We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, wonderful pools and Gardens”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, wonderful pools and Gardens”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

After many trips to Bali this was our first time to Sanur. We loved it as it was much less hectic than Seminyak and Legian. Griya is located on a great stretch of beach and the resort grounds are spacious and immaculate. Three pools all very clean and with plenty of deck chairs. Staff were attentive and friendly. We stayed in the standard room and whilst it was a little old it was very clean and spacious. A great place for both couples and families. Will definitely come back one day !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopchopQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    530
    131
    44
    15
See reviews for
382
757
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Griya Santrian June 2014 and found it to be a great fit. 2 restaurants and multiple beautiful pools. The staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk helped us book a few different trips and coordinated it for us. We started in a basic room with adjoining door to neighbor. After returning to our room and it smelling like smoke we called the front desk and explained the situation, they upgraded our room and helped us move immediately. Our flight back home was 1am and they have a shower you can use even after we checked out. Food for lunch and dinner was well priced and equally tasty. Drinks were a good price. Breakfast all you can eat was not very desirable for the price but other options were ok. Location of the resort was great, we spent most evening walking around the road to many different restaurants and bars or walked along beach board walk finding the same qualities of places to sit and listen to the ocean. We will stay here next time we visit, worth the price.

This was a quiet location but getting to the other beaches for day trips or Ubud was very easy.

Transportation to and from airport: The price the hotel offers is 3x the price you can get from a cab. I'd suggest a cab.

Room Tip: Take taxi not resort bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaKP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We arrived to be told that we have an upgrade so were very impressed to begin with. Shown the "upgrade" room and thought if this is an upgrade I'd hate to think what the one we booked was like. Shower recess not cleaned, hair in the drain and it stank, mold around the shower and the bath. Headboard broken on bed chair outside on the patio broken. On the whole the room was "tired" and had seen better days. We lasted one night and then went and complained. Was shown another room which was newly renovated and took it. I think this was the room we were suppose to have in the beginning but there is a con going on. Reception said it would be ready at 6pm we moved in at 8.30pm carrying our own bags. The room was new with black tiles throughout the bathroom my thinking so when the mold returns you will not see it. The room is small (deluxe) and does not measure out what is on the website. They say do not hang clothing on the outside of the room but there is no hanging rack inside or outside the room so wet bathers etc where do they go? Amenities are very, very basic.
Most of the staff are good on the whole with a few really bored, grumpy ones. The pools are nice but you have to be quick to get a sunlounge. Sun lounges on the beach some with umbrellas some without (why that is beats me) They say that after half an hour if the sunbed is not being used but has a towel on it they will take the towel and pass it on to someone else. This does not happen. Swimming in the sea there are stingers and lots of weeds.
Cocktails are $8AUD and not worth it. Breakfast is good with a variety but once again when too many people at once you are placed away from everything at the pool bar so get in early.
If you wish to use the spa use the one at the sister hotel Puri Santrian it is excellent and they will transfer you across and back if you ask for it. OK a bit pricey but the best 2 hour Thai Bali massage you will ever have.
On the whole it was ok but overpriced for what you get. Would we go back ....no.
Every other hotel we have reviewed we get a reply with this hotel you do not...that says it all.
On the whole you can do much better elsewhere in Sanur.

Room Tip: Be wary of being told you are upgraded your not. Ask for a room in the new renovated area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santrian, Manager at Griya Santrian, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Griya Santrian Guest-Debbieperth Perth

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review.

Your highlight on our good variety of breakfast, and enjoyed The Spa at our sister property are highly appreciated.

We are terribly sorry to read that your stay was not satisfactory and are most concerned that you have left with such a negative feeling about our resort. It is our goal to accommodate our guest’s request in all areas, with the highest level of service and good product.

In regards to the room, we learnt that your original room type booking was garden wing (our lowest room category), on your arrival we had free space in Deluxe category (two levels higher type than your original room type booking). Mostly we receive encouraging comments on all of our Deluxe rooms. This is to confirm that all rooms surrounds the Tropical pool (middle area) are Deluxe room.
Our Garden wing rooms are located further at the back area, we hereby confirm the upgrade was not a con, we have never practice con in all areas. However we’re concerned to read your comments on the condition of Deluxe you stayed in and assure you that the issues will be addressed accordingly.
Each of our Deluxe rooms have their own distinctiveness, though most of Deluxe are newly built rooms (which has now become a new popular room to most of our guests), while the remaining Deluxe have been renovated in the earlier period.
Pleased to know our reception has been upgraded you to the new Deluxe following to your request which has been informed to you that the room was only available after 6 pm as the in-house guest taking day use until 6 pm and luggage assistance offer has been informed accordingly.
We take your feedback very seriously and we do apologize that your experience did not meet the standard we strive for.
Thank you for your stay and we hope that you will come and stay with us again and that we can exceed your expectation on your next visit.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I agree with other reviews, this is a nice hotel but too highly priced for what you get, though location is pretty terrific. I did get a beach access new/deluxe room and it was ... fine. I paid a ridiculous amount for it given Bali prices and it was nowhere near the quality of the Westin room in Nusa Dua, for which I paid the same ridiculous price (high season, so I get it).

The new bathroom is ok, the bed was lumpy and the view was of the roof of the pool hall/gallery. It was simply "just ok". I should have paid a bit more for the Puri Santrian.

Grounds are nice though. Breakfast is great, lunch leaves something to be desired, with so-so quality. Didn't have dinner.

Overall if you get a great deal, then absolutely do stay here for the location. Just make sure to pay for the deluxe/new rooms.

But, if you feel you're paying a lot for Sanur, go elsewhere or you will feel a bit ripped off.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santrian, Manager at Griya Santrian, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Griya Santrian Guest-Sandy M Chicago Ilinois

Our highest appreciation for sharing your experience with us following to your recent stay at the resort.

Thank you for highlights on our terrific location, ground, breakfast and room.
As for the price, our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central strategic location and extensive facilities and in high season there’s rate surcharge, known to be applied at most hotels.
We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.

Thank you for residing with us and we do hope that despite of your concerns, we’re still allowed to welcoming you back to
our Griya Santrian a Beach Resort.


Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Whilst visiting Singapore our daughter treated us to a long weekend in Bali. We stayed at the Griya Santrian right on the beach, just my sort of location! Plenty of loungers to sunbathe on, no one saving beds makes a change from cruises where tis happens all time. We stayed in room 112 a lovey location a few yards from the pool, restaurant and massage pavilion. The breakfasts were excellent with a wide variety of food full English, continental and local foods, it was self service but waitress for tea and coffee. First night we ate at the hotel tables set out on the beach so so relaxing wT hing the sunset food was excellent also ate at Three Monkeys and I think it was called Maddys both good food and good service at reasonable prices. This area is not for the young and noisy, this the place to come for relaxation. Would love to return but a long flight from UK but maybe when next we visit Singapore we may do it again then

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stopped here for a dinner, so we only used the restaurant. The restaurant has a really nice setting right on the beach both outdoors and inside. On the surface it looks very inviting and cosy, and thats why we chose to eat here for our last evening in Sanur. The price level in restaurant is pretty high on bali standards, so customers should be allowed to expect that food and service is high standard as well. There really is some potential, which is sadly mostly wasted. The food was overall ok, but not great. However, the biggest problems is related to the staffs attitude and skills, which were really low class compared to other higher class hotels and restaurants in Sanur area.

The maisn course was good but inconveniences started when we wanted to order some dessert. There was only 4 customers in addition to us, so basically there were more staff members present than customers. Still, we had to wait about 10 minutes with our dessert menus, before anyone bothered to ask what we'd like to order. While finally ordering our desserts we also asked the waiter to bring us a bottle of water in addition to the wines we had ordered earlier. So he brought us a bottle of water, unopened to the table, even with the sealing on, without any drinking glasses. So we opened the bottle and drunk the water from our wine glasses. This is pretty ridicolous for a restaurant which charges 450.000rp for 2 basic mains, 2 glasses of wine and 2 desserts. In addition to this the staff members were doing anything but working, they were chatting loudly and leaning to walls about half of the time we had dinner. Its doesnt give the best image when 4 of the staff members are chatting loudly 5 meters from your table, actually so loudly that it was bothering the customers.

Lots of potential wasted here, but still 3 out of 5 because of the great location and great level of cleanliness

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JusuK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice family friendly hotel BUT at the upper end of price for what it is.

F&B is good, but, again, slightly pricy, but no where near what you'll pay in 5*s in Bali.

If you're thinking of 5*, you'll be really happy (unless you're pretentious) with the half price value at 4* Griya Santrian.

It's not our first trip and it won't be our last.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#5 of 78 in Sanur
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#12 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing