We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have stayed a this hotel at least 8 times over the past 14 yrs and it is still one of my favorite hotels in Bali.I first bought my children here now i bring my grand children. The staff and amenities are first class and it still retains its Bali charm and friendliness. It is in a great location right on the beach and minutes from the markets and shopping Sunur is growing fast but this hotel is still a small place of piece in this thriving tourist destination. Great food and service.

Room Tip: if you can afford the extra the beach wing rooms are lovely and large but the garden wing rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    520
    128
    43
    14
See reviews for
372
734
55
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth western australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is my second time at Griya Santrian with a 5 year gap . I remembered the rooms to be a lot nicer than they were this time but then again it depends on the room type. We had the top of the range sea view/pool view rooms. Check in was a very slow process with conversions being done by hand and a calculator and the desk man seemed confused. It took us an hour to get into our 3 rooms that were already cleaned and ready to go. The rooms were clean and well appointed with tea & coffee facilities, fully stocked mini bar, toiletries and lovely clean towels. The sheets were all very clean crisp and the pillows huge and comfortable. Quality of sleep was great. The curtains kept the room very dark so sleeping in was not a problem for those that do like to sleep in. The pool at the front was great. Of course everybody still saves their daybeds and then don't show up to the pool for another 2 hours. Really annoying as we only wanted seats for an hour in the morning and there was nobody on the beds but their towels were saving them. The swim up bar was popular but again the service was very slow. Everybody is on Bali time(the staff).No real discount on any drinks and only 10% discount at Happy Hour. We didn't get breakfast with our room but just walked up the beach and found somewhere to get for $6 instead of the $14 at the hotel buffet. Met lots of great people and enjoyed our stay but was somewhat disappointed with the price vs the strength of the hotel. Great position right on the beach with lots of seating for beach use.Lots of quality restaurants right outside the front gate.The beach was deserted at night with no one eating on the beach.We were given a free 1 hour massage with out room which was great and very relaxing but again not a quality massage

Room Tip: Go the pool rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santrian, Manager at Griya Santrian, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Griya Santrian Guest - caddyandbellA

Thank you for staying with us and taking your precious time to post your review about your experience at our resort.

It has been our greatest pleasure to have had the opportunity of accommodating you again since the first visit, thank you very much for your patronage.

We`re very pleased to read your compliments on the cleanliness of the room , the amenities, our beach front location etc. We really appreciate your positive as well as the constructive feedback, highlighted on the slow check in process and the shortcomings experienced during your stay, we do apologize for all the inconveniences.

Please rest assured that your valuable feedback is taken very seriously. We have well noted all your concerns and will follow up accordingly for further improvement and rectification to ensure that we maintain a high quality of service & product to all of our guests.

Thank you for your review and we hope that you will come and stay with us again and that we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

If all you want is to chill out between beach/pool/resort restaurant all day, this is your resort. We got upgraded to a beachfront room, and beach/pool/resort restaurant were literally steps away from each other. We could leave our 4 year old at sandplay while we eat at the restaurant watching him. There are a total of 3 pools throughout the resort, and pool hopping was great. Especially the 2 elevated jacuzzi! Should have gone for the newly renovated rooms though they look so good. Ours was an older room, with shower curtain and bathtub which have to help little kiddie in and out, and water pressure from shower head wasn't great. Else would have given this resort an excellent rating. The reviews of the staff being genuinely hospitable and the good food at the restaurant are true. Hope this family-owned hotel can renovate all the rooms and continue to thrive!

Room Tip: Go for the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thamnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 17 days and celebrated our anniversary and my wife's birthday. I must say that the balinese staff were extremely accommodating in every aspect.

We were greeted with the usual hands together gesture indeed all the staff did when entering and leaving the hotel together with a big smile. Always cheerful and happy people and so warm.

We had flowers cake cards waiting in our room as we entered and the room itself situated right near the beach pool room 105 was simply beautiful. Big 4 poster bed big room tv fantastic range wifi that even worked on the beach as well as the car park outside the hotel.

Beautiful gardens clean pool clean everywhere in fact. Rooms cleaned daily to a high standard with a fridge full of juices. We were also given 2 bottles of water a day for free. In the bathroom the shower was strong and always hot water available and shower gels replaced.
The reception staff are very helpful and always helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and cannot fault it at all and will come back asap.

To the staff many many thanks for the time and memories.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank blidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We're ready to leave as I write this review. Sad to go as the hotel service and staff have been fantastic. We stayed B&B as the food in the surrounding area is amazing and cheap. Big 4 poster bed cleaned every day gardens tended all the time. Would I recommend. Big fat YES.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmyblidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel I can't recommend it highly enough. Its beach frontage is great, the food is tasty, lovely swimming pools. Note everywhere we visited has local taxes & service charges on top of the advertised prices. In this hotel there is a standard 10% government tax + 11% service charge at this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1302andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had the chance to stay in one of their top suite, located in the garden area, on the first floor. The suite was spacious and could easily accomodate two adults and one child. We had a large bathroom with a nice bathtub + shower. A large window overlooking the garden could be opened while having a bath. The suite also included a nice terrasse next to exotic trees that were home to a couple of squirrels. Our daugther loved watching them in the morning. Housekeeping came everyday to keep the room clean and tidy. The hotel has three swimming pool, the largest one being next to the private beach. The entire hotel looks really nice, from the reception lobby to the gardens, pool bar etc. It looks very local with many statues and hindu decorations. Some work were being conducted but we didn't suffer from this at all. We had all our breakfasts and lunches in the hotel. Breakfast was nice and I could find most of what I wanted to start the day. The choice on the menue for lunch and in room dining was not huge but we managed to enjoy all our meals. There is a nice drink list avaliable at the pool including lots of milkshakes, smoothies, fruit juices, cocktails etc. Regarding the location, we found it ideal as Sanur was not too far from Denpasar airport. Once in Sanur we could go anywhere very easily from the hotel as drivers were always available at the entrance door. We first stayed 3 nights and then moved to another hotel in Ubud. Once in Ubud, we were not satisfied with what we found so we decided to check with Griyan Santrian if it would be possible to come back to their hotel, in the same type of room. We were lucky enough to find availability for the same suite and decided to move back there for another 4 nights. We didn't regret our decision and enjoyed the rest of our stay there. The hotel staff was friendly and professional, with a good level of English for most of them. We sometimes had to call them at night time and there was always someone to help us or answer our questions. Any negative points? Not really... maybe a bit more choice for breakfast and some additional bathing products in the room would be nice. Anyway, we will definitely come back to GS if we fly to Bali again.

Room Tip: Book a suite on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sangre76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#2 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing