We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable”
Review of Tamukami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamukami Hotel
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Tamukami has a great central location, but because it's set back from the busy road, it's a peaceful oasis. Lovely details in the rooms and gardens. We stayed here for a week and enjoyed the pool, the very friendly staff, and the easy walk to the beach. So convenient to have breakfast right there each morning. The AC unit was a bit noisy, but we did appreciate having a cool and mosquito-free room. Clean, safe, and good for kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    171
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
79
236
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks with friends including adults and teenagers and we all enjoyed the tranquility of this hotel away from the busy streets. A quick stroll across the road and thru other hotel gardens gets you to the beach front. Great bungalow rooms spacious and clean. Wonderful staff. Lovely pool and plenty of lounges. Would stay again. The owner could be a bit less visible but hey it is his hotel and he lives there. 20 rooms.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Tamukami for three nights. Overall it was a good hotel and we were pleased we picked it. It is one road back from the beach and very quiet. We were a litlle worried when we got our room (201) as it was right next to the restauant, but we didn't hear a thing (and one night were having drinks at out outdoor setting and listened to the musicians playing that evening.

The staff and room servicing was very good and the pool was clean and a perfect temp. As others have said, the rooms are a little outdated, but we got the larger of the room types and it was hugh. The bed was a little odd - it was two double beds pushed together - so it was larger than a king size but had an uncomfortable line down the middle!

We have breakfast included and it was fairly standard fair - no better or worse than anywhere else.

We got a deal one of the hotel sites and paid around $100US a night, which I thought was quite good value.

Others mentioned the owner... we did see him on arrival... he was a little odd... but that was the last we saw of him for the trip! It isn't a place you go to party, we are in our late 30's and probably decreased the avereage age of guests by several decades, but it was quiet, clean, comfortable and a good choice I think.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Tamukami during the silence day on Bali. So our experience can be a little different than most visitors during the year. The hotel is clean and the pool was good. The rooms are very big and the showers are fine. For silence day they had prepared a fixed menu, which was pretty good. Especially the breakfast was rich and huge. We loved it. The hotel was way above our budget, but we wanted to spend silence day with our parents, who stayed here. Expect to pay a lot more then your average backpackers guest house, but go for this option if you want to splurge.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Sanur is a good area for restaurants and a great starting point for tours by land or by water. Tamukami is in the middle of the frontage road and is surrounded by many things to do. The hotel is also set back far enough from the road that you cannot hear any of the bustle when you are on the property or in your room.

The facilities are a bit dated but very well maintained and completely adequate. The motif is authentically Bali, but with a slight European influence. The food is good, but with so many surrounding options you may not eat here much.

All-in-all I am very pleased with the facility and the location for a one-week stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seawolf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I visited Bali from the UK for a friend's wedding. On balance of price and reviews, I chose Tamukami, and was so glad I did. It truly is paradise, quiet, excellent pool and surrounds with beautiful surrounds and flora. The bar and restaurant were excellent and I ate there every night bar 2 when other arrangements were in place. I think some of the reviews miss the point slightly in that it is an ornate and traditional place, not trying to compete with the chain hotels, and the owner is a charming man, whom the staff have the utmost respect and fondness for (I got to know most) and the flowers are donned by all, men and women alike, so he's not being smarmy or creepy at all, it's a Balinese tradition!! As for the menu being mainly European, that's nonsense, the franchisee and all staff are Balinese, and that's 85% of what they offer, and it is fantastic. The place won 2nd best Balinese restaurant in the region last year for goodness sake!! My only negatives would be that the room smelled a little damp, and the're was evidence of a past leak from above in several walls and ceiling areas, and it would have been nice to have coffee making facilities in the room, but all in all it's still 5/5 for me

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh270974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great staff, efficient, reasonable English, Rooms large and well cleaned and serviced, magnificient bathroom with separate shower and bath. Staff well supervised.
Food: well prepared in full view of dining room. Experienced long delays between courses especially on the fixed menu...30 minutes before course one and two is ridiculous. The quality of preparation varied too from about 7 to 10 out of ten.
My only problem is that I am an extreme asthmatic and was not told about the weekly fogging with insecticide for mosquitoes --dengue fever is in Bali! My first week threre the fogging was combined with a hand spraying for ants and fleas using an organic phosphate (the one that turns white in water and looks like greasy milk)!!!!! Result was a quick return home and two days in hospital with mild organo poisoning...headache, mouth blisters, raw throat, vomiting, etc.
The management gave me discount on unused days and Garuda let me fly a different date for $100 US.

Room Tip: Write down the following for emergencies: Saya perlu doctor--- I need a doctor Saya punya diari. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.2 mi away
Respati Beach Hotel - Sanur
0.1 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.3 mi away
Taksu Sanur Hotel
Taksu Sanur Hotel
#12 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peneeda View Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
Bumi Ayu Bungalows
#26 of 76 in Sanur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Puri Mesari Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamukami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamukami Hotel

Property: Tamukami Hotel
Address: Jln. Danau Tamblingan 64X | Denpasar - Bali, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#13 Family Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamukami Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tamukami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamukami Hotel Sanur
Tamukami Hotel Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing