We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm”
Review of The Pavilions Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pavilions Bali
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights here as our first stop in Bali, due to its convenient location near the airport before we headed deeper into the island. For a small fee, the villa arranged an airport transfer, complete with cold towels and bottled water. Highly recommended after a long airtrip! Sanur itself lacks much of the culture and fine restaurants you'll find elsewhere in Bali, and the traffic and salespeople targeting tourists were far too much for us, so we spent much of our time in the villa. With this in mind, we were very pleased with the spacious honeymoon villa we selected, ample space by the pool, and very helpful staff. There is a small and very basic gym on site, and the villa pools are of a respectable size. The only thing preventing us giving this five stars is the price - quite expensive in comparison to others available on the island. However, we wouldhave no problem recommending Pavilions as a great place to stay for a couple of days, after which you will want to get move elsewhere in Bali to explore further.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AtomicBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Great location in Sanur with plenty of nearby restuarants and bars but not the pandemonium of
Kuta ,unless you are a "club 18-30" type or enjoy traffic mayhem that place is best avoided .

Pavilions is very private ,you rarely see another resident unless you visit the pool or bar .

Breakfast served in your room offers a good choice of fare which you select the previous evening

Rooms are very spacious with a lounge ,small kitchen and dining area in addition to the bedroom

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJCONearDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for 20 nights and even as we were leaving we wanted to return.
The Hotel was idyllic and the staff very helpful with nothing too much trouble.
The Manageress was attentive without being intrusive and she ensured everything went smoothly.
The hotel massages were the best we had in Bali and worth the increased cost over external establishments.
I have marked the hotel location down one point purely because it isn’t on the beach; however in practice this was not a problem, a courtesy car would drop us off at designated loungers and umbrellas and would return at a set time or could be called for from the local bar, mostly we strolled back along the front, cutting up by the side of the Gazebo Hotel which brought us out opposite the Pavilions.
We have had many excellent holidays however The Pavilions was something special and we look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandJ_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I spent a few days in a honeymoon villa celebrating our 25th anniversary. The Pavilions is on the Main Street in Sanur so there are a myriad of restaurant choices within a short walk but it is set back from the road far enough that the noise and bustle is left far behind.

The lack of waterfront vistas is more than made up for by the private pools in the private courtyards. The honeymoon villas are nicely laid out with a small kitchen, a good sized living room that opens onto the pool deck and an expansive bathroom/dressing room which connects to a secluded outdoor shower. The bedroom takes up the whole second floor and there is a two piece toilet room as well.

We used the airport limo service provided by the hotel. It was friendly and efficient. When we arrived at the hotel, we were brought directly to our villa which was personalized with our name. It had been nicely prepared for our arrival with flowers in the room. The bed was nicely decorated with flowers and the bathtub was filled and had petals floating on the surface. There was a nice anniversary card from the staff. The pool, while not a lap pool by any means was larger than most private plunge pools I'm accustomed to. It was great for cooling off in.

Breakfast was amazing. It was delivered and prepared each morning in the villa's kitchen. It was a great way to start the day.

We also had dinner in the open plan restaurant twice during our stay. The food was excellent and reasonably priced.

That's actually one of the things that separates the Pavilions from every other five star resort I've stayed at: once you get past the room rate, everything else is reasonably priced to the local economy. Laundry, mini bar, gift shop etc. is equal to the cost you'd find in local stores. It was a refreshing change from so many hotels who feel you should pay a significant premium on everything just because of the opulent surroundings.

We arranged with the limo driver for a day trip to Ubud. He was very professional and spent most of the day showing us around in their comfortable vehicle for only $100.

In honor of our anniversary, the hotel gave us a relaxing couples massage in the spa. Highly recommended!

The staff is extremely attentive and is dedicated to an awesome customer experience. Little things like a book and DVD lending library speak to the laid back vibe they are dedicated to creating.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VPinMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

During our last trip to Bali in May, we spent 6 nights at The Pavilions Sanur.
The villa was very comfortable and centrally located.
The staff were excellent and the little touches like the complimentary foot massage on arrival and a complementary full Bali massage the day before we left were fantastic, the best massage we have had in Bali.
The pool was great and the pool staff were very helpful, only drawback was that the pool chairs are very uncomfortable.
We had an excellent time there and would recommend the Pavilions to anyone who likes that little extra.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The Pavilions offers an unique combination of an island of tranquility, privacy and luxurious Villas in the heart of Sanur - combined with a fascinating cuisine in the very romantic restaurant in the garden.
The Staff is amazingly attentive and takes excellent care of you!
When you arrive at vibrant and hectic Sanur you cannot even imagine a place like this exists.
After passing the beautiful entrance path ,flanked with Bamboo trees and candles, you arrive in a quiet and relaxed paradise. The very welcoming and charming General Manager Il Soon and her amazing team know so well to make you feel home and the luxurious Villas are generous, lavish and wonderfully beautiful decorated. The whole Resort is surrounded by an amazing garden - a real personal paradise in Sanur!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAsia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We spent 4 nights in one of the honeymoon villas at the Bali Pavilions, and we more or less fell in love with the place the second we arrived. The staff was extremely friendly, in a very genuine way. Not once during our stay did any of the staff in any way hint that they expected tips (which we encountered at some of other stays at Bali). It truly felt that the staff was genuinely happy to help us out with anything we asked. We didn't get the feeling of "I am smiling because I've been told by the manager to do so" that is common in many other places.

The honeymoon villa (can't remember the number) was amazing. After reading about it here on TripAdvisor and booking it, I was a bit worried that I had set my expectations a bit too high and would be disappointed. But I wasn't disappointed at all! It was even better! The bathroom was so beautiful, and the bedroom with its high ceiling was stunning. Together with the garden and private pool there was nothing missing for creating a perfect stay. At least not for us.

Breakfast was good (their nasi goreng and mie goreng were both really nice), and the candle lit dinner (included in the honeymoon package) was fantastic. They filled up the pool with rose petals and added floating candles. We were served several nice dishes by an extremely discreet waiter.

The Pavilions isn't located directly at the beaches, but it's only a short walk to get there. But if you want to spend your daytime at the beach, the Pavilions is probably not the right place to stay anyway. There are cheaper hotels closer to the beach. But honestly, the Sanur beaches aren't that great anyway. And with a private pool and the privacy of your own villa, there's not much reasons to go anywhere else.

The food at the restaurant at the Pavilions is (as with all hotel restaurants) overpriced. The food was good, no questions about it, but you can get just as good food if you just walk a couple of minutes away from the hotel premises.

If you normally stay only at luxury hotels etc, this might not be that special to you. But if you, like us, normally stay at more reasonably priced hotels this will most likely blow you away.

All in all, the Pavilion was without a doubt the best place we've stayed at. We'll without a doubt remember our stay for the rest of our lives, and are so happy that we chose this place. If we ever come to Bali again, I'm sure we'll spend at least a couple of nights here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aljsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 79 in Sanur
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 79 in Sanur
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
0.2 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#18 of 79 in Sanur
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan no. 76, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#4 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £111 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilions Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in a quiet corner of Sanur, The Pavilions Bali makes for your calming moment of bliss. Set between a reef lagoon and stretches of white sand, this secluded spot offers peace, yet is conveniently close to Sanur’s main shopping area. Enjoy The Pavilions Bali charming, spacious villas and leave your worries behind. Our personalised butlers are at your call with unobstructive attention ensuring complete privacy. Relax at The Pavilions Spa with our signature massages with handcrafted aromatic oils, enjoy breakfast in you private villa. See the real Bali with our private tailored made island tours with our butler, let our chefs create delicious Balinese candlelit dinners for you at Jahe Restaurant or at your villa. See why our guests cannot wait to come back to The Pavilions again, book today on our website for exclusive offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pavilions Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Pavilions Hotel Sanur
The Pavilions Bali Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing