We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
kaMAYA Resort and Villas
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 14 nights. The staff were all incredible! We booked a deluxe pool villa, we were given one because the other was taken, but when it was available we then got the choice of which one we wanted. Quite area, can be hard to find (even some of the local taxis had trouble). But once you've stayed there a few days you remember quite easily and end up directing them where to go! The hotel receptionist was amazing, we had chosen what activites we wanted to do, she rang and booked everything for us. The rooms were always spotless and very private. Private pools aren't big enough to do proper swimming, but big enought to relax and have fun. The hotel restaurant does very yummy food including more western style food. The hotel has their own driver to take you to the main street of Sanur. and to get a taxi back it only costs AUD$2.50-$3.00. Massage room was relaxing and peaceful. Didnt try the spa or fitness centre.

Room Tip: Pool villa on the Northeast behind the main pool is the biggest.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for kaMAYA Resort and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

The rooms were beautiful, loved the outdoor shower and bath. The service was fantastic and the staff were incredibly attentive. The location was secluded, private and quiet; just perfect for a honeymoon

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I stayed here 2 nights for my honeymoon. The location is hard to find, even with the local driver's help. There's no minimarts open nearby, so please buy all the stuff you need when you go out. The location is also quite far from the nearest beach (Sanur).

I stayed at the villa with plunge pool and garden. The room is nice and spacious. The bathroom is good. The atmosphere is very quiet. The bedding is quite okay. No TVs make it a no-no for family with children. The door to each villa is hidden so you'll never see other guests opening the door.

The breakfast is very standard, just a choice of two set menus. Considering the price, it should and could be better.

The service is quite missing, though we don't need anything from the hotel.

Overall, a good choice is you're the kind that loves relaxing at the hotel. Do remember that you need to hire a car since the nearest taxi is only available at the Sanur beach which is about 15 minutes walk.

PS: I stayed on March 2008, never tried the spa or fitness.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ign_Kristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here a few days on our honeymoon and it was fantastic!! The grounds were nice and quiet. The room was beautiful, spotless, spacious and very private. We stayed in a room with a private pool. It wasn't big enough to swim laps, but it was perfect for two people. We'd recommend staying in a room with a pool as the main guest pool is more of a wading pool. We still dream of our bathroom. It was half outdoors and just gorgeous! The food was great. The spa was fabulous. A few mosquitoes hanging out in there, but the Balinese massage was great.

The location was wonderful. It was nice and quiet on the grounds, but you are located in the heart of Sanur.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyandTYanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

My first impression of Waka Maya was dulled by a mix up over the room on arrival. This, along with a few other minor concerns during my 9 days stay here, were well and truly handled by Erna, the excellent duty manager.

Waka Maya truly is a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle outside, and although the location is not inspiring, it isn't far from most places, and they provide a free shuttle service or taxi to Sanur, 5 minutes away.

The villas are Balinese in style, nicely appointed and generally quiet and peaceful. (There is some industrial noise from outside the resort at the moment.. Sounds like someone using a grinder most of the time).

There are numerous aircraft movements overhead, as well as the rustle of wind through kites that are always flying in the skies over Bali, however you tend to get used to it.

If you are anything like me, 9 days living in a room without TV, radio or the like is a bit too much of a culture shock, especially since the street outside is hardly where you would want to be walking to get away for a while.

I brought my iPod dock from home so at least I was able to listen to my own music if I wanted.

I suggested to them that a TV and DVD player in the room would be a welcome addition, (with cheap DVD's available here) however,I don't know if that will happen.

My daughter and her family from Darwin, Australia stayed here at the same time in Bale Maja, a spacious, idyllic 2 bedroom villa with a pool. They loved their time here, and I enjoyed sharing time at their beautiful residence with them.

They moved into the deluxe 2 bedroom two storey Villa Tirte with a pool for their last night here, but we all agreed that Bale Maja was nicer.

Breakfast was OK for the first couple of days, however, (and I suggested to them that), the chef should be allowed to be more innovative, and the menu should be varied on a daily basis. As it was, we were all able to rattle off the same old things to the waitstaff when ordering each morning and we became quite bored with the menu.

The staff here should be complimented. All were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient.

In summing up, Waka Maya is a very relaxing resort in traditional Balinese fashion. It has some issues which can be improved on, and some, especially it's location, that can't.

I recommend Waka Maya for a relaxing holiday as long as you are aware of what is on offer here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank billyaztec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

So quiet. Nicely appointed. Deliciously small.
I stayed in the villa dupa. And it was much more than adequate. Plunge pool, terrace, gardens, and yoga area.
The food was very good and the staff so sweet.
The main pool was very pretty too. Way way way too much chlorine though! Although not on the beach, it's perfect for a romantic getaway, very close to everything really.
A really good base in Bali.
I will return.

Room Tip: Villa dupa is my pick but the lanai were a very close second
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Good online deal made this place good value. Thats it. Location wasnt good at all, however we sort of knew that. Villas are ok, its clean and nice - reminds a bit of six senses resorts, albeit much lower quality. Food was not super, but decent. Price wise in hotel, it was good - fair prices and so too minibar.

If you need a romantic getaway a few days, can recommend it - but with friends, a resort would have been a better choice.

Staff is nice and friendly and we could not complain about service at all!

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank Martinwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Vila Shanti Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
513 reviews
1.8 mi away
Griya Santrian
Griya Santrian
#15 of 78 in Sanur
1,528 reviews
1.8 mi away
Besakih Beach Hotel
Besakih Beach Hotel
#42 of 78 in Sanur
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to kaMAYA Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about kaMAYA Resort and Villas

Address: Jalan Tanjung 41, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanur
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#11 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £40 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — kaMAYA Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary from modern world. An island of serenity and quite.A perfect home base for your exploration of the beauty of Bali Island.Located at the western extremity of Sanur - You'll find thirdtheen delightful Balinese - Style dwellings in an exclusive sculptured environment, Seclusion, Relaxation, Serenity.Six individual self contained Villas complete with kitchen. Some with two bedrooms, some with one, all exquisite in design and detail. All stylish Balinese.A Massage Centre and Spa.A swimming pool design to echo the ancient Balinese temple bathing place. Mysterious carved statues peer through the lush tropical plantings. Ponds and water features erupt with lilies, lotus, and colorful fish.With five individual self contained villas.Each villa provides for you to make your own selves coffee or tea at anytime. A communal kitchen for us to cook you anything from a quick snack to a banquet are available. And private swimming pool for you to have relaxation in privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your kaMAYA Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waka Maya Resort Villa Hotel Sanur
Waka Maya Hotel
KaMAYA Resort And Villas Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing