We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mentari Sanur Hotel
Ranked #31 of 136 Sanur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as a starting point for our trip. The hotel is in a good spot tucked away from the hustle and bustle, the pool is really nice too. Rooms are nice with a massive bed and were clean. Staff were friendly. Breakfast menu is very limited. We were able to hire bikes to ride along the foreshore. Also the rooms have balconies which are nice to sit out on in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Mr. Jackie M

Thank you very much and hope to hearing from you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

we went to bali in august 2012, 2 adults, 2 children under 5. It is very good value for money in sanur and were worried about the low price would indicate the standard. so we also booked another hotel and split our 2 wk trip into one week at each hotel. (kids thought that great two holidays in one!) but when i compared some things i thought the mentari better. i wont name the other hotel as i am not rating it. the pool was great at mentari as it was clean. some rust spots in some spots but nothing to write home about. it was cleaned every day. we were 5 metres from the pool which i thought might get noisy , so wrong it was our kids being noisy before bed as everyone seemed to go out every night. we were worried about the 9 or so poolside deck chairs but as it is a small hotel there always seemed to be one available. we were going to do the ole trick of 'reserving' two every day but it was not required. we had a good sized balcony (room 115) on the ground floor to store our blow up toys and two prams and towels and stuff. (a towel rack on the verandah would look better than throwing over the concrete wall/balcony as we did but you couldnt see the balcony walls due to trees between the pool and us) but they dried so quick anyway no biggy....
i think the pool was good as my kids are under 5 and there were some stepped areas and a spa area that suited for depth but it was also deep enough for playing with the sinking toy games.

the breakfast was good with included choice of eggs either boiled/scrambled/poached/omelette with the trimings and then toast and either bacon, ham or sausage.

we mixed up the style of egg and style of meat to make it different each day.
kids loved the yoghurt, cereal, baked beans and juice and lets face it plain is better for them
there was fruit and lovely music, thekids played on a big mat with toys when they finished eating while we relaxed with some more tea or coffee.

we ate in the restaurant one night, took ages to be served but the taste and quality were great. i think it was because wverything was made from scratch (no frozen pe cooked stuff) but with the little ones we would probably eat there again but order a bit earlier and just let the kids play in the pool until the food was ready as it is all right next to each other. but maybe it seemed longer because of 2 kids under 5 who wanted to eat there and then.......urghh.

the room itself is basic and it is not a brand new rizty place but it doesnt pretend to be either, yes some things dont look the best but it is an older hotel and it is clean but the bed was big and was sooooo soooooo comfortable. we took our own pillows from a bad experience at a ritzy expensive place in asia the year before) but i liked theirs better!!!! and when you got fresh sheets mmmm so gorgeous and comfy. room good size for 2 kids and their toys (too many) and i wish there were more drawers but i had too much stuff so of course more drawers would have suited me ,,,,, the bathroom had no bath but i liked the big bench and mirror to put our junk.

the rooms dont have safes but you can put some stuff at the front desk. we had cameras and stuff but didnt want to go to the front desk everytime we wanted to access them...no flash tv older box style BUT WE WERE NOT THERE FOR THE TV (try telling that to my 5 year old!!)

wifi was in teh restaurant area and that is basically in the middle of the complex so sometimes in your room and at the pool for the mad ipod enthuisiast..

bikes were 20000 rp ($2-) per day and not per hour like most places.... they also arranged a trip for bali safari with free transfers (savings of about $10) they said hello to us by name and not like our other place who always asked who we were when we spoke to them

i noticed a lot of wet suits drying in teh late afternoon so i wonder if the hotel caters for scuba divers? i forgot to ask.


one issue i had was teh laneway to the hotel, if you didnt know where you were going you would need to know the supermarket as a landmark to tell you visitors. but the laneway street lights werent working which is no fault of the hotel but it seemed scary at first but sanur is soooo much more relaxed and definitely less hostile (if you know what i mean) than say kuta.

i would stay again and hope to have room 115 again (its the last one on the bottom row) with the adjoining room of 114 (interconnecting door) as our kid will be out of the cot by next august. plus i worked out 2 room s at mentari equals one room and other resorts.

i liked the small well cared for gardens and as it is not on tyhe beach it is a quiet area but i walked along the beach around that area and they pretty much close up shop andits quiet by 10 at the latest. with maybe as few restaurants.

teh boats take off from that part of of the beach so i would not lay around there, but about 5 mintues walk south was lovely and some trees for shade.

the staff get a 10 ou of 10, so nice to our kids and very much helpful

the supermarket at the lane way entrance was perfect to stop of for a magnum everynight after dinner for 10,000 each ($1-) and there is a money exchange that wasnt too bad. you can get a little bit better but who can be bothered for the whole $2-3 you save and then spend on a cab anyway

sanur to mecure hotel is about 40 min walk, sanur main street area is 20 min walk but for $2- catch a cab

we got a blue taxi (meter) to waterbom for 55,000 going in the morning and from legian/seminyak back to sanur at about 4pm i think its was 65,000 if you get a van it will be 100,000 so if you want a day trip for some shopping take the taxi if you can fit the shopping in you'll have more to buy with!!!

they were so great they included transfers to and from teh airport and when i told them we were going else where in teh 2nd week they transferred us by van and they covered the cost!!

will book direct with them again like i did this trip and i took u.s. dollars and paid on arrival at the first night. i was nervous booking direct but when they didnt even ask for a deposit prior to our arrival i felt they were good and not shonky......

my husband was hoping for a gym near by but no luck and both places we stayed he didnt get one so if you want a gym check as most dont have them in sanur.

i will return no problems. my kids thought it great and i would imagine if they were a little older or teenagers a hotel with more activities might suit but if you want quiet and value for money for a clean hotel i recommend. s and b

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I just spent 2 nights in Mentari Sanur hotel. It was very nice, quiet, clean and super friedly staff. They helped us a lot whatever we had in our minds. I would recommend this to everyone who dont want too much action and enjoy peacefull atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you very much and hope to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

First impression down a lane at night was not so good, but hang in there, this hotel is awesome, the gardens inspiring, and the staff so so friendly. The manager values the personal touch and is a friendly face and ear ensuring any issue is met, or just to catch up on your day. Not on the beach, and not a beach area, (the pool is amazing though) but we didnt go for the beach, we went for a new experience away from the constant barrage of vendors in Kuta, and we found it in Sanur. The shopping is much more pleasant, and cheaper. The locals friendly, not pushy. The food, suburb, both in the hotel restuarant and surrounding restuarants. Catch green taxi for 10,000 rupiah (old, but only half the price) to Danau Tamblingan Street for street stalls and Hardys shopping centre. We will never stay in Kuta again after this wonderful, relaxng trip.

Room Tip: ours was 2nd level, balcony over pool, but all rooms would be just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Ms. Kaz N

Thank you for your staying with us and we look forward to see you in near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Beautiful garden and pool area
Room nice, huge bed (for like 4 people)
Breakfast ok
Location ok
Everything is clean
The hotel is ok all in all, but nothing more than that. Therefore i found it too expensive

I wouldn't go to sanur again. The beach is dirty and you cant always swim there. The restaurants are nice but quite expensive for bali (minami -japanese was great)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citoyenne-du-Monde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We really liked this hotel; rooms, pool and gardens where all very nice and well kept. Staff where all very friendly and spoke English well. We even returned here after having a terrible time in Lovina. It was nice to step back into an environment where you knew you would be happy. As others have mentioned the restaurant was a let down, but that seems to be the norm for most hotel food. In the end we found a nice warung, turn right at the end of the lane past the mini mart.

Room Tip: We were in the back Eastern corner so there was very little passing traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you very much and hope to hearing from you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Mentari Sanur Hotel is tucked away in a side street so you don't get woken up by the daily hustle and bustle of traffic. The rooms are basic but clean, all balconies face the pool or garden area so you really do feel secluded from the outside noise. The staff at reception are extremley friendly and helpful with organising taxi's and assisting with transfers. The grounds feature well maintained gardens and a great pool for lazing by when shopping gets to be too much.I only ate breakfast at the hotel which is included in the booking, standard choice of either Western or Indonesian fare (egg's any way, with toast and fruit, pastries, juice, tea and coffee) This has not changed for the past 10 years. I have travelled to Bali 7 times and if some travellers expect eggs benedict on the menu they should consider going to a cafe. I am still not comfortable with the idea of people smoking in the restaurant, maybe management can encourage smoking guests to be courteous towards non-smoking guests by creating a demarcated area within the restaurant.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms near the restaurant are quieter as there is a tennis court at the rear of the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeeperSanurBali, Manager at Mentari Sanur Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Ms. Giorgina F

Thank you for your staying with us and we look forward to see you in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Swastika Bungalows
Swastika Bungalows
#39 of 82 in Sanur
498 reviews
1 mi away
Tamukami Hotel
Tamukami Hotel
#32 of 82 in Sanur
460 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puri Sading Hotel
Puri Sading Hotel
#35 of 82 in Sanur
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur
Puri Dalem Hotel Sanur
#55 of 82 in Sanur
222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inna Grand Bali Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentari Sanur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentari Sanur Hotel

Address: Jl. Hangtuah III no. 3, Sanur, Denpasar 80000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range: £21 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentari Sanur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mentari Sanur Hotel; A self indulgence resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mentari Sanur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mentari Hotel Sanur
Mentari Sanur Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing