We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Holiday”
Review of Griya Santrian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Griya Santrian
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Sanur
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed 9 November 2009

My husband and i stayed at the Griya for 8 nights with our two sons aged 7 months and 2 1/2 years. We had a wonderful stay and are already planning a trip back there next year! The gardens, walkways and pools are immaculately kept and maintained. There were always people raking, pruning, tidying etc. The three pools are all quite different and we enjoyed using them all. The larger one at the front of the hotel didn't suit us as we needed plenty of shade for our children, although the view from this pool is incredible! We spent a lot of time at the middle pool which was peaceful, partly shaded and always had available deck chairs. The back pool was outside our room and is the newest. It is edged with black rock which makes the water temperature VERY warm. By mid afternoon the water actually felt quite hot but we loved it!

Our room was at the back in the garden wing and it was beautiful. The furnishings were new and in perfect condition. There was plenty of room and even with our suitcases and enormous double pram there was still plenty of room! The bed sheets were crisp and white, and changed daily. The towels were plentiful and also changed daily. Our bed was very comfortable. Our toddler had a stretcher bed in our room which was also comfortable. Our baby had a gorgeous little cot quite unlike anything I have seen before. It was very safe (by Australian Standards) and he slept well in it. The bathroom was dimly lit but this was the only drawback. Otherwise it was immaculate, roomy and well equipped. The shower was huge and had strong water pressure. Also the air conditioning was a lifesaver!! It worked perfectly.

We loved that we could eat at such a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance. We only ate at the hotel twice as it was more expensive than many places. However both times we found the Griya's food lovely. The restaurants along the pathway are delightful and it is so special to eat on the beach! Also in Sanur's main street we loved 'The Porch' for breakfast and 'Ratatouille' for dinner.

The Griya was quiet and very peaceful. We did see other young families with children however we mainly saw retired people staying there. There were also a large number of Europeans (particularly Dutch and German) staying at the hotel. I would not hesitate to stay there again with little children though. The staff were accomodating and there were no stairs for us to navigate with our pram (we stayed on the ground floor). The relaxed atmosphere is nicer for children. The pools never seemed crowded or noisy. Overall a stunning resort worth every cent. The best we have stayed in and we are a well travelled family!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieSouthafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    525
    129
    43
    14
See reviews for
378
751
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed here for our honeymoon last year and I just want to say a big thank you to all the staff at Griya Santrian for an extra special honeymoon which we'll always remember.

This hotel's cleaniness and grounds are of a very high standard and staff are constantly cleaning, gardening etc.

We had originally booked a Garden Wing Room but had requested to upgrade to a deluxe room before we arrived however we were told that there were none available at that stage. When we arrived the receptioom on staff informed us that as they required 1 more garden wing room for other guests they had upgraded us for free to a suite as it was our honeymoon. Our room was amazing and we were given freshly prepared fruit each morning.

We ate in the restaurant a couple of times as there were so many restaurants in Sanur to choose from and they hotel food was good and quite reasonably priced.

There was also therapists on site and fresh towels were provided to each guest daily by the pool.

All in all an excellent hotel ...thanks folks :-)

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne4009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This was our first time to Bali and after travelling for 27 hours we looked forward to the fabled Balinese hospitality! After heaving our own luggage to reception we were advised our garden room wasn't ready (this was 3pm) but the deluxe room for the couple checking in alongside of us was! We had to go away and wait for half an hour when all we wanted was a shower and some clean clothes! The room we were shown to was up rickety stairs and in very shabby state of repair - there were gaps in the window frames - the mozzies and bugs highway no doubt! The bathroom was very worn and tatty and the toilet was on continous flush. We wondered who had written all the glowing reports on tripadvisor or had they been in a different hotel! The final straw was the darkness of the room and I knew I could not stick a week reading by torchlight - so I returned to reception and asked to be moved to another room - after much muttering and keyboard tapping by the non too happy man - we were asked to come back later and he would see what he could do - we didnt hold out much hope as we had already waited 45 mins for our luggage which only appeared after I called reception again.

We went to eat and by this time were desperatly tired. We returned to the hotel an hour or so later and were told to pack our luggage and we were moved to another room. this was 8.30pm by this time.

WOOPEE! our holiday started! We were given a second floor room in a new block overlooking the little swimming pool - it was everything the other room wasnt - bright ,clean, new fittings ,spacious and most of all light and bright. So don't accept a shabby room because the hotel is only 3 star they clearly have 4 and 5 star standard rooms available.

We then had a very happy stay and the staff all appeared to be smiling and helpful. Other people have mentioned the fantastic gardens and the excellent location of the hotel so I don't want to waste space describing them again.

Yes the bed bagging was a pain but we were out and about for a lot of the time and the three pools always had space around them- the beach wasnt worth sitting on as it was small and not marvellous and it also had the preditory massage "ladies" who said they worked for the hotel - indeed the sign above their beds said "Griya Santrian 30 minutes massage 30,000 rupiah - but once you were in there the ladies started bartering with you in whispers so the other customers couldnt hear and I ended up paying over the odds for a so-so massage and pedicure - beware!

The hotel laundry was cheap by western standards but i did have to ring every day and ask for my clothes back - a great touch of the "manyanas" here.! The breakfasts we had in the hotel were good - plenty of fresh fruit,pastries,eggs and meats and cheeses - and very reasonable at about £3 each. The evening meals we had there in the beach front restaurent was of good quality and taste and again cheap - two course and drinks £18.

The many Aussie visiters were very friendly and informative as they had all been there 23 times each! The hassle from sellers on the street was nowhere near as bad as I expected(especially if you have been to Egypt!) and easily deflected with a poite no thanks and smile.

The ATMs were a pain as it was hard to find machines that would give out 100k rupiah notes and although i enjoyed the huge millionaire feel of a large wadd of 50 K notes the limit of 1.5 million meant I had to return frequently to the machines and was being charged for each transaction. On occasions the machines went offline and I was panicing about being left with no money but they generally came back online minutes later but it taught me to keep a days worth of rupiah in reserve and not go to the ATM when I had spent every cent!

You need to wear substantial shoes for the pavements in Sanur as they are lethal - uneven and broken- especially in the dark.

I seem to have strayed somewhat from the review of the Griya Santrian - so to sum up - it is good value for money and in a good location- and yes we will return! Oh and finally - you need to take dressing gowns and shower gel as the comps are a bit sparse !

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelbaguk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Stayed here for 12 nights and had a great time. We booked a deluxe room situated on the 1st floor which we were pleased with. The room was a good size with a lovely outdoor area which was perfect for relaxing. My only negative comment re the rooms would be the bathroom, which although well designed and maintained, would benefit from additional lighting. The hotel grounds were lovely as were the staff at the Griya. The hotel is very well run and it was a pleasure to stay in a hotel with a more local feel than at one of the larger chain hotels. We visited friends staying at the Hyatt and we were so glad we chose the Griya, its quite beautiful.

As previous members have commented, the sunbed situation could be a bit of a pain. On the first morning of our holiday we went to get a sunbed around 1000 - no chance! We're early risers anyway so would go to the beach early but it amazed me to see nearly all the beds reserved by 0730 and hardly a person in sight. Basically there are far too beds for the number of guests!

The Sanur area has its good and bad points - good points are the number of excellent resturaunts and bars which are fantastic value for money. Bad point - just the one really which was the beach and sea - its OK but if you have travelled to Thailand and Carribbean, you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardiffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We spent the final 2 nights of a 2 week trip to Bali here. We booked it after the Puri had been recommended by friends but fully booked. While the pool is nice, it's absolutely correct that you must be up before 8 am to claim a beach chair. The towels are given out at 8 am and hotel guests immediately claim a beach and pool lounger for the entire day.
While our room was upgraded, it was not impressive. The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor each time we used it. We also had the misfortune to be by the cleaning supply closet and directly underneath a loud family who chose to be loud at 5 am each morning. Finally, the beach was a disappointment. All the broken coral made it uncomfortable for the long walks we wanted to take, and the fact that the waves break far out beyond the coral reef removed the easy surfing opportunities we had hoped for. Also a bummer not to have wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savvy_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Arrived at the Griya after a long journey, we had booked a garden room for 6 nights and deluxe room for 5 nights (we were unable to get a deluxe room for our 11 night stay). We were taken to a garden room which I must admit disappointed me, it was in need of upgrade. Following morning I went to reception and told them we were not happy with the room, they straight away found us another garden room which had been upgraded, this was lovely with a pool just outside. The last 5 nights we moved to a deluxe room overlooking the beach pool this was outstanding and would definately recommend an upgrade if you can afford it. (If you go for a gardn rook ask for an upgraded one). This is a lovely hotel, the gardens are immaculate, the service is excellent, the staff are really helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The Griya is situated in the middle of Sanur, which offers shopping, a wide selection of restaurants, we ate at a different one every night all excellent, good service, good selection and very cheap - approx £8-£10 for two this included drinks. There is a promenade to the back of the hotel by the beach this also offers plenty of places to eat hotels etc. and is lovely for a early morning/late evening stroll. We ate at the hotel most lunch times excellent food, a bit more expensive but well worth it when you are relaxing on the beach/pool side.
Always bargain for everything you buy, what ever price you are told expect to pay half or even less. There are boat trips on the beach, you need to bargain with them aswell, they will tell you that the price is set by the government but we paid half of what they asked.
We changed all our money in the hotel, slightly less rate but knew we were not going to be short changed as many people had been outside the hotel. The money is a 'nightmare' we have travelled a lot but never managed to get our head around the money - I printed off a small conversion chart before we went and could not have managed without it..
We hired a taxi for a day which cost £18 (approx) this included petrol, you could stop where ever you wanted and for as long.as you wanted. There are loads of taxis outside the hotel wanting to take you places bargain with them, or just say no politely and they will leave you alone.
Beware of Mary on the beach I had a manicure and pedicure she does a nice job but agree the price before starting I ended up paying twice the going rate.
Mona Lisa for breakfast is good value approx £3 for two, opposite the front of the hotel, There is also a laundry service down the lane opposite the front of hotel, take your washing in the morning it is all ironed and packed by the evening - this was also very cheap £2/3 for a bag full.
Don't miss the sunrise in the morning, you need to get up early (5.45am) but is an unbelievable sight.
There are no nightclubs in Sanur everything starts to close down about 11pm, there are bars offering some entertainment if you are looking for it, but it is generally a very relaxing place.
Balinese people are lovely very friendly, This was a fabulous holiday, have travelled to the far east quite a lot but will definately be going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoylartSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

After staying at the Puri Santrian (the Griya Santrian's sister hotel) which is a more up market hotel on a previous visit, the Griya is the preffered hotel. It is very central in Sanur and seemed more family orientated. The grounds are lovely and the pool area well maintained. The staff was very friendly and willing to help out with anything you needed. We were upgraded upon arrival so the stay was even more enjoyable (if that was possible). The restaurant serves a fantastic satay and the buffet breakfast was great with a changing selection each day. We were at this hotel during the earthquake and although the staff were worried about the quake they were quick to reassure the guests at the hotel. Do yourself a favor and be up early for the Sanur sunrise, it is really a beautiful sight. I would definatly recomend this hotel for all age groups.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanur hotels
1.4 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 78 in Sanur
2,214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
0.3 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#6 of 78 in Sanur
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
0.1 mi away
Tandjung Sari
Tandjung Sari
#3 of 78 in Sanur
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanur Paradise Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Santrian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Santrian

Property: Griya Santrian
Address: Danau Tamblingan 47 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Denpasar 80228, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Denpasar > Sanur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanur
#7 Family Hotel in Sanur
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanur
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sanur
#10 Spa Hotel in Sanur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Griya Santrian 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Santrian welcomes you to experience an enduring tale of warm traditional Balinese hospitality on the laid back sunrise coast of Sanur Beach. This beautiful beachfront resort, the sister property of Puri Santrian, is unmistakably among the most renowned landmarks in Sanur, gracing a perfectly central location on the quiet shore and with an unending classical design that continues to charm visitors, be it new and repeat visitors alike. Sanur is well known as a spot for luxurious seaside accommodation with its white sand beach bordering a reef-sheltered lagoon, making it one of the safest on the island, and thus perfect for families. As a luxuriant oasis in Sanur, Griya Santrian's enduring warm Balinese touches are imbued throughout its range of impeccable services and facilities. Leafy tropical Balinese gardens comprising flowering undergrowth and large shady trees (some older than the resort itself) dominate its manicured landscaping. And guests enjoy ease of access to the local shopping and dining hubs of Sanur, all within walking distance from the resort. At the heart of the Balinese owned and operated resort are its wonderful accommodation features - well designed and appointed guestrooms are spread throughout its two main wings. The two story Garden Wing comprises a total of 37 rooms with private balconies or terraces overlooking the resort's aforementioned lush gardens. Meanwhile, the ever popular Beach Wing features a total of 20 spacious rooms that let guests wake up to the wonderful garden view and the dramatic Sanur sunrises. Balconies or terraces also overlook the resort's main pool. Cable TV, mini-bar, hot and cold water, IDD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safe and air conditioning all come as standard in-room amenities, to name a few. Alternatively, a choice of 59 Deluxe Rooms welcome guests to garden and pool views with some closer to the beach and feature en suite marble bathrooms and separate showers. For those who prefer a more lavish accommodation will find the Santrian Suite, a capacious suite with a 68 sqm bedroom with an elegantly draped four-poster bed as its center piece, together with a dressing room and private balcony. Designed with a refined modern Balinese approach, the suite serves as the ultimate romantic getaway for couples and honeymooners, while also great for families. For dining pleasures, Griya Santrian presents its main restaurants and outlets, which includes The Wantilan Restaurant, offering sumptuous breakfasts and all-day dining complemented by sweeping ocean views over the Sanur coastline. Meanwhile, Griya Beach Corner serves a wide choice of Italian, Japanese and Asian specialty dishes in a refreshing open-air setting. For a bit of romance, lovebirds can optionally spice things up with a bespoke candlelit dinner. The Spa at Griya Santrian is a thoughtfully designed and purpose built facility that offers a wide range of health and beauty treatments using natural fruit and flower extracts that will totally indulge you from top to toe. It's the go-to place within the resort grounds where guests can discover a great way to re-energize, refresh and rejuvenate during their stay. Griya Santrian opened in 1972 as a luxury boutique resort with a pride and commitment towards the preservation of Balinese arts and culture. While keeping to its roots and now in its fourth decade running, Griya Santrian continues to improve its facilities and services. The most recent addition includes a new wing room which was unveiled only last year, and repeat guests will also be surprised to see a new spa adjacent the resort's lobby, set to be completed this year. Several key facelifts are also well underway in 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Griya Santrian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Santrian Hotel Sanur
Griya Santrian Sanur
Griya Santrian Bali/Sanur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing