We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon villa”
Review of The Pavilions Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pavilions Bali
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at The Pavilions for our honeymoon in August. If you are hoping to spend a lot of time in your villa and hope to sunbathe in private then we would definitely recommend paying the extra for a pool villa. We only paid enough for a garden villa which was mis sold to us by our travel company as a 'no tan line villa', When we arrived, although the villa and surroundings were lovely, the garden was a small patio which was covered so there was no way we would be able to lay down there, let alone catch any sun! We expressed our disappointment to the staff and we were really impressed by how they dealt with it. After arriving at 8pm, by 9am the next morning the manager had visited us at our villa personally to inform us that she wanted us to be happy and that she would be upgrading us to a pool villa which was perfect. It was spacious, clean and well presented. If you really cant afford the extra, the public pool was almost always secluded so you'd probably get that to yourself anyway! The staff were very friendly and always happy to help, they visited once in the morning and evening to clean/offer fresh towels, set up mosquito repellant and left us with new candles lit in the bathroom every evening. Also the food in the restaurant was amazing! A little pricey compared to the local restaurants but we felt it was well worth it! Definitely recommended for a quiet holiday but with enough shops restaurants and bars to try a two min walk away.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a pool villa - we were in number 25 and loved the pool/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this accommodation following three nights in Singapore and five nights in Legian. From the moment we arrived at this property we were treated like royalty. The staff are all amazing, giving one hundred per cent commitment to giving excellent service, always with a smile and anticipating and taking care of your every need and making you feel so special. Putting your surname above the door to your own private villa was a lovely touch. The villa was absolutely stunning, much larger than expected with a good sized pool and surrounded by lovely mature gardens filled with humming birds and other birds, frogs, lizards etc. My personal favourite was the outside bath (filled with petals on arrival) which I used every evening sometimes after coming home from a night out if it was too cool for the pool I would have a luxurious soak in the bath looking up at the stars. After being taken to our room we were visited twice, once to receive complimentary welcome drinks and then to offer a complimentary foot massage. The villa was cleaned to a very high standard every day and breakfast was a lovely experience every day bringing the breakfast of your choice to you and laying the table beautifully and being served in your own villa. Although you feel as if you are in the middle of the countryside surrounded by peace and tranquillity, just a short stroll away through the bamboo covered walkway you are directly in the hustle and bustle of the main street of Sanur and just across the road from the lovely beach. The only downside to this villa was that it was so lovely we couldn't tear ourselves away and did not do any of the day trips that we intended to do however we had already seen a lot of the island during our stay in Legian. This is the only place I have been where I actually cried with happiness on arrival and sadness on leaving. I would highly recommend this accommodation and would love to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: We asked for a room which had sun for as long as possible and stayed in Villa 11 which was in a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 600Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

First visit to Bali so didn't really know what to expect from our 3 different types of accommodation. We stayed here for the first 6 days with our 13 year old daughter in a 1 bed pool villa. From arrival to departure we couldn't fault anything. It was the attention to detail and little touches which made our stay the most relaxing, peaceful and enjoyable of all the accommodation we stayed in.

The villa was beautiful, with our family name on the gate. The private pool was perfect, so much so that we didn't feel the need to use the main one. The towels were the biggest i have seen and the pool and garden were tidied daily. The food both in room and in the restaurant was lovely and very reasonably priced for a hotel. Having breakfast served to the villa was a real treat and felt very indulgent compared to queuing in a busy restaurant. The accommodation overall was a real wow for us, the beds comfortable and great tv channels (says my daughter).

The hotel is very close to the main strip and beach in Sanur, which is very busy, but once back down the drive and into the villa it was like our own little haven. My husband celebrated his birthday whilst there with a complimentary massage and facials for us girls.

Each night the turn down service was so much more, with candles lit in the bathroom, mosquito repellent sprayed and incense sticks lit.

As the title suggests we didn't know that all this was so special. The other hotels we stayed in were great but it was the little things, like making sure there was 3 of everything, glasses in the bathroom, chairs both in side and out, sun beds etc. the great staff, the tranquility of the place, the smells, the cleanliness, the leaving gift, the handmade birthday card signed by all the staff. We really wish we'd stayed here longer

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The pavilions are set back off the road, so quite secluded, but in the middle of Sanur. Not on the beach, but its only a 5 min walk ish, so we didn't find it a problem. We stayed in villa 10, so no pool, but right next to the main pool, which was always quiet. The villa was great, clean, spacious, quiet, in perfect condition. The staff were always friendly and charming. We stayed 5 nights before moving on, and we needed to do nothing for a while so it was perfect for this, although close enough to bars and restaurants if you want them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_and_BBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here in a 2-bedroom pool villa in July 2013. We found that the bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean, quite spacious and perhaps a little bit dated and in need of some redecorating. Comfortable beds. Nice living room area with ample and comfortable seating. The kitchen was again quite dated. The pool was clean and big enough. Nice loungers and lovely extra long towels. Excellent breakfast served in the living area of the villa. WIFI was the same as in any of the 6 hotels we stayed in in Bali : slow and steady, meaning that you can slow surf, read & send mail but with hardly any download capacity. Unfortunately there was a real problem with mosquitoes in and around the rooms. Even though there were mosquito nets, burners and lotion, we were unable to protect ourselves and went home full of mosquito bites. The villa compound is very private and thus has no views outside of the villa. It is a matter of preference if you like this or not. To us it was great for 3 nights but would seem too secluded for a longer period of time. Staff was very friendly and efficient. We reported a problem with the shower in the evening and it was repaired the next morning. The main pool area is very nice and we enjoyed having cocktails and lunch there. The restaurant, even though it looked very nice, remained quite empty at night and we too opted to dine elsewhere. The location along the main road in Sanur was excellent for us. Lots of shops including Hardy's supermarket and restaurants around and close enough to the beach. We didn't go to the spa but we had a complementary food massage in the room and that was excellent and the best we had in Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We came from Damai to the Bali Pavilions in Sanur only to participate in a 3 day PADI Open Water course (by the Crystal Divers). This was our only reason for chosing this location.

Sanur is a VERY touristed stretch of shops, bars and restaurants bordering the 8km
beach. Thank god there is very little night life so the main street is only busy and
noisy during the day. Most activity fades away between 11-12PM.

The Pavilions is situated behind a long narow passage flanked by dense bamboo, which
makes for a nice entrance especially when lit by candles at night. The frontdesk were
very attentive and pleasant. We carried our own luggage to the villa which was located
ajacent to the restaurant.

I asked if the laundry service could clean our clothes. They picked it up at 6PM and we
got it back at 8AM the next morning, neatly folded. On another occation we needed to
get our shorts dryed quickly. The laundry service picked them up and one hour the came
back dried. That is truely great service!

The restaurant is small and honestly not very interesting. It does okay for an occational
meal but as you will find hundreds of restaurants within a short walk, I guess that is the
options most people will take.

The villa itself has a small swimming pool (10x3m) and two nice rooms with separate
bathrooms. There is a nice sitting area and your own kitchen. The breakfast was serverd
every morning in our villa and was very nice. You order whatever you like the following
day and spot on time it is served in your villa. Nice!

The Pavilions compound has lots of flowers but the walkways are made of rough stone and not very charming. There is a small gym with a cycle, a threadmill and a workout bench. The threadmill did not seem to work, but that might have been do to an temporary glitch. The gym room was very warm and there was neither water nor towels.

We got a drink in the bar by the pool upon arrival and the results were far from the Damai
standard. The English skills by the staff were only adequite, with the exception of the
frontdesk where they understood everything we said.

At night it is VERY important that you remember your misquito repellant and close the
doors to your room. The hotels places two electrical repellants in each room and two smoke
repellats in the terrace outside and the bed has a mosquito net. Still we got quite a few
mosquito bites. The A/C in the room had a funny sound - somewhat like the wind - as it
seems to pick up outside noices. You could opt to turn it off completely as the temperature
is okay at night.

I did not have time to checkout the SPA, but it didn't look like much. In fact when I asked for a massage the could not fit me in at the SPA but managed to call an off duty therapist who came to our villa and did a very nice and professional massage. Again great service.

All in all the Pavilions is an okay hotel for a short stay, but it quickly becomes a bit
claustrofibic and you long for a place with a view and better food/drinks options. The staff is
however very attentive and always smiling. From the gartner to the frontdesk staff.

PS: The Internet connection is really bad (slow and inconsistant)! This seems to be a generral problem all over Bali, but if you plan to use the Internet professionally you're out of luck here.

Room Tip: Just a few words about Sanaur. It's a tourist trap. Lots of restaurants, small shops and bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AwayCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 10 nights and we couldn't have found a better place to spend our Honeymoon!! We had a pool villa which was very private with a lovely interior. The pool was huge and cleaned everyday. Staff were very friendly and helpful (especially the reception and butler staff!). During our stay it was also my birthday so in the morning I was given a card signed by all the staff and a voucher offering us a free 1 hour spa treatment for two people- a lovely gesture! The spa is beautiful with great staff and reasonable prices. The restaurant is also a lovely setting and the food was excellent (best lobster dinner we've ever had!). It is the perfect location- quiet and peaceful yet only 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#5 of 79 in Sanur
555 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kayumanis Sanur Private Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
531 reviews
1.5 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#18 of 79 in Sanur
2,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#16 of 79 in Sanur
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilions Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilions Bali

Address: Jl. Danau Tamblingan no. 76, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#3 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £109 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilions Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in a quiet corner of Sanur, The Pavilions Bali makes for your calming moment of bliss. Set between a reef lagoon and stretches of white sand, this secluded spot offers peace, yet is conveniently close to Sanur’s main shopping area. Enjoy The Pavilions Bali charming, spacious villas and leave your worries behind. Our personalised butlers are at your call with unobstructive attention ensuring complete privacy. Relax at The Pavilions Spa with our signature massages with handcrafted aromatic oils, enjoy breakfast in you private villa. See the real Bali with our private tailored made island tours with our butler, let our chefs create delicious Balinese candlelit dinners for you at Jahe Restaurant or at your villa. See why our guests cannot wait to come back to The Pavilions again, book today on our website for exclusive offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pavilions Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Pavilions Hotel Sanur
The Pavilions Bali Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing