We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just spent a great 3 weeks at Griya Santrian in Sanur Bali.
A most enjoyable time room staff and meals were excellent.
We can't wait to go back the friendliest and nicest of staff and management
Great swimming pools

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirleymac244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
There are newer reviews for Griya Santrian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I like Sanur because it's a lot quieter than Kuta and Seminyak and it feels more Balinese. The Griya Santrian is right on the beach in the heart of Sanur so right out the front of the hotel you have choices of restaurants and cafe's.

The staff at the hotel are lovely and offered us a free room upgrade so I guess my impressions of the hotel might now be a little inflated because I never saw the lower grade room. The room we had was a "deluxe suite" and I thought it was really lovely. Heavy food furniture and a great balcony with frangipani trees and over looking the pool (glimpses of the beach)

Facilities at the hotel are average.

If you like Sanur, this is a fantastic hotel for the money. Very comfortable, great location and an excellent price. I'd go back.

Room Tip: I thought our room was excellent. It was 204 on the upper level near the pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

just returned from another fantastic two weeks at the griya ,never ceases to amaze me,the management and staff are still as friendly and welcoming as ever,the breakfast is great as are the main meals. we were upgraded to a beach room that was really nice now they have been refurbished, the shower room was brilliant. i really cannot fault this hotel and would recommend it to anyone,the only problem is the time we have to wait until we return.

Room Tip: the beech rooms are great value for money
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elsie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for two weeks from 30th May til 14th June on a room only basis.We were lucky to be upgraded to a Deluxe room in the brand new wing it was perfect loved the huge walk in shower, bed and pillows comfy loads of storage space and most importantly the room was kept clean lovely white clean towels each morning plus face cloths. Our room over looked the garden infinity pool which was perfect and we used quite frequently on our way back to our room after our time on the beach and at the other pool with the swim up bar.
All the staff members went that extra mile to make sure you had everything you needed nothing was too much trouble a big thank you to you all.
We ate at a number of different restaurants in Sanur all within a short walking distance of the hotel.. Three of our favourite places are The Wicked Parrot The Mona Lisa and The Cinnamon.
The beach was very sandy sunbeds very comfortable but the only downside for us the sea had a lot of sea grass which made swimming not very pleasant plus at low tide swimming is impossible.
Sanur is a much quieter than other resorts on the island but has all that one needs and prices are very cheap compared to the UK.
We travelled with Air Singapore their service was faultless.
If you want a lovely holiday in a hotel that has a true Balinese look and feel which makes you feel special then look no further than the Griya.

Room Tip: All rooms have their good points
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kyrenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and best friend stayed here in May this year for 6 nights we absolutely loved this hotel pools were great new section is incredible our rooms were beautiful we didn't book breakfast as we wanted to try restaurants in the area and we lived Mona Lisa across the street and little bird Warung and luhtus on the beach front . The 7 kilometre walkway out the front is fantastic and bike hire at 3 bucks for 24 hors really good value all,round we will be back next year for sure !! Best sunrise every morning out the front !!

Room Tip: New section in the middle was great for us and quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at the Griya Santrian at least a dozen times over the last 15 years and we will continue to stay there. Best value for money in Sanur, friendly staff, great location, beautiful clean beachfront, wonderful alinese food in the restaurant. What more could one ask for. Lately we have been staying their once a year and even spent a week at the Puri Santrian which was a bit like being in a retirement village by comparison - there is a lot more buzz at the Griya. Can recommend doing the yoga class - Ketuk is excellent! Certainly a room in the beach wing is most desirable however the garden wing offers 3 swimming pools all gorgeous!

Room Tip: Try and secure a room in the beach wing - the deluxe are renovated and are lovely, worth spending th...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Love the way you feel like you're actually in Bali and not another stock standard hotel. Beach frontage is great and pool is amazing overlooking the sea.

We did the cooking class on the beach after a trip with the staff to the local market. They even explained some of the local delicacies and fruits.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#17 of 78 in Sanur
2,288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#7 of 78 in Sanur
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pavilions Bali
The Pavilions Bali
#2 of 78 in Sanur
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range: £91 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelbag, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing