We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best beach stay we have experienced to date”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Utopia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best beach stay we have experienced to date”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We chose a deluxe, motel style room in the garden wing somewhat by accident as our hotel of choice was undergoing renovations and was fully booked. We are so glad we did! Puri Santrian is also on the beach but more than 1km south, and not so central. Griya had everything we wished for, good service, clean, comfortable rooms, a day spa, three wonderful pools, lovely beachfront and is central 'with a capital C'. The Bintang and food is a little pricey in comparison to in street and beach cafes, but with a gourmet selection within five minutes walk from the hotel, you can't complain. There is free Wi fi available and free, limited internet. There are plenty of transport options at the door, and around 120,000 Rupiah ($13 AUD) will get you to the airport. Most drivers will agree to 300,000 Rupiah ($35) for the day. We had a couple of 90 minute Swedish massages at the day spa which cost 182,000 rupiah each ($20 AUD). However, beware, the hotel adds a 21% tax to all food and beverages and services. Our room, which apparently is the basic level cost us $145 p/n incl tax which we booked online. I'm sure there are plenty of cheaper options elsewhere, we hear of them all the time, but you can also come unstuck. Not at Griya where you actually get what you pay for, service, luxury, beachfront and superior Balinese style architecture. Our suggestions to management include a couple of chairs for when watching TV, thicker curtains (we woke up with sunrise each day) and new towels Urgently! We loved our stay and will certainly return to Griya...hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Request upstairs, they have large, private balconies and don't have noise from above unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkyfivefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    512
    127
    43
    14
See reviews for
368
726
54
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

go for it, no doubt, excellent. area is nice too, surounding is good too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We were in a garden room near the back of the property which was quiet and suited us fine. Our room had been recently renovated. There are three pools on the site, with one just opposite our room. We spoke with several other guests, some of whom have been coming to this same hotel for 10 or more years. The breakfast was fresh and very good and was in their lovely oceanfront restaurant where we often went for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PikoVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Lovely friendly staff, the hotel was in a lovely location right on the beach front, rooms were very clean we had a garden view which was nice and peaceful only on a couple of occasions were we disturbed by the room above us in early hours of morning moving furniture about. The hotel had three pools in amazing gardens one main pool and two smaller. On the front of the hotel there was like a promenade going along the beach with loads of places to eat and stalls to buy from the only down side was the locals would'nt leave you alone pestered you alot to buy from their stalls or massages in the end it put me off looking if only they would realise if they left you to browse then they would of probably have got a sale. Also if you go out the back of the hotel in to the main street of sanur there are many restuarant where you are spoilt for choice to eat and the local food is so cheap and amazing .

There are also loads of watersports along the beach to try . Must mention the restaurant staff cleaners and reception all lovely people went out of their way to help thanks to all of them. There was not much for children to do only pool and beach.
One more tip if you have any body treatments done stick to the hotel they are very good and reasonable.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms seemed very peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Rooms in this resort are a bit tired and, if not dirty, not extremely clean neither. The gardens and swimming pools are nice and the beach in front of the hotel is protected by the reef from big waves, so swimming here is quite pleasant. Breakfast and drinks are served in the restaurant facing the sea, and there is WIFI available in the lobby area.
It is not a bad budget option for a couple of days.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chus_Gijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Griya Santrian is an absolute idyllic delight! It is a lovely tropical paradise with lush greenery, charming rustic stone statues all over, lovely pools and gazebos on a pretty golden beach shaded with palm trees and a good supply of sun lounges and umbrellas.

We were happy to be upgraded to a Deluxe Garden villa, which was large, pretty and soothing with Balinese décor, a very comfortable King bed and great bathroom with a fantastic shower! It may be one of the renovated ones. Tip: I always ask for renovated rooms when I make the reservation request.

We were fascinated by the cobbled beach path that meandered for miles with shops and resorts on the side and several cafes right on the beach, and enjoyed long walks with the balmy ocean breeze caressing our faces and the swishing sounds of the trees filling our senses. We enjoyed some wonderful food in the hotel and at the cafes.

We found the staff to be incredibly sweet, friendly and helpful with smiling faces all the time. Yulia, one of the reservation mangers, was most courteous, promptly replied to my emails and was so kind to make adjustments to my reservation request and give us the upgrade!

We had such a lovely time at this resort that it will definitely be our choice of stay when we return and we have already highly recommended it to our friends. It is fantastic value for a 4-star experience!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmingNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Beautiful beach and lovely setting. Don't get the full breakfast as you will given opportunity to get a continental breakfast for only $5. It includes plenty of fruit, pastries, eggs and coffee. Why pay $30 for the full breakfast when the $5 breakfast is more than enough. I would go back again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverleyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
2,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing