We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, hard to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic, hard to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We have just returned from our eight night stay at the Griya Santrian (May 2012) and had a fantastic time. We had booked a newly renovated Deluxe room but were upgraded on arrival (around 1am after late night flight) to a Suite - loved it! The Griya is just perfect - modern, exceptionally clean, with great facilities, beautiful grounds (well maintained by their busy gardening staff), a fantastic location, gorgeous swimming pools and really welcoming, smiling staff who are just so friendly and extremely helpful. The location is perfect - close to all the good eateries and has the best location as far as beach frontage goes. We spent every evening relaxing under the beatiful gazebo on the beach with cocktail in hand - which were all of a generous size and very well priced. It was our first trip to Bali - we did a lot of looking around the island in that time but think Sanur (and the Griya Santrian) were the pick of the places we visited - not too busy but just enough happening - and we will definitely be staying there again next year!

Room Tip: Suites are quieter and away from the main pool area - but close to the much quieter pool which suits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    506
    127
    42
    14
See reviews for
360
720
53
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We had a short stay at Griya Santrian, and at the Santrian Suite. The bathroom was big and spacious and the bed had nice fluffy pillows with mosquito netting around it so we don't get bit at night! They have three pools, though not very large, but enough to accommodate its guests. Each room, as we can see, have large balconies equipped with chairs and a couch for reading or lounging purposes.

The room service was prompt and the hotel's restaurant had good food choices. The staff were friendly and helpful and some are even quite chatty!

I'll definitely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Santrian Suite and it was roomy indeed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtanbrainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and i and our 14month old daughter had the pleasure of staying at The Griya Santrian for a short 5 day break and i have to say we had a fantastic time!...the staff were so friendly and always there to help, plus the resort was in the perfect spot right on the beach!...we had a beach wing room overlooking the pool, which i thoroughly recommend. The pool by the beach with its swim up bar was great, especially as it had a shallow area for children, which comes in handy when you need to keep a watch on the kids...it was a fair bit quieter than Kuta, but that suited us much better, and although quieter the restaurants and bars were some of the best i have been to. The food at the Griya could not have been better, and very affordable. We booked this holiday on their website and the information and details they gave us by e-mail could not have been more helpful, and we particularly would like to mention Yulia for all the help prior to coming, and arranging a cot in the room for our little one...nothing was ever too much trouble. If i had to be in the smallest way critical, some of the rooms needed a bit of an upgrade such as a seperate shower instead of shower in the bath, but that did not spoil anything for us one bit, and while we were there we noticed they were upgrading parts of the resort anyway. That aside this was a great place to stay, and we will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at the Griya Santrian for 10 nights in April 2012. Sanur is a quiet resort with the usual tourist shops, eateries and beach. The locals are all very friendly but the place gets very quiet in the evening (about 1030pm), so go elsewhere if you want some nightlife. The majority of other reviews describe the grounds and resort quite well. It is a quiet and tidy resort, however there had been some recent building work, which had almost been completed by the time we arrived and did not interfere with our enjoyment. The room was at best OK and could we not reconcile the woops of delight about the rooms from some of the other writers. Perhaps we were unlucky. Our room (109) was at the end of a path, so there were no people passing (quiet), but opposite was a brick wall. Being on the ground floor, there was no sun light, so the room was always dark. The double bed was assembled from 2 singles, complete with a hump in the middle and no headboard on one half, which was attached to the wall elsewhere in the room.
We tried several the local resturants for each evening meal and were interested in those offering live music. All provided good food with entertaining musicians playing a broad selection of requests. Best of the best was the Wicked Parrott, which happened to be located closest to the resort. The food was fresh, finest ingredients, well cooked and presented - outstanding!
We went on a Bali Highlights trip, which included a Barong & Kris show, poo coffee & spice garden, resturant overlooking a volcano for lunch, wood carving workshop and a house within a local village - all very good and gave us some good photo opportunities and memories.

Room Tip: Very few room overlook the sea. An upstairs room of family villa would give a better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have recently returned from a seven night visit to the Griya Santrian.
The hotel is located right on the beach and is just wonderful – the grounds are maintained with great care and every time you walk along a path you notice a garden ornament or a plant display you hadn’t seen before – they really are beautiful and add to the hotels relaxing atmosphere
.
We stayed in a beach wing room which was located very near the beach and pool.
We never had trouble getting a lounger either on the beach or around the pool – I am an early riser so used to watch the locals fish in the shallows first thing in the morning – it was the most peaceful time of the day on the beach (no noisy jet skies!)
Our room was a good size and kept beautifully clean and on the one occasion we did have a problem with the plumbing – it was resolved within minutes – fantastic service from the maintenance guys.

We opted to include breakfast and were never disappointed – there was plenty of choice with a view of the sea – what more could you asks for?

We booked a downhill bike ride and white water rafting trip with Bali Adventure Tours - who I can recommend, the day ran smoothly and the buffet lunch at the Elephant Safari Lodge was delicious. The bike ride was not only great fun but really educational and I felt we had experienced a part of Bali that many people miss out on.

We chose to eat at the local restaurants in Main Street just outside the hotel and experienced great food and service wherever we went.

We also took a boat trip from the beach and experienced some great snorkelling.
This was our first visit to Bali and should we ever return would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MJV10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Have stayed at Griya twice..July 2010 and July 2011.
We stayed in a Deluxe room both times...absolutely fabulous.
Staff are kind and willing to help with absolutely anything.
Choice of food, both in the hotel and at neighbouring resorts/restaurants..all within walking distance is unbeatable.
Other hotel facilities, pools spa etc are amazing.
And the location is perfect...right on the beach, handy shopping nearby for and not far to travel to for more touristy stuff....Mind you I was always glad to get back to the peace and quiet of Griya whenever we went out anywhere. :)
I'm gushing a bit, but all i can say is it's great place to escape from the world for a while.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My wife and I made the mistake of stopping by the hotel to have an early evening drink and tried one of the hotels fruit cocktails. One was supposed to have vodka in it and the other tequila. We would have been better off buying bottled water. There was a buy two get one free special on. We didn't waste our time getting the freebie. It is a nice hotel but forget the fruit cocktails.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#15 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing