We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet place to rest in the middle of a great area”
Review of Tamukami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamukami Hotel
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very quiet place to rest in the middle of a great area”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Sanur is a good area for restaurants and a great starting point for tours by land or by water. Tamukami is in the middle of the frontage road and is surrounded by many things to do. The hotel is also set back far enough from the road that you cannot hear any of the bustle when you are on the property or in your room.

The facilities are a bit dated but very well maintained and completely adequate. The motif is authentically Bali, but with a slight European influence. The food is good, but with so many surrounding options you may not eat here much.

All-in-all I am very pleased with the facility and the location for a one-week stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seawolf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    174
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
80
238
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I visited Bali from the UK for a friend's wedding. On balance of price and reviews, I chose Tamukami, and was so glad I did. It truly is paradise, quiet, excellent pool and surrounds with beautiful surrounds and flora. The bar and restaurant were excellent and I ate there every night bar 2 when other arrangements were in place. I think some of the reviews miss the point slightly in that it is an ornate and traditional place, not trying to compete with the chain hotels, and the owner is a charming man, whom the staff have the utmost respect and fondness for (I got to know most) and the flowers are donned by all, men and women alike, so he's not being smarmy or creepy at all, it's a Balinese tradition!! As for the menu being mainly European, that's nonsense, the franchisee and all staff are Balinese, and that's 85% of what they offer, and it is fantastic. The place won 2nd best Balinese restaurant in the region last year for goodness sake!! My only negatives would be that the room smelled a little damp, and the're was evidence of a past leak from above in several walls and ceiling areas, and it would have been nice to have coffee making facilities in the room, but all in all it's still 5/5 for me

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh270974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great staff, efficient, reasonable English, Rooms large and well cleaned and serviced, magnificient bathroom with separate shower and bath. Staff well supervised.
Food: well prepared in full view of dining room. Experienced long delays between courses especially on the fixed menu...30 minutes before course one and two is ridiculous. The quality of preparation varied too from about 7 to 10 out of ten.
My only problem is that I am an extreme asthmatic and was not told about the weekly fogging with insecticide for mosquitoes --dengue fever is in Bali! My first week threre the fogging was combined with a hand spraying for ants and fleas using an organic phosphate (the one that turns white in water and looks like greasy milk)!!!!! Result was a quick return home and two days in hospital with mild organo poisoning...headache, mouth blisters, raw throat, vomiting, etc.
The management gave me discount on unused days and Garuda let me fly a different date for $100 US.

Room Tip: Write down the following for emergencies: Saya perlu doctor--- I need a doctor Saya punya diari. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Tamukami in March and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was huge for our family of 4 and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast included and it was adequate. The location of this hotel is terrific - close to many great restaurants, a short walk through The Sands across the road to the beach path and walking distance to Hardys. The only minor issue we had was that most other guests were older Europeans who seemed very put out by our kids being in the pool. Our boys were very well behaved and certainly not noisy at all but these older couples seemed to want the pool area to themselves. I would still definitely stay at Tamukami again but maybe not with children as it seems like most guests at this hotel prefer real peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We loved the large room and bathroom. It was very comfortable and the grounds and rooms were always kept clean. The staff were always helpful and amazing. The food was really nice. We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We arrived at this hotel in Sanur and were greeted by the reception staff and our luggage was taken care of and sent to our room.
We were given a welcome drink and then shown to our very nice large bedroom with an enormous bed and bathroom area, one of the largest rooms we have ever had.
There was a lovely flower arrangement and a bowl of fruit provided for us.
The room also had a well stocked mini bar if you fancied a drink.
One of my favourites was the swimming pool, it was quite large and very warm but at the time we were there, not too busy.
Breakfast was very nice with a good choice, we never ate evening dinner in the restaurant as we prefer to try local Balinese food and the menu was very European, although there was set meals with over inflated prices especially for the new year and quiet day.
The Hotel is situated not far from the beach, local restaurants and bars.
Everything was in walking distance.
When we were there, there was a wasps nest in the tree by the swimming pool and someone had the bright idea to smoke them out and encourage them to fly all over the swimming pool area and die all over the path, where guests stung themselves including us, also another great idea was to spray the mosquito killer at 4pm just as most guests were lying on their sunbeds, great for people with breathing difficulties, why not do it in the evening when all guests are out?
The owners were a Belgium couple and although the lady appeared to be very pleasant the elderly man was awful, from the moment we met him he was so creepy, firstly telling us what setting to put the air con on, placing flowers behind the ladies ears, spying on people from behind a screen and the final straw and that was the only and last time we went for a drink when he was drinking red wine and quite drunk and blowing kisses at the very young waitresses behind the bar, who were clearly embarrassed by his behaviour.
Every single member of the Balinese staff were friendly and efficient and a pleasure to deal with.
This hotel was comfortable, probably very plush in its day but is looking a little tired and could do with a little bit of TLC.
If the owners left the running of the hotel to the very capable staff, it would be so much better.

Room Tip: Pick the Bungalow style rooms as you get so much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dovecotedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights. Large rooms and very large beds but only 2 pillows supplied but clean sheets supplied every day. Very good breakfast and restaurant good value with live music most nights. The complimentary drink at dinner is a nice touch. Very friendly and obliging staff. The pool is great and the gardens are well maintained.We were actually in 2 different rooms and my daughter and family in another. All three rooms had the same problem. The showers need a jolly good scrub as there is mould growing in the grouting. Also if you order room service they often forget to collect the dishes and they are left for hours. All in all good value but could be so much better if these little things were fixed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.6 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#27 of 78 in Sanur
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
The Oasis Lagoon Sanur
#30 of 78 in Sanur
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
499 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nesa Sanur
Nesa Sanur
#25 of 78 in Sanur
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamukami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamukami Hotel

Property: Tamukami Hotel
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#13 Family Hotel in Sanur
#23 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamukami Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO TAMUKAMI Located in the central of Sanur, the name of "TAMUKAMI" is not chosen at random, it is Indonesian for "Our Guest" Tamukami is a place where you can enjoy your relaxing holiday from your daily hustle-bustle life, where you can find peace and quiet to refresh your mind and soul. You will feel at home from the first moment you enter Tamukami. Our new look accommodation offer you to stay in "Paradise" and you will experience a stay that you won't easily forget! Come and stay with us, we are pleased to welcoming you to be a part of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamukami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamukami Hotel Sanur
Tamukami Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing