We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of complete renovation”
Review of Lestari Homestay

Lestari Homestay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lestari Homestay
Ranked #88 of 135 Sanur B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“In need of complete renovation”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was in room 6 - I walked in off the street after I arrived in Sanur a day earlier than expected. I only needed one night because I was moving into my villa the next day.
This room was so old and decrepit but it still cost me rp400k - so-called 'Deluxe' room. The shower over bath was dirty, the toilet was fine but the bathroom door didn't close so there was nothing stopping smells getting in. There are lamps on the bedside tables which I put on the floor because I was worried I would knock them over - they were really big and didn't even work anyway. I paid extra for a dvd player which only played my dvds (bought across the road in Sanur) in black and white. Later in my villa I played them in colour and it was fine, so it definitely wasn't the discs, it was their player. At least there was air-conditioning, that's all I can say about it really. The sheets seemed clean but they also had a kind of cologne smell which made me think they hadn't cleaned them really, maybe just 'brushed' them off. I was on the ground floor and the windows looked out at the car park - that's fine for a motel, but they were charging me 'Deluxe' prices - also the curtains were difficult to close, since when I pulled them gently to the left or right the velcro fastening immediately ripped off and I had to get up on a chair to fix them.
The staff speak no english almost at all - and they refused to turn on the eftpos machine so I was forced to walk half a kilometre in the heat while I was sick, in order to pay and check out. I almost thought it would serve them right not to pay at all - since they were making it so difficult - but I paid for the room AND the dvd player that didn't work. All up rp450,000. It was easier than trying to argue with them. Later on I stayed somewhere down the road that was absolutely gorgeous with great staff and everything included (no extra dvd charge) for rp400,000 - so I would say that there is absolutely no point in staying in this place. It doesn't function well as a resort, and it doesn't even meet the standard of a temporary motel-like option. So they should really just knock it down and start again. The only reason I've put two stars is because it is right in the middle of Sanur which is the best place in Bali.

Room Tip: The people at the back of the complex seemed to be enjoying themselves (but they were not westerners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreatSpaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a fan-only room upstairs. The guesthouse has a nice court in the middle, where breakfast was served (good portion, we liked it), and a neat small pool with a day bed. The frangipani trees smell wonderful and it's generally calm.
The room and bed were simple and okay. There's TV and a fridge we wouldn't use (made the room too hot). Unfortunately we had lots of ants (which happens even in upper class hotels in Bali) and the bathroom wasn't after our taste at all. The toilet didn't flush properly (we used the shower head in addition) and everything felt very old.
Lestari Homestay is only 10 min from the beach (easy walk, too), close to restaurants, and a small supermarket. Further south you'll find low priced massage places and further north (past the huge resort's gardens) you'll find a bit more upscale shops and restaurants. The road (Jalan Danau Tamblingan) is heavily frequented but you hear almost nothing from it.
Overall it was okay but since we didn't fall in love with Sanur we wouldn't come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 21 nights. The only bad point was the bathroom could have done with being a little cleaner. We soon sorted that out & even brought ourselves a nice little bath mat for the tiled floor.
Everything else was great! They even used to serve my breakfast on the patio outside our room. We probably had one of the bigger better rooms no11.
The staff were very helpful even lending me the DVD player off reception wifi was standard Bali wifi so don't expect to much there but it's the same everywhere. Motorbike hire was easily done with a decent bike & 2 new helmets. Nice pool that deprnding on the amount of guests means sometime you can have pool area all to your self Would defiantly stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I've never written a review before but I always heavily rely on the reviews of others when choosing where to stay. I hate that my first review has to be a bad one but I will track back and write at others I have had wonderful experiences at.
Unfortunately the stay we had here (we only managed one night!) was the worst hotel night stay I have ever had and I have travelled around a lot.
It was late when we arrived here and literally dropped our bags and headed out for food. Upon returning we found our guests had settled in for the night. The place was teeming with cockroaches. Not little cockroaches - I can deal with them! But massive, massive cockroaches. They mainly inhabited the bathroom area but that didn't stop them entering the bedroom frequently. After my fiancé coming to the rescue and moving four, more came out of the woodwork. My fiancé hates to kill animals of any kind so dropping them in the toilet wasn't his first choice but non the less unsuccessful - they come straight back up! Little buggers! The count was 8-9 by the time we gave up and I sat up in bed for the night. I'm not normally bothered about bugs and I've had many stays including plenty of camping trips where bugs are inevitable but this was ridiculous.
The next morning I talked to the office staff who were incredibly unhelpful and not at all apologetic. They refused to give any discount and demanded the price for the room in full. They didn't get it!
It wouldn't have been quite as bad if the rest of the stay was pleasant but the unchanged bed sheets with stains and pubic hairs throughout the bed, including under the pillow really topped it all off!

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Travelbug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanur hotels

Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at Lestari homestay in Sanur for about 1 month during our 2 month's stay in Bali. The guesthouse is well located in the heart of Sanur and offers a range of different rooms with reasonable prices. There's a really nice swimming pool on the yard and the breakfast is very good and generous. The staff are really friendly and helpful and even let us store our suitcases in the guesthouse while we travelled around Bali. The rooms are simple but they have everything you need and if you're a dog lover you'll fall in love with the family's dogs that you'll often see on the yard playing around. If you're looking for a budget option with some nice facilities such as a swimming pool, free breakfast, free wifi, ac/fan Lestari homestay is a very good option in Sanur!

Room Tip: If you're on a tight budget choose a room with a fan which is a little bit cheaper. The rooms by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeyD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel from outside but the rooms are dirty specially the bed!bathroom needs to be cleaned too.friendly and helpfull staff.good location and quiet place not too far from the beach. prices a bit expensive for the room but there is a nice medium-size pool!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roulinceline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
0.1 mi away
Gunakaya Homestay
Gunakaya Homestay
#61 of 78 in Sanur
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Agung & Sue Watering Hole II
0.1 mi away
Duyung Homestay
Duyung Homestay
#50 of 139 in Sanur
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Abian Harmony Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Touring Homestay
Touring Homestay
#52 of 135 in Sanur
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maha Laksmi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lestari Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lestari Homestay

Property: Lestari Homestay
Address: Jalan Danau Tamblingan 188, Sanur, Denpasar, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lestari Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lestari Homestay Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing