We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Amazing People”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Location could not be better, beautiful rooms, very well appointed, very much loved the balcony. Food was good, but more fun and cheaper to walk out to the street. Loved Sanur and this resort, the pools were amazing.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank reno4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Due to the renovations taking place - on our arrival we were upgraded to Suites. The Suites were cool & spacious with huge bathroom / dressing rooms, large balconies and were nicely situated near a shady pool. It was a short walk through the lovely garden to the beach.
We didn’t eat breakfast here –it wasn’t included in our room rate and didn’t look good value. We walked ( note it’s a long walk you may want to take a taxi) to Grocer & Grind.
Enjoyed everything else about the Griya Santrian especially the swim up bar.
We borrowed the free bikes, had a good foot massage by the pool, frequented the great swim up bar and enjoyed complimentary afternoon tea at the Beach Cafe. Bottom line was we weren't impacted by the renovations (the hotel ensured work stopped at 5 pm) and really enjoyed our stay. The only downside being the cleaner who put a lot of pressure on us to leave our rooms - despite having a late checkout - and our protests, he began cleaning whilst the family were still packing (and I was in the shower!) And finally a recommendation to management to put a fan on the terrace.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here back in January 2012 for few nights after spending new years in legian. This resort was peaceful and relaxing compared to being in busy legian due to time of year. Our room was good and we enjoyed our view of garden pool. One day our air con died whilst out and when got back after informing front lobby they moved us to a different room for the night which was at the front of the resort near beach was nice too but I was happy to return to our original room with brand new air con. Older resort but well maintained and lovely staff. Sanur is away from main drag but in all honesty I preferred that as we didn't get bugged by locals all the time. Little restaurant up the road Retro was great food and we ate there a fair bit. Would we stay here again? Yes or sister resort. Would we recommend to family and friends? Yes

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jazzie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent 4 nights at Griya Santrian last week. My check-in experience was not great and after I told the older gentleman who was checking me in that my husband would not be joining me (he had to stay in Sydney for his work) I was allocated what I’m sure was the worst beach wing room in the entire hotel. This is low season and there were plenty of other beach wing rooms available. There was construction noise going on and I asked the porter if that goes on all day and he said that it does. I wasn’t going to stand for this sort of treatment for the amount of money I paid for a beach wing room (which I also doubt it was) so I went back to Reception and spoke to a lovely woman at the Reception desk who was more accommodating thatn the man I initially dealt with - and I was then given a room close to the beach which was lovely. So beware if you are a solo female traveller and don’t let yourself be put in one of the worst rooms in the hotel! I’ve travelled a lot and have had this sort of trick pulled before by hotels.

The hotel is very spacious, with large pool with swim up bar and another attractive, smaller pool. I met my sister and her husband for lunch at the restaurant one day and the food was good, arrived quickly, was value for money and the wait staff very friendly. I recommend rising early to see the sun rise over the horizon as the view from the beach out the front is wonderful. The location is great and it’s a short walk to Hardy’s dept store for some shopping if you don’t like to haggle. What I liked about the beach is you aren’t hassled by people wanting you to buy this and that and can sit on a sun lounge, read a book, go for a swim in the ocean and maybe back to the pool for a drink and feel totally relaxed. It’s an ideal location for those who would prefer to be away from the frantic pace of Legian/Kuta and Seminyak and it’s a hotel where you can do as much (with tours) or as little as you wish. Apart from my initial check in experience, which was promptly resolved, I enjoyed my stay at Griya Santrian, would recommend this hotel to others and would come back again. One thing to note: the hotel practises ‘fogging’ each Saturday whereby they spray the grounds with insecticide for mosquitos as I was told the mozzies are a real problem - but I’m someone who uses no chemicals in my house so I stayed in my room, towel up against the door until the chemical fog subsided. This didn’t bother some of the much older hotel guests who seemed to be perfectly fine that they were swimming in a mist of insecticide! I’m actually surprised the koi in the fish ponds aren’t dead from it, but I was also surprised the water in the koi pond (once the full sun hit it) didn’t cook them to death either. Great hotel to relax in for a few days or as a base. Very reasonable rates at the hotel spa too.

Room Tip: Beach wing room if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ozwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santrian, Manager at Griya Santrian, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Griya Santrian Guest - Ozwanderer

Thank you very much for staying with us and your detailed feedback in regards to you experience with us.
Your input and feedback is vitally important to us and we always want guests expectation to be met on arrival. We are really sorry to read your experience at check in, but pleased to know our staff has provided you with a timely solution, we`ll continue to refine our services in all areas.
Our resort has enjoyed the patronage of our guests from all backgrounds for many years. May we please clarify here that we at Griya Santrian has not and will not practice any kinds of discrimination to either couple or solo traveler. All of our beach wing rooms are of the same standards in terms of size, facilities and room design. Only the location differs a bit, though all beach wing rooms are situated in same complex, some are relatively closer to the beach than others. Whilst it is true in normal season, occupancy is not very tight, but our beach wing rooms are in limited number that we did initially only have 01 beach room free on your arrival. Coincidently we had in house guests taking an upgrade to higher room type so we were pleased to be able to switch you to a room closer to the beach, not affected by the noise of neighbored hotel works. It`s just the matter of availability on check in, instead.
Your praises and positive comments on our hotel location, beach, pool, food, grounds, spa etc are highly appreciated. This has always been rewarding to hear such compliments since it will inspire us to always do utmost for our valuable guests.
Once again, thank you for your nice review. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future for another relaxed stay.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

we went for a week of just relaxation and had a great time , yes it is a bit dated but they are hard working it up, which never interfiered with our stay, great food and great service , don't know how they new it was my birthday but i was greatly surprised to find a chocolate cake and fruit basket in our room (THANK YOU) This was our 4th visit and not our last to this hotel . To the management and staff , great job and thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wombee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

+ great staff
+ nice pools
+ location

- old rooms which needs renovation
- dirty sheets, pillow and dirty walls in the room (obviously many bugs have been killed here in the past)

- way too expensive for what you get. (For over $100 a night you might expect some value for money)

- fridge was making a lot of noise at night!!

I would NOT recommend this hotel because there are better choices in Sanur. (Better rooms for better price)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JWR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santrian, Manager at Griya Santrian, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Griya Santrian Guest – JWR88

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.

Whilst we`re very pleased to read your kind comments regarding our hotel location, great staffs and nice pools, at the same time we`re sorry to read the impressions you had with us that we failed to meet with your expectation on the areas you`ve mentioned. Just little baffled, as our record shows you were allocated in one of our renovated room with no bug history and with discounted last minute rate.

We`re committed to always improve all aspects of our resort including our property and service quality, please rest assured that we have shared your comments with the team and action plans have been put in place to address your remarks to ensure our standards are being met.

Thank you for the stay and your constructive feedback, if there be any opportunity to welcoming you back to our resort, please let us know and allow us to demonstrate our best hospitality.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My family returned from a week's trip to this hotel, and they were all itchy and scratchy on their skin.for about two weeks when they returned. The hotel didnt bother.

Probably better to put a microscope in the bed and check before checking in

Not my choice any longer! euw!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sneekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santrian, Manager at Griya Santrian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Griya Santrian Guest - Sneekie

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission.
We`re extremely sorry to read this unfortunate episode, this is not what our guests should come to expect while staying at our property. We take every guests complaint very seriously, especially when it relates to the well-being of our guests.

We regularly review our housekeeping standards and procedures to ensure that each of our guests enjoys a clean, safe & comfortable environment in hotel areas. Apologize if what we had done did not meet your expectation, we would encourage our guests to fully communicate the constructive feedback with our team whilst still in house for immediate assistance.
Please rest assured, we have well noted your concern and will follow up accordingly with related department for further improvement .

We hope you would give us the chance to welcoming you and family to our hotel again and let us make sure that you enjoy your future stay.

Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#19 of 79 in Sanur
2,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 79 in Sanur
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.2 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#3 of 79 in Sanur
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#4 of 79 in Sanur
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#14 Spa Hotel in Sanur
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £76 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing