We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice time here - good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mentari Sanur Hotel
Ranked #34 of 141 Sanur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2011

sorry this review is quite late but i figured better late than never!
my husband and i stayed here in july 2009 for 4 nights at the start of our bali trip and 2 nights at the end. we really enjoyed it, for about $70 a night it was very good value. the rooms overlook the garden or pool and the grounds are well maintained and lots of fresh flowers about. The pool was superb it gets sun during the day so the water nice and warm.
we did not eat at the restaurant apart from breakfast which was included, it was a fairly basic breaky. the rooms were clean and we did not spend a lot of time in them.
the staff were great, particularly one of the reception ladies, who helped us a lot with accomm in ubud when we discovered our hotel their had overbooked us!
its a good 15-20 mins walk into centre of the village along very broken pavement, though its no trouble if you want to get a taxi in.
its a very private complex so nice and quiet.
would recommend.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss-on-the-move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was a great little hotel. We stayed here for 6 nights when we first arrived in Bali. The staff are really friendly and helpful. They helped us book some day trips etc over the phone. It had a really relaxing, quiet atmosphere and the pool area was really nice. Our room was very spacious and had everything you would need really. Plenty of hot water in the showers. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. And of course there room had air conditioning also. A must for any place you stay in Bali! The hotel is not located in what would be known as the central area in Sanur (where the restaurants are etc) but it's only 5 mins by taxi. We paid 20000 rp at most for a taxi ( which is about US$2) in to the central area!

It's true that the side street down to it is a little off putting but it's perfectly safe walking down to it any time day or night!

If i am ever back in Bali again i would most certainly stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank little_explorer_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The service was excellent and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean & functional for the price, a great base for exploring Bali. Close to Sanur beach just a short 5 minute walk. Plenty of good restauraunts around the area. All round value for money. The only minor negitives were that the WiFi was a bit fickled at first but was not a real issue and breakfast was pretty basic a fan in the bathroom would also be a plus. On check out I was a bit annoyed that I could not pay buy credit card as the system was down so I had to pay in cash using my dwindling supply of cash, the problem was worked out AOK. I guess this could happen anywhare. I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tefenankh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotels not cheap and is located down a small and uninviting road, but its a little oasis. The gardens are very beautiful and well kept as is the pool. The food is more than acceptable, in fact amongst the best I found in Sanur (although as a regular visitor to Indonesia I didn't like Bali's westernised food much). The rooms aren't up to the standards of the international chains, but clean and more than acceptable. The beds are huge. All the staff are extremely friendly, which combined with the hotels small size makes it a winner for me.

Room Tip: Most reviewers tell you to get a garden room, I don't know why, the first floor rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piphoshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We Love this Hotel, Its our home away from home.. When we are travelling around the rest of the island and we decide its time to go back home we mean the MENTARI. It has a fantastic swimming pool. The rooms are clean and your linen is changed every day. The staff are fantastic. It is quite small and intimate ( it seems like there is a maximum of 20 or 30 rooms). When we travel, we usually have our children with us, so its important that they feel at ease, and The Mentari provides beautifully. One day we left Frank (our 12 year old) for the day as we had to go to UBUD for business. Mardini and Dayu the staff at the restaurant looked after him, brought him his breakfast in bed. There is a great multi-culturalism in the array of guests that stay, Swedish, German, English, Australians, Bangla Deshi's...people from everywhere. Afternoons around the pool chatting to people from all walks of life, because its such a small establishment people tend to engage with each other, sharing travel tips. Its not a large anonymous hotel. Its away from the throng , being in North Sanur (just a 10 minute walk from the main drag in Sanur). Its just behind "Dunkin Donuts", so when you arrive at the airport its really easy to explain your destination to the driver, you don't have to stand in a queue waiting for a taxi voucher just cross the road outside the Terminal and it should only cost 100,000 rupee to get there. I know where my first port of call is when I arrive. And I believe the secret to a good holiday is how you arrive and The Mentari provides perfectly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klektik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights after reading some good reviews but were unhappy because of the mould in the bathroom (and I'm allergic to mould) and the nasty raw sewage smell. There are no coffee making facilities in the room. The restaurant is okay for breakfast but you're better going out for dinner. The reception staff were helpful, the garden and grounds are pretty.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catseye-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We really liked the beautiful grounds and the great swimming pool. The showers were great and plenty of hot water. The AC worked well and was quiet. We really liked the breakfasts, but the one dinner we tried in the restaurant was so-so.
It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach and just a couple minutes to convenience stores, ATM's, Doughnut shop and KFC.
The staff were friendly without being 'too helpful' if you know what I mean. We enjoy anonymity on our vacations!
If we come to Bali again, we'd certainly consider staying here.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms CAN be a bit noisier if noisy guests arrive late at night, or there is noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rusti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Diwangkara Beach Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alit's Beach
Hotel Alit's Beach
#74 of 79 in Sanur
49 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#35 of 79 in Sanur
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
Sanur Seaview Hotel
Sanur Seaview Hotel
#56 of 79 in Sanur
129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#28 of 79 in Sanur
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentari Sanur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentari Sanur Hotel

Address: Jl. Hangtuah III no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: £20 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentari Sanur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mentari Sanur Hotel; A self indulgence resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mentari Sanur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mentari Hotel Sanur
Mentari Sanur Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing