dinner. The reception staff were helpful, the garden and grounds are pretty.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catseye-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We really liked the beautiful grounds and the great swimming pool. The showers were great and plenty of hot water. The AC worked well and was quiet. We really liked the breakfasts, but the one dinner we tried in the restaurant was so-so.
It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach and just a couple minutes to convenience stores, ATM's, Doughnut shop and KFC.
The staff were friendly without being 'too helpful' if you know what I mean. We enjoy anonymity on our vacations!
If we come to Bali again, we'd certainly consider staying here.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms CAN be a bit noisier if noisy guests arrive late at night, or there is noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Great landscape with little land. Great hot shower on lower floor. Cozy balcony with soft Balinese music at night from the restaurant. Bed looks so so yet ....just wake up on another beautiful morning. Breakfast is good. Maybe the butter need to be changed to something better. French toast is excellent. Swimming pool is very clean. Hmm everything is clean in that hotel besides the shower curtain yet to be changed.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanngee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Mentari for the second time in May and as before the service was so good, just as before.
The staff recognised us and as such treated us like VIP's. Again, the staff were excellent, service fabulous and the food delicious.
We will be staying there again and again as we can rely on this hotel to be as great as always.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuccaGilberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This Hotel is a nice property with a refreshing pool.

While approx. 45min walk to center of Sanur, this hotel is great for people who want to be away from the hustle and bustle. There are a few nice inexpensive restaurants & massage parlours near by, with the beach being only a 5min walk down the road.

The rooms are fairly basic, but quite large and clean. AC works great, and the food at the restaurant in the hotel is also pretty good.

This hotel is a good option for the budget conscious traveller.

Room Tip: Use Agoda or Hotels.com for best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlayfulPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Inna Grand Bali Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puri Dalem Hotel
Puri Dalem Hotel
#51 of 76 in Sanur
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Puri Kelapa Garden Cottages
1.2 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#32 of 76 in Sanur
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentari Sanur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentari Sanur Hotel

Property: Mentari Sanur Hotel
Address: Jl. Hangtuah III no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentari Sanur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mentari Sanur Hotel; A self indulgence resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mentari Sanur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mentari Hotel Sanur
Mentari Sanur Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing