We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous on Sanur Beach”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #15 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

From the moment you walk into the Lobby you are transported to luxury. I like the Garden Suite Rooms back from the beach, second floor is my favorite. Wonderful terrace overlooking the more private pool.

Room Tip: Garden Suite Room by the more private pool away from the beach. I like the second floor with large t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

My daughter & I stayed here after an unpleasant experience at Peneeda View, we looked up last minute bookings, caught a taxi & checked out the hotel. We stayed in a twin bed Garden Wing room facing a refurbished pool & pergola, very nice.(Rm 157) The hotel guests were of a wide range of ages & nationalities, all going about their activities in a quiet manner. Gardens beautiful, 3 pools clean & sparkling - necessary because you cannot swim in the sea. Staff on the ball & pleasant. Breakfast located in a wonderful pavillion facing the ocean, food quality great. Luggage scales in the foyer & lockers. Standard 2 x bottles water per day. Take no notice of the brochure in yr rm stating that 'any food & drink bought into the hotel will be charged', it is not enforced. Have visited Bali many, many times, I'd would say Griya is more appealing than Segara Village.

Room Tip: Whatever room you have you aren't far from a pool,they look inward into the gardens, however it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveljoy734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We just got back from a 12 night stay at the Griya. It was the first time we have stayed here and we will be back. We have been to bali many times and this was our best stay yet.
The area of Sanur is perfect if you are not a fan of Kuta. The moment I arrived at the hotel I immediatly began to relax. We have a 3 yr old and we stayed in a Garden Wing room. It was huge. Plenty of space for the three of us. It had a newly renovated bathroom with a walk in shower (yay!). The bed was firm, hubby didnt like this but was ok with everything else.
We didnt have breakfast included and went every morning to "the Porch" cafe it is so yummy and just across the road from hotel, coffee is really good here.
We ate lunch around the pool a few times and it was always good and prices very reasonable. Cocktails at night also good too.
The service of staff was great. It is a friendly hotel. Most guests are regulars and are happy to tell you all about good restaraunts in the area.
We chose to use the pool that was just outside our room, it was great when our son was having a nap and we could laze by the pool and keep an ear out for him.
The gardens are amazing, and the hotel itself is very good for a 3 star. We walked along the beach looking at other hotels and this by far is the best.
It is surrounded by really good places to eat and the road is not too busy to cross, even with a 3 yr old in tow.
We got our massages at a little place called "Intan Beauty" We found Sitti's massages the best. She worked for many years at the Griya in the spa. So if you want a beautiful massage at a bargain price go see her!
This hotel is really special. I loved every moment of my holiday at the Griya and hope to be back soon.
Favourite places to eat were The Porch cafe- Breakfast Cinnamon, 3 monkeys and Arena Sports bar- food here is really really good, if going on weekend make sure you book, it gets really busy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrorganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We choose the hotel based on other reviews and it was great choice! The rooms are nice and good. The staff is very firendly and helpful. The overall atmosphere is great. The hotel is located in tropical garden, next to the beach. Breakfast was excellent, big choice of everything you may wish. Nice bistro with italian cusine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ad_vonsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We decided to go to Bali as it was actually cheaper than going to Greece for two weeks! 4 of us went together (two couples). Went traveled with Thomson worldwide and did not realise that we had a guide -Sadra who met us at the Airport. He turned out to be the most wonderful guide and assisted us with everything during our whole holiday We arrived at the Hotel at night so only really saw the reception. They welcomed us and proceeded to tell us we had been upgraded, this did mean that we were away from our friends they got a pool side villa type room! and we got a deluxe room! As said it was dark when we arrived so the time we saw the view from our room was in the morning when our friends rang to say "have you looked out side yet!!!" i got up and looked out and it was absolutely breathtaking!! so perfect! the hotel was wonderful. The restaurant was o.k but to be honest we ate out nearly all the time its a lot cheaper, and the food i would say is better outside the hotel. (more choice) the pizzas are good tho! don't be afraid of trying them just don't eat at the street side stalls. Outside your hotel room every morning you get bottled water to. WHAT WE DID - As we had decided that this would be a once in life time holiday we did everything whilst we were there. White Water Rafting and elephant treking tour - the white water rafting was incredible it was 2 hours long! Elephant treking was o.k but do not like to see them not roaming free. we toured the whole of the island visiting silver makers, temples, gardens and rice plantations. We took a trip to coffee plantations and saw the Luwak and tasted the worlds most expensive coffee although for us the Ginseng coffee was a bigger hit! we went scuba diving to! some really good training - impressive! the one day which a little bit grey we were booked on a trip to a rig out to sea that had slides and activities on but the sea was not on my side - poorly! to top off our holiday we went on a sunset cruise (do not imagine big cruise ship!) it was amazing to watch the sunset out at sea and my partner down on one knee! may be that's also why, Bali is the best holiday i have been on! (we actually traveled 2009)

Room Tip: go higher do not have as many passing people to get to there rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HAPPYTIMES1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here from the 1st May until the 10 May in a deluxe room. The room was excellent, a good bed, a great shower and it was serviced every morning. There was a plug converter in the room, two bottles of water delivered every day, the staff were very friendly. The breakfast (included) was good. There are three pools and sunbeds by the sea. Everything was clean and tidy and handy to all the shops. We would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libsterchristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Decided with my husband to lash out for a fancy meal at griya. Huge mistake! With a little one in tow we asked for kids menu - there wasn't one! Ordered two cocktails that tasted like fruit cordial. Received dinner - steak tough as boots, overpriced and came with no sides (available if you would like to pay more), fish undercooked and tasted just a little fishy (off?). Told them about fish -told that because I had a couple bites I had to
Pay for whole dish! This restaurant charges 21 percent tax on everything too! A con by Balinese standards. Tonight was our way of deciding whether to stay here next time - not a bloody chance! And to think I grew up spending childhood holidays here!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shoegal40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#18 of 79 in Sanur
2,317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#9 of 79 in Sanur
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#6 of 79 in Sanur
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#4 of 79 in Sanur
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £80 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing